We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Great hotel - amazing considering its in Lagos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Lagos Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Lagos Airport to your Saves list
Ibis Lagos Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Murtala Mohamed Intl Airport Road | Ajao Estate, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ibis advance saver
Ranked #20 of 81 Hotels in Lagos
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel - amazing considering its in Lagos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I was very impressed by this place. Its an Ibis through and through. The way the staff interact with you, the feel of the building (solid) the smooth running of things like the lifts and showers.. Even the smell was standard Ibis. This sounds obvious, but anyone who has stayed at the Hilton or Sheraton in Abuja will know that chains often have difficulty replicating themselves in Nigeria.
As I mentioned the staff were very well trained and polite. They smile and make eye contact and seem to know how to use the computers - this speeds check-in and check-out and generaly makes getting things done much easier and more pleasurable.
My room was perfectly standard Ibis fare. Open wardrobe with room for everything a reasonable person will have brought. The bathroom and shower worked and were clean. The TV worked perfectly as did its remote. Most impressive was the wi-fi which is fast and solid all over the building.. Nothing worse than dodgy internet when travelling on business!
Its not a standard Ibis price, but this is Lagos and you can get some real rubbish for $180! By the way the Naira price is cheaper.. so its worth changing money and paying in Naira if you can.
This is an airport hotel, so its a good 30 minute drive into town (depending on the notorious Lagos traffic), but if you are looking for somewhere near the hotel this is perfect. The rooms are sound proofed well too, so even though you're near the airport you dont hear it.
The restaurant is ok.. Get there early for the evening buffet - which was fine. Nothing to write home about but it was all edible and I didnt get sick afterwards!
There's no room service..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    75
    45
    10
    6
See reviews for
10
13
22
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed twice at the Ibis Lagis airport in the past two weeks. The first trip was for 4 days, the second just for one night.

The first thing that strikes you upon check-in is the friendliness of the staff - they seemed delighted to have you there. This cheerfulness was maintained throughout my stay, and I was very impressed that the staff greeted me by name every time I went near reception.

As expected from an Ibis, the rooms are not huge, there is no room service etc. However, being used to Ibis I was not concerned about this. In contrast to previous reviews, I actually thought the hotel was in very good order and well-maintained. I had no problems at all during my stay.

It is true that the restaurant offerings are slim, but the free buffet breakfast (available from 4am to Midday) was excellent. I only ate in the restaurant once in the evening - had a ham and cheese toasted sandwich which arrived promptly and without fuss (which is unusual for a Lagos hotel!)

Room rates are very cheap for Lagos - around £70 GBP/night. I hope the rates won;t go up once the hotel is fully open. Given the lack of good, inexpensive hotels in the area this is a real gem + will certainly be back. The only slight problem I have is the cost of the airport transfer... the journey is only 10 minutes but a pick-up will set you back $25. However, given the amount you are saving on the room rates compared to other hotels, this is probably still worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This hotel is located about 10 mins for the airport. For an overnight stay before catching an early morning flight the hotel would be fine but anything over one one night then look elsewhere. The hotel has very limited facilities and although the web site says they have a gym it is actually under construction.

During my 5 night stay I never had hot water, other guests also had the same problem. The TV is my room had a random selection of channels which would change each day. Food choice is very limited. The first thing they tell you on arrival is there is no room service or concierge. The power would also go off for a few seconds a couple of times a day, I assume this was when the local power went out and the generator kicked in.

The room is very basic and the bathroom looked rather grubby. Although the bed was comfortable.

They do have free wifi which is good.

The Ibis has been open for about 2 months, but the quality of the build is not great and some signs of ware and tear are already evident.

Don't be fooled by the "The Royal Ibis Hotel" which is located next door and is not part of the Ibis chain.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_robaix, Manager at Ibis Lagos Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Dear Sir,
We thank you for your remarks concerning your last experience at the Ibis Lagos Airport.
My team and I have carefuly read your comments and we have taken good notes of those.
As you rightly say, the Gym center is under construction and latest mid-August it should be ready for use.
We are taking all the measures to correct the problems you ancountered with the TV channels not properly set.
We would be happy to welcome at Ibis Lagos Airport when you come again to Lagos.
Contact me directly on my email richard.robaix@accor.com so that I can personally take care of your booking.
Once again, we thank you for letting us know about your experience while in Lagos.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

In the vicinity of Lagos airport there were few choices... The new Ibis, just 10 mins down the Airport Road going towards the city, provides a desperately needed option. Mind you, this is a basic no-frills budget hotel. But offers all that you would need for a safe, comfortable break.

Checkin was fast. Staff are friendly and eager. Rooms are standard Ibis but did seem to be a couple of feet smaller than usual Ibis rooms. One disappointment was the absence of complimentary tea-service in the room. Most Ibis hotels offer that.

Rates include breakfast. Rates include breakfast. Dinner buffet at USD 30 and there are also a few a-la-carte items. But what stings you is drinking water...a small 500 ml bottle for USD 4! We booked ahead on http://www.accorhotels.com and paid USD 140 per night with breakfast. That's a terrific deal for Nigeria.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floor feel more open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Lagos Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Lagos Airport

Address: Murtala Mohamed Intl Airport Road | Ajao Estate, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 81 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Lagos Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Lagos Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Lagos Airport Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Lagos Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.