We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Johannesburg in Lagos....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheatbaker

Save Saved
You added The Wheatbaker to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Wheatbaker
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 68 hotels in Lagos
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Johannesburg in Lagos....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel! The standart is the same as a lagacy hotel one and even better.
This is my second stay here! it can sound weird but the smell of the hotel is just hummmm( lemongrass smell).
And the staff is just awesome! The food is really good( even the buffet)! The chef is South african, all the wines, you even have Savannah dry( its dry but you can drink it;-)).
The gym is fine, it is a Pity the spa is indicated but not working at all.
The rooms are nice, clean.
The manager is really a nice persin, he talks to his clients often.
The grill room( restaurant) is really good but too expensive for what they serve...
The security can be better, personally i found it too simple.
There is always an expo of an artist on walls.
And a Jazz band every friday as well on the swimming pool side.
Overall, i really like the place!
if in Lagos try it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Balkissa D

Thanks for your informative review following your stay at The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

Let me assure you that we are intending to open a world-class Spa at the hotel before the end of this year.

Equally let me put your mind at rest regarding the security measures we have (both visible and less visible) to protect our Guests. Most international companies have assessed and verified our security systems in terms of their very strict global risk criteria. We have passed each one of these inspections.

I do hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Regards

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    28
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
4
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Wheatbaker is one of the best hotels in Lagos > they have managed to create an exclusive environment with a professional service (which i have found rare in Sub Saharan Africa)i have been welcomed personally by the top management which is unique and served good quality food> the meat must have come from South Africa > all hotels appear expensive in Lagos but this is one that is worth paying for because of the the service and quality of the food . well done

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Balogun A

Thank you for your very kind review. The Team and I are committed to ensuring you receive only great service and comfort here at The Wheatbaker.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Regards

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had been to Lagos once before, but had been unhappy with my accommodation. This time around, various clients I was visiting unanimously recommended the Wheatbaker, so I went ahead and booked without doing further research. When I checked in, it became instantly clear why everyone had pointed me towards this hotel. It is not only easily the best hotel in Lagos, but the Wheatbaker delivered some of the best value for money I have received at any hotel, anywhere, in eight years of frequent business travel.

There is no doubt that Lagos can be a tricky city to navigate, but this is easily forgotten on the hotel premises. Everything works (wifi, 24h roomservice, pool, gym, forex), staff is friendly and attentive, requests are met quickly. One gets the sense that the team consciously sets out to dispel preconceived ideas about how things function (or don’t) in Nigeria. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The way the local cultural scene is incorporated into the hotel’s building and culture is a nice touch: from rotating art presentations on the walls of the lobby to regular cultural events on its premises. While in some ways the Wheatbaker is a world all of its own amidst a harsh urban environment, in other ways it makes a conscious effort to weave itself into the local fabric, and during my stay the hotel seemed used by locals and visitors alike for meetings, events and functions.

My only complaint is that they did not have my breakfast cereal of choice (plain muesli), and if that is one’s biggest gripe, one has found a true gem. Verdict: don’t stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The usual: further away from the elevators is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear JoostOB

Thanks very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We understand that the patronage of Guests such as yourself is never to be taken for granted. The Team and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and will ensure we have plain muesli amongst our selection of muesli's when you next visit!

Once again, many thanks

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The wheat baker has got it right for lagos.
Service from the staff is the best in lagos, always friendly and offer proper customer service
The management are always visible and care
The food is of a high standard and when eating with locals and travellers a good mix of food and travellers can happily taste the local specialities.
Rooms are incredible clean
And on top of that prices are fair for lagos
Just improve check in and out efficiency
But well done team

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Manwering

We are grateful for your feedback following your stay at The Wheatbaker, Lagos.

Whilst we are pleased you found our Service and Standards satisfactory, I noted with interest your comment regarding speed and ease of Check-In and Departure. We are constantly looking for ways to enhance the experience of our Guests and improve the electronic banking and credit card platforms in terms of reliability and speed.

We appreciate your trust in us and hope we can again welcome you to The Wheatbaker if you visit Lagos again.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

As a regular visitor to Lagos it is always a pleasure staying at the WheatBaker and experiencing the homely environment that they continue to create. From the GM to the receptionist all staff are friendly, efficient and provide a personal service without compromise. The rooms are clean and modern, the restaurant is great and the fitness center provides all you need. If your looking for a good 5 star hotel in Lagos, this is the no.1. Will be returning again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Adam T

The Wheatbaker Team and I thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us.

We take the comfort and satisfaction of every Guest very seriously and are committed to being the best we can be in an increasingly competitive hotel market.

Please be assured that we will strive to maintain and improve our Service offering and hope you will once again trust us with your next hotel stay in Lagos.

Once again, many thanks for your patronage.

Sincerely

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Probably the best in Lagos,located in Ikoyi very close to Victoria Island
Communication to VI and to 3 Mainland Bridge very good
Good Service , good food, clean and expencive :-)
Two restaurants and bar,
You will find all what you need .
Parking available
Security 24/7

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Darek L

The Wheatbaker Team and I thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us.

Your comments assist us in maintaining the standards expected by international visitors such as yourself who now expect world-class standards from Lagos hotels.

All of us here at The Wheatbaker understand that you have many other hotel options to choose from and will always strive to ensure your expectations are exceeded in terms of Personal Service, Facilities, Cleanliness, Security and Value.

Thanks again

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Abuja Capital Territory, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Having stayed in many hotels throughout the world and in particular Nigeria "The Wheatbaker" is everything plus more you expect from a upmarket international boutique hotel. This hotel certainly deserves to be ranked No.1 in Nigeria. From the friendly staff to the General Manager all contributed to make my stay a very enjoyable one. The service was second to none and all members of staff were very efficient from the booking of my exquisite room to the pick up from the airport by one of their security cleared drivers and car. The A La Carte restaurant was a memorable dining experience with a excellent menu and fine wine choice available, the same can be said for the Breakfast and Lunch menu choices. A big plus for anyone considering to stay at "The Wheatbaker" is the location which is in a more upmarket and secure area of Lagos and the ease of access to other business locations within Lagos. The real beauty of the hotel is the fact it is designed to very high modern standards whilst not losing the sight of local Nigerian culture. I would highly recommend staying at "The Wheatbaker" and I am looking forward to returning to it soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear John MGEP

Thank you from The Wheatbaker Team for your feedback following your stay with us.

The observations you make, both positive and negative, assist us in refining our service offering to Guests such as yourself who have many hotel alternatives.

We genuinely appreciate your patronage and hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Simon Grindrod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wheatbaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatbaker

Also Known As:
The Wheatbaker Hotel
The Wheatbaker Hotel Lagos
Address: | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#1 Business Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wheatbaker 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your The Wheatbaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheatbaker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.