We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Fantastic People & Furnishing. Paid for "complimentary" breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheatbaker

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Wheatbaker to your Saves list
The Wheatbaker
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Lagos
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic People & Furnishing. Paid for "complimentary" breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I spent our first night together at the hotel. As honeymooners, We were given a very warm reception and offered the good weekend rate (USD350) for the luxury room option. The room was very tastefully furnished with a large TV screen and beautiful bathroom architecture. However, on checking out, I was asked to pay for our "complimentary" breakfast. When I queried the request, I was told their unwritten rule, room served breakfast invalidates the complimentary offer. In other words, complimentary meals are to be eaten at the restaurant. Though the breakfast for 2 cost less than USD50, I didn't appreciate the fact that I innocently lost and had to pay for "complimentary" breakfast.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Seni O

The Wheatbaker Team and I thank you for your feedback which is always appreciated in guiding our efforts.

We were pleased to hear your stay had been enjoyable on the whole. I will look into the charge for breakfast which may have been because it was ordered from the Room Service menu and not taken in the restaurant. We do understand that a honeymoon is a very special stay and certainly will look at ways to make our offering better.

I promise to come back to you in the next 24 hours.

Thank you again and we extend to your wife and yourself you all good wishes for many years of happiness and health together!

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
9
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This hotel is a gem! Small but perfectly formed. Modern design with lots of clean white lines and colour-pop furniture. Lovely staff (way better customer service than most competitor hotels in Lagos). Fresh, clean food in a bright dining room. A plush suite of business meeting rooms. Nice little gym. Huge bedrooms and bathrooms with lovely touches like a Nespresso machine. Excellent room and building security.

The only downside is swimming is for exhibitists only; the pool is surrounded by the bar and restaurant seating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear MaxLupus

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at The Wheatbaker.

The Team and I are very encouraged that you enjoyed your stay, especially since I see you are an experienced traveler.

All feedback we receive is carefully noted as it is critical we ensure that we deliver what valued Guests such as yourself expect, not what we think they expect.

In thanking you again for your patronage, I assure you of our best attention.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed at The WheatBaker last year and was impressed with the level of service and staff. Everything ran like clock work, the complementary bottle of wine and fruit basket was the icing on the cake.
Keep up the good work guys!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Stephen B

Thank you for your very kind feedback following your recent stay with us at The Wheatbaker.

We are very grateful for your patronage, especially given the many choices available to guests such as yourself.

We do hope you choose to stay with us again at The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed at the Wheatbaker for five days and have nothing but praise for the hotel. I would say people are friendly, especially in this hotel, staff helped with all information I needed, service was good and quality of food was more than good.

Positives:
1. Good security, which is a must in Lagos.
2. Comfortable room, nice king size bed, spacious and decently equipped bathroom, all other basic amenities like swimming pool, gym and restaurant fully functional and well maintained.
3. Good food and decent menu.
4. Located in Ikoyi which is not too far from main business locations in city.
5. Clean and well sanitized.
6. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Opeyemi B

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback - it is only through the comments of our Guests that we know if we are getting it right.

The Team and I will strive to never disappoint each and every one of our Guests, without whom The Wheatbaker would not be where it is.

Thanks again

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I have, during the past year, used the Wheatbaker on many occasions - for social as well as for business purposes. I have experienced the service as very good and the catering of good quality. Simon Grindrod, the GM, and his team is always available to offer assistance where and when needed. They have good knowledge of the local environment and shares this information appropriately. I would certainly recommennd The Wheatbaker Hotel in Lagos.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear GMLAGOS

Thank from us all for your comments which, good or bad, help us to maintain and improve our offering to you - our valued Guest.

We are grateful for your patronage and hope you will choose to use us again soon.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I am coming to Lagos for business more than 20 times during last 4 years and stayed in various hotels. Wheatbaker is by far best hotel in Lagos. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Breakfast is great. Last week I had great steak in restaurant with some friends.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Ivo B

Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay with us.

The Team and I take all feedback very seriously as a barometer of our efforts to provide the highest standards possible.

We are pleased to enjoyed your stay and very much hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The best hotel in Lagos by far. The rooms are very comfortable, and are complete with their own coffee machine. The bathrooms are luxurious. The buffet restaurant has top quality food and a tremendous menu. Reception staff are very friendly and efficient, as are the doormen and bell hops. Rooms are competitively priced for Lagos, though bar prices can be a little expensive. No complaints.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Peter Ingamells

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are pleased you found our Service and facilities to be of a satisfactory standard and this encourages us to strive harder to maintain and improve our offering to valued Guests such as yourself.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wheatbaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatbaker

Address: | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#1 Business Hotel in Lagos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wheatbaker 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Wheatbaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatbaker Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheatbaker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.