We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Great business hotel!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Avenue Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Avenue Suites to your Saves list
The Avenue Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1390 Tiamiyu Savage Street, Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria,, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 93 Hotels in Lagos
Dakar, Senegal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great business hotel!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was apprehending when i was informed that i will be staying at Avenue Suite (always stayed at Southern Sun) but how surprised when i get there. Hotel is very well located (beach front), less traffic, great restaurants around (walking distance even if i didn't walk due to company security restrictions...). I didn't tried the hotel food only the breakfast and it was not interesting and didn't makes me curious about their food (and i also had bad comments from colleagues that tried).
The room...spacious and well equiped (water boiling machine, coffee (some tea bags would have been great!!!! but no!), safe deposite box, mini bar. AC working very well and not noisy. the bed was ok i just regret that they only provide 2 pillows. The bathroom was also ok with (toothbrush and paste, comb, shaving kit, shoe polish kit, nail kit etc...) wasn't expecting that much. The only bad point is that i don't bath tubes in hotels...and sometimes i got the feeling that there was a smell coming out from the pipings!!!!!!!
I would also suggest them to spray smoking rooms with some smoking sprays so that clients can always find their room fresh and smelling good when they come back from a hard workday!!!!!
I would definetly recommande that hotel for a business stay in Lagos!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed few times. Location and view of the city and harbour are nice specially form the Level 7 bar and lounge. Very clean and organized. It might have more space in the courtyard but still enough concerning Victoria Island.

Room Tip: Rooms with the seaside view are cosy to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had a very cute dinner for my fiancee's birthday here and everything was EXCELLENT!

The ambience was very good, calm atmosphere, soft music and friendly and courteous staff made it very worthwile.

The Chef was terrific! We kept getting very tasty meals. I recommend the SUSHI here to all sushi fans out there! Try it out for yourselves!

We got a birthday song played throughout the restaurant and a cute cake was served while she blew out the light on the candles! She loved it so much!

I will definately do sushi with my friends here in the next few days.

I highly recommend The Avenue Suites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yeldham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good points; Room was comfortable, clean and well equipped, wifi worked well, swimming pool clean, staff friendly and helpful, uptown restaurant very good.
Bad points, Breakfast is terrible, never the same twice, croissants warmed in a microwave, English breakfast with hot dogs, greasy eggs, canned mushrooms and cheap juice. Nice sea views but all the windows are 'blown' and filled with condensation. Had to ask everyday for tea things to be replenished.
To the owner; Get the chef from Uptown to look at the breakfast menu and start again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, if you don't, it will be of the construction site next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is safe and clean
Very well located
Staff is nice
Room is safe with a very good wifi
Breakfast is correct
Very nice restaurant at the top with european or US food
Small small pool.
Fitness room available

To be recommanded for business trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Abuja Capital Territory, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Lovely boutique hotel with a nice view of the ocean .great bar and courteous service.
Restaurant has good food and the hotel has a pool that's not open to every one at the lobby.it's located in a sirens area of Lagos with choice restaurants and good places to go without the traffic issue

Room Tip: If you don't like crowd this is the place to be it's private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The staff at this hotel is very friendly and courteous. I was greeted by each person I saw from the moment I walked in the hotel to the moment I walked out. I was escorted up to my room and was surprised to see it so large and well-appointed. It seemed to be newly updated, so lots of nice finishes and comfortable furnishings. My only gripe is that the gym is located in a converted room (not labeled as the Gym), doesn't have working A/C, and the three machines it has (a cycle and 2 treadmills) are all in various states of poor performance. When you're not allowed to leave the premises without a driver, a nice gym would be a great diversion. The internet connection is fairly good, as well. I never had a problem accessing the internet, but Skyping would stall or drop my calls. I would say this place is better than expected.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Avenue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avenue Suites

Address: 1390 Tiamiyu Savage Street, Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria,, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 93 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Avenue Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avenue Suites is a life style Hotel, where each guest feels at home away from home, with all our professional services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Avenue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avenue Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.