We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Things are not as good as they seem” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1A Ozumba Mbadiwe Road | Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Lagos
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Things are not as good as they seem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Attractive looking hotel inside and outside; low rise building next to the Lagoon, well located and decent brand. All the facilities are there and often things go well, but not all of the time.
I had 6 nights and issues included - no wifi on the first day; television that didnt work on 2 mornings and then had to be replaced; phone call from reception on the last night after midnight that woke me up, asking if I am extending my stay; wi-fi not working on the last morning; issues over the room price on the last night.
The food in the restaurant was fine and in fact much better than previous times when IO had eaten here. The staff in the bars and restaurants were very attentive and keen to please - far more than the reception staff.
The room size was more than adequate and comfortable although the A/C control doessn't seem to have any immediate impact.
Overall adequate and I would use the place again if the price was right but it could be much better.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Lagoon is nice but you can hear the band playing until late in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LOSZA, General Manager at Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs.

We thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel as your preferred hotel in Lagos.

We are really sorry to know that we didn’t come up to your expectation during your last visit. Please note that management is investigation on the issues experienced by you and we will try to resolve them as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcome you at Radisson Blu Anchorage hotel. We ensure a crisp and refined service on your next visit.

Radisson Blu Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    98
    44
    15
    12
See reviews for
3
5
8
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Its a Radisson inside and out and one could be in any city perched on the lagoon and well away from the hustle and bustle that make Lagos what it is. This could be taken as dissapointing but as any business or frequent traveller to Lagos will attest, it's great to get back to a hotel where things work with predictability. The rates are serious (approx £300/night) but don't expect to get value-for-money at those rates, the Radisson and its local competitors are exploiting the lack of serious competition and the growing foreign demand. Nice lagoon-side pool and with the sunset one can imagine being almost anywhere BUT Lagos!

Room Tip: 145 worked for me, WiFi included
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LOSZA, General Manager at Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs.

We thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel as your preferred hotel in Lagos.

We would like to thank you for your valuable time to comments on our product and services. Yours valuable comments help us to understand the level of service and product from voice of customer.

We look forward to welcome you at Radisson Blu Anchorage hotel. We ensure a crisp and refined service on your next visit.

Radisson Blu Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Attractive hotel in a good location (overlooking the lagoon) with generally nice facilities (pool, gym, spa, outside bar/restaurant) and nightly entertainment (at least on the nights I was there).
Staff were attentive and eager to please and friendly, so not problems there.
Key issue is how the facilities work. The hotel advertises its free Wi-Fi for guests, but don't stay in the room I had because there was little or no coverage (had to place iPad by the basin to get a connection and couldn't connect the iPhone at all). Despite reporting this to the front desk, there was no improvement. The hotel has just opened its Golf Bar and there is no coverage there. When traveling in such locations, the facilities in the hotel become very important to stay on top of communications and work commitments - when the service is poor this has a very real impact on the viability of the location as a place to stay.
On arrival, the room was very warm so I tried to turn the a/c temperature down and could not see any way to control the unit (pressing buttons on the control panel could turn the fan on and off but had no impact on the temp setting). I called and someone came to look at it and said he would wait 20 minutes and then see if it was OK. The temperature did come down eventually, but was warmer than I like for the whole of my trip.
The plumbing also leaves something to be desired - as I had to have a cold (not freezing, but definitely cold) shower after 5 mins of water flow - which I didn't even bother to report as my other two issues had not been addressed.
In common with other hotels suitable for international visitors in Lagos, this hotel has room rates that would not be out of place in central London. At this level of spend, I was left wishing the owners had ploughed some of the very fat margins they must be making into the facilities, so that at least they could keep the promise their brand and advertising offers. More hotels are opening in Lagos, so the chronic shortage of rooms won't continue to guarantee occupancy - so my recommendation to the management would be to address the issues that make the difference between an efficient and comfortable business trip and one that is frustrating and unproductive. It wouldn't cost much (relative to the rack rate) and would make this property my preferred destination rather than one which I will use only with trepidation.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 227 if you like to control the air and water temperature and/or you need to connect to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LOSZA, General Manager at Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs.

We thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel as your preferred hotel in Lagos.

We are really sorry to know that we didn’t come up to your expectation during your last visit. Please note that management is investigation on the issues experienced by you and we will try to resolve them as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcome you at Radisson Blu Anchorage hotel. We ensure a crisp and refined service on your next visit.

Radisson Blu Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had dinner here last time I was in Lagos but this was my first stay at the hotel. It is a very efficient hotel - except that the printers didn't work when I was checking out!

Staff are very friendly and the hotel has all of the usual amenities of a business hotel. There is a bar outside that sits on the banks of the river and at this time of year the weather was very pleasant....as was the traffic because the schools are in holiday!

Good value and a hotel that I would recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LOSZA, General Manager at Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs.

We thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel as your preferred hotel in Lagos.

We would like to thank you for your valuable time to comments on our product and services. Yours valuable comments help us to understand the level of service and product from voice of customer.

We look forward to welcome you at Radisson Blu Anchorage hotel. We ensure a crisp and refined service on your next visit.

Radisson Blu Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

One night stay at this relatively safe haven in the wild west African city of Lagos. In fact, didn't find it as bad as the media will make you believe but make sure you know what you are doing here, or at least head out with someone who knows what he is doing. You dont belong to be out there after dark, and the pool has a nice bar and terrace looking over the lagoon for entertainment in the evening. Room was clean with nice bed and bathroom. Location at one of the best and most expensive neighborhoods of the city. Expensive though.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the bank that was made into the window looking over the street in front of het hotel, I en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LOSZA, General Manager at Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Faustino,
We would like to thank you for staying with us. It’s so glad to know you enjoyed your stay.
Your feedback is much appreciated and will be shared with the team.
We look forward to having you stay with us again and making your stay an uncomplicated one.
Radisson Blu Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at the Radisson for a few nights in July and found the service, attitude of the staff and rooms all of a high standard. The food on the pool deck was good (a little pricey) but allowed for an enjoyable experience. The hotel gym is okay. They offer other services like outdoor aerobics but don't advertise this well. Loved the pool...

Room Tip: Pay more for a creek facing room and ask for a room a little away from the poolside bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LOSZA, General Manager at Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs.

We thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel as your preferred hotel in Lagos.

We would like to thank you for your valuable time to comments on our product and services. Yours valuable comments help us to understand the level of service and product from voice of customer.

We look forward to welcome you at Radisson Blu Anchorage hotel. We ensure a crisp and refined service on your next visit.

Radisson Blu Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had the opportunity to spend time at the poolside, service was good. I will surely visit the poolside again. Though I am not sure the live music is a good idea reason being the noise for guests. That's only reason I would not lodge in the hotel. The bathroom was very clean, the swimming pool was very nice

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LOSZA, General Manager at Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Mitch,

Your review is much appreciated and has been shared with the management team.

Radisson Blu Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos

Address: 1A Ozumba Mbadiwe Road | Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Lagos, Nigeria, Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, is a stunning masterpiece styled by famous Swedish hospitality designer, Christian Lundwall. The Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos, Nigeria is nestled along the Lagos Lagoon on Victoria Island in the midst of the business district and banking area. This Lagos hotel has 170 air-conditioned rooms, including 8 unique and opulently furnished suites, offering both stunning city and lagoon views. The Voyage buffet-style restaurant serves a range of eclectic, international cuisine and local dishes, while overlooking the Lagos Lagoon. The View bar lounge is ideal for snacks and drinks, and perfect for a Classic Cocktail as the sun sets.Providing jetty access, the Surface Bar and Grill on the terrace offers outdoor dining overlooking the lagoon. Guests enjoy free access to the hotel fitness area, complete with cardiovascular gym, massage room, outdoor infinity swimming pool, and steam room.The hotel boasts two upscale boardrooms and four spacious meeting rooms, all offering natural light as well as all the modern, audiovisual equipment expected of a World Class Hotel. All you need for a successful stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Rezidor, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.