We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Staff and Courteous Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Ikoyi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Ikoyi to your Saves list
Southern Sun Ikoyi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Lagos
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staff and Courteous Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in an excellent location! The amazing staff is courteous and helpful from the moment you arrive at their door. They are very attentive, provide courteous service, (while smiling) and the buffets are expansive with good food; try their café latte too. The head of their Sales and PR staff, Ms Nseobot, is a young professional, I have interacted with on more than one occasion, who handles inquiries promptly and with total confidence. She is never too busy for a guest making you feel welcomed and at home when you are in hotel. I will always return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Mjw121,

Thank you for making Southern Sun Ikoyi your choiced hotel. Above all, we are glad we were able to meet your expectations and our staff and management made you feel at home.

Your feedback is of immense value to us as we commit ourselves to quality service delivery.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel as we wish you well in your endeavours.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    155
    44
    9
    9
See reviews for
17
15
36
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I am one of the foundation staff of Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel, I left the hotel 4 years ago and have experienced and seen what other hotels have got to offer in my wide travels or in common with Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel. Southern sun is unique and outstanding because it doesn't compromise comfort, safety and security of guest no matter what. The staff are handpicked from world over, the best from every region to make sure that hospitality is not compromised. The GM is a leader by example, he takes ownership of every task and guests feedbacks are always amazing. Marks doesn't only do a daily routine check of all the hotels' departments, he meets and greet guests, gets feedback and hands daily newspapers out to guests himself which is a lesson to any leader.

I have been back several times to see how the hotel was going and all I see is development the property has remained brand new and spotless from maintenance. Kudos and more grease to your elbows guys I am very proud of you all

Room Tip: This property will not compromise your comfort, safety and security trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Bada,

Thank you for choosing to continued patronage of Southern Sun Hotel and particularly, Ikoyi, where you once worked.

We are glad we were able to meet your expectations. More pleasing to note that you are excelling in your endeavours.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I work for a Chamber of Commerce, and as a result, I attend a fair amount of Business Cocktails, Dinners and Meetings at Southern Sun.
The food there is excellent, whether it be dinner, lunch, or canapes. I actually look forward to the eating there,
The staff are friendly and helpful, most especially the Public Relations Manager Ubong, she definitely goes over and above the required. If you are ever in Lagos, this is the hotel to stay.
PS. Remember to ask for my favorite meal, the Chicken Atete!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Toyin,

Thanl you for choosing to use Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel as the choiced venue for your business. We are glad we met and exceeded your expectations at different times of your visit.

Quality in service is what we represent and we intend to sustain this tempo. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

We wish you well in your endeavours.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

They oversold the hotel and the night manager refused to fix the issue, was nasty to us, nasty to other hotels when trying to find somewhere to stay, we spent over 4 hours trying to find accommodation, he just straight up avoided and neglected us and left us to sleep in the lobby. I don't say this easily, but he should be fired. He has no experience managing a hotel, working with people or other businesses. I cannot believe a business would employ someone so terrible at customer service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Bill,

We sincerely appologies for the experience you had on your visit to Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel.

We assure you that your complaints have been noted and is currently being addressed.

Having said this, Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel is widely known for its high level of hospitality and quality in service delivery. We would appreciate your patronage for you to have a real feel of the real deal.

Looking forward to seeing you again as we wish you well in alll your endeavours.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Friendly hotel.
The location is very good. With easy access to VI and Lekki. (And mainland Lagos)

The food is awesome. lunch is almost like a banquet.

The rooms are spacious and clean.
Hotel staff are extremely friendly and always have a smile.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay with us. We are so glad we were able to meet your expectations.

Quality in service delivery is what we stand for and we will continue with that trend.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

We wish you well.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The reception team were unfriendly, not helpful, and showed no warmth during my check in or check out process. On the other hand, the breakfast and dinner team were very helpful and provided service with a smile.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear MohammedEssop,

Thank you for makiing Southern Sun Ikoyi your choiced hotel. We take responsibility for your recent experience and we want to let you know that your points have been noted and will be actioned accordingly.

We are widely know for the quality service delivery and we want to offer your that as we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

We wish above all things that you excel in all your endeavours.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel is in a choice location and the staff honestly try their very best. However, I just can't get over the lack of backup power (I mean even the elevators shut down) and tiny rooms after paying so much!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear ALTnaija,

Thank you for makiing Southern Sun Ikoyi your choiced hotel. We take responsibility for your recent experience and we want to let you know that your points have been noted and will be actioned accordingly.

We are widely know for the quality service delivery and we want to offer your that as we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

We wish above all things that you excel in all your endeavours.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Ikoyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ikoyi

Address: 47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#4 Business Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ikoyi 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi LagosAddress 47 Alfred Rewane Road (Kingsway Road)Ikoyi – Lagos Nigeria.Location Southern Sun Ikoyi is strategically located in the GovernmentArea of the City. It offers the corporate business travelers an excellent accommodation and irresistible Services. The hotel is situated within a few kilometers from the Atlantic Ocean (popularly called Bar Beach), 5km from the City Centre and 30km from the International Airport.Accommodation Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi has a total of 195 rooms tastefully furnished with luxurious amenities and offers various segments of rooms to meet our clients’ needs. The Hotel rooms are categorized as follows: 86 Standard Rooms 75 Executive Rooms (One Double Bed) 22 Executive Rooms (Two Double Beds) 5 Junior Suites 4 Suites 2 Executive Suites 1 Paraplegic RoomAll the above mentioned rooms are non-smokingGuests Rooms All rooms are fitted with the followings: Air-conditioning Flat Screen 32” LCD TV DSTV and Local Channels Hitv Channels High Speed Complementary Internet Access WIFI internet connectivity IDD Telephone System in rooms Safe Deposit Boxes Electronic Door Lock Tea/Coffee Making facilities Fully Stock Mini Bar Hair Dryer Iron/Ironing Board (on request) Work Desk with LampExecutive Floors The Executive floors (8th & 9th) offer our esteemedguests exclusive services as follows: Executive Lounge Complimentary:o Continental/Buffet Breakfasto Fruit Basket on Arrivalo Bottle of Wineo Newspaperso Bathrobeso Slipperso Loffa Business & Secretarial Services Turndown ServiceFamily Children under 3 years and below stay and eat freeServices Our Hotel Services include: 24 hours effective and efficient security system 24 hours, 7 days a week room service Laundry and Dry Cleaning Services Secured Environment Free Parking Business Centre with state-of-the-art facilities Daily Secretarial Services Fitness Centre with modern equipment ATM Services on site WIFI internet connectivity throughout the Hotel High Speed Internet Access Outdoor Swimming PoolConference/MeetingOur professional Staff will assist our Corporate and Business Clients to plan their meetings/functions. Our meeting rooms are fully equipped with state-of-art-facilities.Restaurant/Bar Our Restaurants our open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and offer elegant Nigerian and Continental dishes to the delight of all guests. Restaurant Capacityo Main Restaurant - 80 Seatso Mezzanine Lounge/Bar - 20 Seats Operation Hourso Breakfast - 6.30am – 10.00amo Lunch - 12.00pm – 3.00pmo Dinner - 6.00pm – 10.00pmSports/Recreation * Swimming Pool Fitness Centre Gym Sauna/Steam RoomUseful Information The Hotel does not operate Airport Shuttle, but could assist our guests to make arrangement with a reliable Car Rentals on request. Rates are inclusive of Full Continental/Buffet Breakfast 5% VAT and 10% Service Charge.Interested Placesin Lagos Ikoyi Club – Established 1938 is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel and it offers various sporting facilities. It has about 15,000 members of high profile people in Nigeria. Muson Centre – meaning Musical Society of Nigeria. Is 10 minutes drive from the hotel and most musical concert are staged at the Centre. Bar Beach – is located 5km drive from the Hotel. This is the main beach on Victoria Island, Lagos. The Bar Beach is named historically after the sand bars on long the Lagos Coastline. Silverbird Calleria – Is situated on Victoria Island, a 10 minutes drive from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Shoprite – Is located along Lekki Expressway, is 20 minutes from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Eleko Beach – Is about 45minutes drive along the Lekki-Epe Expressway. It is one the most popular among the beaches in Lagos. It is very busy during festive and public holidays.Language *English and three (3) other major Nigerian Languages –Yoruba, Igbo and HausaCurrency Naira(Local)Credit Card Visa and Master CardsElectricity 220vTime Zone GMT-1Climate Tropical Climate all year round with temperature of 25c and 40c.Major Airlines South African Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Lufthansa, British Airways, KLM, Egypt Air, Kenya Airways, Delta Airlines, Arik Air, Turkish AirRates are Inclusive of:  Full Buffet Breakfast 10% Service charge Other Added Values are:  Wifi/Internet Service Two bottled water in Room Daily Gym, Sauna and Steam Swimming Pool Free Car Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Southern Sun Ikoyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Ikoyi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.