We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Best choice in Lagos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bon Voyage

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bon Voyage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bon Voyage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57A, A.J Marinho Drive | off Ajose Adeogun St, Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 71 hotels in Lagos
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best choice in Lagos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Probably best value for money in Lagos. New restaurant manager Lena has made a huge difference to the quality of the food and restaurant. internet service still needs improvement but most of the time is Ok. Location is as good if not better than sheraton four points. Some construction noise from adjacent building site but for Lagos this hotel can be rated as QUIET. Service is with a smile even if not fast but still much better than most of the competition in Lagos.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBonVoyage, General Manager at Hotel Bon Voyage, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
29 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Bon Voyage!!

Thank you for a frank and constructive review about your stay with us at Hotel Bon Voyage, Lagos. It is great to know that you liked our quality of food, restaurant and our smiling staff.

It is these compliments that awaken a motivational force among us all and makes us strive harder to take small steps towards achieving excellence.
We assure you that all what you have mentioned here will be treated with utmost seriousness and necessary remedial action will be taken at the earliest. We regret any inconvenience that you may have faced due to the internet & delay in service.

We await your return with great enthusiasm and hope to be able to serve you yet again so that we can help you make some fond memories here with us.

Warm Regards,
Prakash Somayaji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
4
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for good 15 days , rooms were pretty neat and with basic amenities . Service was at acceptable levels , However nothing great about the service . There were house keeping issues like water overflowed from floor above into my room because of which i had to change my room which was done pretty quickly . Morning breakfast was with good spread however vegetarians like me will have to be contempt with whatever fruits and breads available , mashed potatoes all time favorite for the chef here .
Fairly safe place to stay with good security especially when u r travelling to Nigeria , view from the pool side is good however sea water is clogged up with garbage .
I would rate it as 3 out of 5 considering money i am paying for this stay .

regards
pratik gupta .

Room Tip: choose pool side room with a sea view not the ones facing other building ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBonVoyage, General Manager at Hotel Bon Voyage, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
31st July 2013
Dear Guest


Greetings from Hotel Bon Voyage!!!

Thank you for sparing time to give valuable and constructive feedback.

We understand that you have had some reasons to complain. Most of them were beyond our control. We still sincerely regret and apologize for the same.
You will also appreciate the fact that our staff acted immediately in changing your room once the leakage was reported.
The matter was taken up very seriously in our meetings to avoid the same re-occurring in future.

We hope you will come back again.

Looking forward to the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely Yours,
Prakash Somayaji
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I would personally like to thank the management and staff at the hotel Bon Voyage for making our stay so pleasant. The rooms were immaculate and the service was impeccable. The staff all made sure that my team and I were taken care of professionally from the moment we arrived. I would highly recommend this hotel and will be sure to stay again every time I visit Lagos.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBonVoyage, General Manager at Hotel Bon Voyage, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Bon Voyage and for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

Your generous praise of our team members is very rewarding and inspiring. Such feedback motivates them to strive harder.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Prakash Somayaji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lagos is a crazy city, and to have a quiet and calm hotel in a bustling city and even the busy business district of Victoria Island is really impressive, its in a quiet location there.

They need to improve on their towels and some of the finishing in the hotel some walls are fading, or peeling off.the food is good and the hotel staff seem quite friendly.

They can improve on this.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBonVoyage, General Manager at Hotel Bon Voyage, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
4 July 2013
Dear Guest


Greetings from Hotel Bon Voyage!!!

Thank you for sparing time to give valuable feedback.

We understand that you have had some reasons to complain. We sincerely regret and apologize for the same. The matter has been taken up very seriously with the concerned departments to avoid the same re-occurring in future.

We hope you will come back again.

Looking forward to the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely Yours,
Prakash Somayaji
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Bon Voyage,V.I with my fiance and i must say it was a pleasant experience.Though the room wasn't very spacious,it was very clean and the bathroom was spotless & boasted of all the usual amenities.Our room had a separate sitting area and mini bar,and was quite cosy and attractive.Hotel staff were friendly and polite.
What made us fall in love with Bon Voyage was the poolside bar;there was literally just a fence separating the property from the ocean,and it was fantastic sitting and sipping drinks under the umbrella while enjoying the smell and sound of the ocean!We used to go sit out there in the evenings;nibbling the hotel's delicious snacks with our drinks and watching the ships,and the occasional fisherman paddling by in a canoe;If you go there try the 'bon voyage basket'...yum!
The food is good,rooms are clean with very comfortable beds,staff is attentive,price is relatively fair,view fantastic and centrally located;I'll definitely stay there again.In fact we had initially booked 2 days,but because it was so nice,we extended our stay for two days!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBonVoyage, General Manager at Hotel Bon Voyage, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
24 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Bon Voyage!!!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable and memorable. Your appreciation is what encourages and motivates us in making every moment a WOW experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and indigenous hospitality of the staff and Management of Hotel Bon Voyage

Thanks & Regards,
Prakash Somayaji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

this is a good size boutique hotel. Rooms are of good size and well equipped. Modern African style. Restaurant is good. The bar an pool area is by the water and its as good a view as you can get in Lagos. If you want a quiet place to stay near the busy Tony Anegbode Street, this is for you.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBonVoyage, General Manager at Hotel Bon Voyage, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
24 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Bon Voyage!!!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable and memorable. Your appreciation is what encourages and motivates us in making every moment a WOW experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and indigenous hospitality of the staff and Management of Hotel Bon Voyage

Thanks & Regards,
Prakash Somayaji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is very good, neat, and beautiful environment. The food is great too with warm, friendly staff. The pool overlooks a lake and makes for nice scenery. I stayed there with family and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Going back there this week with hubby and so looking forward to it. Given the very pricey hotels in Lagos, this one is a very good treat!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are quite nice. And the rooms overlooking pool and lake are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBonVoyage, General Manager at Hotel Bon Voyage, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
24 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Bon Voyage!!!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable and memorable. Your appreciation is what encourages and motivates us in making every moment a WOW experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and indigenous hospitality of the staff and Management of Hotel Bon Voyage

Thanks & Regards,
Prakash Somayaji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bon Voyage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bon Voyage

Address: 57A, A.J Marinho Drive | off Ajose Adeogun St, Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bon Voyage 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bon Voyage is an 85 room luxury and affordable boutique hotel located in Victoria Island, Lagos Nigeria that provides to its guests elegant, comfortable and modern rooms, delicious meals and other facilities.Siiting on the shores of the Kuramo Lake and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, our signature style of hospitality and value is unmatched. Experience the best of hospitality with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Jovago.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Bon Voyage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bon Voyage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.