We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Top Class place to stay in Lagos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheatbaker

Save Saved
You added The Wheatbaker to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wheatbaker
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER SPECIAL @ $390
Ranked #1 of 73 hotels in Lagos
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Class place to stay in Lagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in one of Lagos jewels namely the Wheat Baker .The staff and service where always of the highest standard as well as the many varieties of excellent and well prepared meals.

The hotel management was always visible and very approachable and a thank you to the GM and Mr. Sandip who where both very helpful.

All around a great stay and I look forward to seeing you again soon

Raymond

Room Tip: All rooms are very secure with security posted on all floors 24 hrs a day the pool view is nice but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Raymond E

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay with us.

The Team and I know that international and domestic travelers such as yourself have many options when choosing a Hotel. We will always seek to justify the trust you place in us.

We hope you will visit Nigeria again soon.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
7
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My visit to the Wheatbaker Hotels with my family was amazing. We enjoy every mionute of it. Every thing about the hotel was Pure Class. My Child almost did not want to leave, my Wife who is a conservative was sure she will be back there soon. I am more than impresssed by the place. Keep up the good and quality work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Torrynno

On behalf of the Team and I, thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review.

We are all very encouraged that your family visit was enjoyable and we will strive to improve and maintain this standard.

We hope you will choose to visit us again soon.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel stands out as an oasis of delight in a desert of mediocrity. The welcome, the ambiance, the quality of decor help ensure that from arrival to departure the customer is King. New hotels come and go - the Wheatbaker remains a clear head and shoulders above the 'also rans'. Room 205 was that good it could have been in a hotel anywhere. The hustle and bustle of Lagos life disappeared for a night and a day. Most welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear CEO G

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

The Team and I value all feedback, positive or otherwise, as this helps us to maintain and improve our Service to our valued Guests.

We hope you will choose to visit us again in the future.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed before, shortly after it opened and was impressed, returned last week and standards have dropped. Please let me expand, as I know the GM reviews TA - check in fast which was great, shown to the room G04 and immediately upon entering it was evident that the room smelt musty and put this down to the aircon system. Complained straight away to be told that the hotel was full and couldnt move rooms, although I doubted this as never saw many people in restaurant, bar, lobbies or at breakfast during my 2 day stay. It was only after I left and filled out the feedback form did I get an email advising that they would investigate and look to resolve. Shame this couldn't have been done the next morning. Regarding bar food, I was with 3 colleagues and we all ordered club sandwiches but they took over an hour to arrive, despite numerous requests about status of order, each time we were told they were on the way. They were good when they eventually arrived. Staff in the bar were a little slow to take orders.
Shame they couldn't have found a solution to the musty aircon or offered an alternative room - will give the new intercontinental a try when I return next year as it looks impressive.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Middlegam

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

I extend to you the apologies of the Team and myself that we did not deliver our usual perfect stay and will contact you privately to see how we can make amends and hopefully redeem ourselves!

In the interim, I shall investigate exactly why these lapses occurred and revert in detail forthwith.

We take any dissatisfaction on the part of any of our Guests very seriously.

Once again, our heartfelt apologies that you were not 100% satisfied with your experience on this occasion.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I always look forward to going to the Wheatbaker Lagos the ambiance of the whole place is relaxing, the cuisine is scrumptious, the staff are extremely friendly, courteous and always ready to assist. The location is very nice and quiet too.Thank you Laide, Harris, Zam etc and of course your wonderful GM for always being there. Please let the chef know I'll be back very soon.
Coming from Naija this hotel comes highly recommended....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Linakay

Thank you very much for your kind review of your experience of The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

The Team and I are grateful for your encouragement and hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

One thing that struck me about this hotel is the decor..very modern,very bright,lots of white!I stayed here for two nights with hubby and must say it was a pleasant experience.Our room sparkled,and the bathroom was well appointed.The staff was professional and ready to assist when needed.I am impressed with the attentiveness to guests' comfort,especially the way they called our room to inquire if we were enjoying our stay,and when i mentioned that the room WiFi didn't work properly,the desk officer assured us the problem would be fixed immediately;true to her words,it was.In fact the hotel called our room again to confirm;very nice!
The steak i had there is one of the best i have ever had,and i have sampled a lot of steak all over the globe.The only downside is that the pool is tiny;looked more like a big jacuzzi than an actual pool.Also this hotel is very pricy...nice ambiance,striking decor,good service but way overpriced.
All in all,very good hotel,would recommend it if you have a fat wallet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Touristbee2013

Thank you for your very informative review of The Wheatbaker, Lagos. I am pleased your found our design and interiors to be interesting and innovative.

As a Boutique hotel in a very large City, we have had to face the challenge of maximizing use of available space and in this regard I do understand your point about our pool. It is quite pleasant but certainly not of Olympic proportions!

Equally your comment regarding prices is noted. Sadly you may find that costs of operating a hotel aspiring to a high standard in a city like Lagos are significant across the board. We do try to remain competitive relative to other hotels in the area.

I do, however, hope you feel we offered service and quality in return.

With our very best wishes

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business in May and was very impressed with the service, rooms and food!
The best part was the Nespresso in the room!!!
The converence facilities are also very good.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone anytime

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Freben S

Thank you for taking time to review The Wheatbaker, Lagos. We are grateful for both your patronage and kind observations.

We will be sure to keep our Nespresso machines and complimentary coffee pods in plentiful supply should you choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wheatbaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatbaker

Address: | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#1 Business Hotel in Lagos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wheatbaker 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Wheatbaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatbaker Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheatbaker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.