We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Ikoyi

Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Ikoyi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Ikoyi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$404 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 71 hotels in Lagos
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

An upmarket hotel with a good and relatively calm ambience. I wish that they had made wifi more readily available though. Delicious food and excellent lunch buffet with a wide choice of high quality Nigerian and international cuisine both savoury and sweet. A wonderful place for business stays or even just having a great meal with friends in the restaurant.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Elizabeth,

We want to appreciate you for choosing to stay at Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel. We are glad our food made your taste bud water.

However, we have taken note of your concerns and will address it. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel as we wish you well in your endeavours.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    128
    35
    7
    8
See reviews for
10
6
28
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in July 2013 for a business trip in Lagos ,the hotel is clean , and the food is great, but they fumigate the room everyday for mosquitoes and the room smells very bad.
The gym is good and the welcome drink is tasty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear AmrMakhalil,

We want to appreciate your comments on your recent stay at Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel. We are happy we were able to meet your expectations.

We are committed to quality service and we want you to experince more of it. Your concerns have been noted and will be attended to.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here during the month of April 2013 for 20 days continuously. Although this is one of the more expensive hotels, it is almost worth your money. I was here on Business.

TL;DR: A good hotel. Good warm staff. Spacious and cozy rooms. Bad A/C. Awesome breakfast with good variety.


The ROOM:
- Very comfortable and cozy room with a very cozy bed. Lighting was top-notch
- A/C could definitely have been better (it is not centralized to the room. It is just a cooler in a corner). Problem with power cuts. If the power goes off, then the A/C switches off and fails to come back to the position that it was initially set in.(the only reason I rate it 4)
- Bathroom was nice and spacious with all basic amenities

The STAFF:
- Extremely courteous and warm staff. They're there for almost 18 hours in a day in each floor to provide personal attention to each client.
- The reception and the restaurant staff were also very hospitable.

The SECURITY:
- Secured very well by a high compound and guards at the entrance 24/7. Ample parking space too.

The FOOD:
- The breakfast buffet was very, very wide spread with lots of options (even for vegetarians). The menu used to change slightly every day so as to not make breakfast boring for long stay customers.


Had a nice experience staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

We want to appreciate you for your elaborate and detailed comments, which was shared to all and well received.

We are glad we were able to reachout to you in different areas of our service. We are committed to quality service delivery and we will not relent in giving and showing you the true meaning of quality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel as we wish you well in all your endeavours.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I eat at this Hotel at least 3 to 4 times a month.Wonderful food and very friendly staff.Keep up the good work.Nice sitting at the poolside whilst enjoying a great constructed cocktail.Easy to get to and security on the ball.Well done , keep it up

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

What a pleasure to have you review on our rich and ever tasty cuisine. We are glad that your experiences are quite sensational.

We are committed to quality in all we do. We have other products that will further depict our professionalism. Please feel free to experience this when next you come over.

We wish you well in your endeavours.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Good hotel, secure location. Food is great and high floors have good views. Located in secure area of Lagos island, close to the Victoria Island.
Sunday lunch is a real feast but gets a bit crowded.
Service is good , and waiters are quite friendly.
Always ask for Mr Michael Evulocha, he is very polite and understands how to deliver great service even when the rest fails...

Room Tip: High rooms , rooms away from the lift are quieter. Ask for Mr Michael when checking in to make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Saligwekwe,

We want to appreciate you for your comments on your last experience with us, we are glad that Mr Mike stood out for you during your interaction with us.

Friendly, polite, promptness and efficiency is what we are. No other place does it better than we do.

We consistently look for new ways to serve you better as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Wishing you well in your endeavours

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I've now stayed in the hotel 3 times and one other Lagos hotel and can honestly say this is the best for me. It is an oasis of calm and relatively luxury in the city. That said it can still be incredibly frustrating for example last week I and my colleague arrived in Lagos early from London at 5am. This meant that we were at the hotel at 5:45 and yes my room was ready and available (I hope the never stop that luxury ), but unfortunately there was only one night staff on the reception so it took 45 mins to check into two rooms!!! Service at breakfast can also be hit and miss which is surprising given the number of servers and managers stalking the floor, if you stick to the formula that is expected then everything is fine - ask for a double espresso and expect to wait 15 mins!
But:- The rooms are good, everything works, the gym and sauna is big and always available, the bar is friendly, the ability to late check out because the return flight is at 11pm is gratefully appreciated and the idea of customer service is baked into the hotel ethos.
Recommended but just don't expect international 4 or 5*

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor if you can -the rooms seem smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Steve,

What a previledge to have someone like you stay with us. Your comments mean a great deal to us.

We are so glad that you have finally experience exactly what quality is having stayed in Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel.

We are quality, hence the experience you have had with us. However, we will not relent in finding out new ways to make your stay memorable.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back as you visit Lagos once more. Feel ever free to make your request known each time you come. We are here to make you feel at home.

We wish you well in your endeavours.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at the hotel in Sep 2013 for 1 day. They were very kind to allow me a very early checkin of 6am. The room was OK - the A/c could have been a bit quiter.

Otherwise the room was of good size and bed was comfortable. The dinner buffet was excellent :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Jeet_Junior,

We want to say a big thank you for choosing to spend time with us, we are glad we were able to meet your expectations.

We are lloking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Lagos.

On behalf of Managemnt and Staff of this great hotel, wishing well in all your endeavours.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern Sun Ikoyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ikoyi

Address: 47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lagos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ikoyi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi LagosAddress 47 Alfred Rewane Road (Kingsway Road)Ikoyi – Lagos Nigeria.Location Southern Sun Ikoyi is strategically located in the GovernmentArea of the City. It offers the corporate business travelers an excellent accommodation and irresistible Services. The hotel is situated within a few kilometers from the Atlantic Ocean (popularly called Bar Beach), 5km from the City Centre and 30km from the International Airport.Accommodation Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi has a total of 195 rooms tastefully furnished with luxurious amenities and offers various segments of rooms to meet our clients’ needs. The Hotel rooms are categorized as follows: 86 Standard Rooms 75 Executive Rooms (One Double Bed) 22 Executive Rooms (Two Double Beds) 5 Junior Suites 4 Suites 2 Executive Suites 1 Paraplegic RoomAll the above mentioned rooms are non-smokingGuests Rooms All rooms are fitted with the followings: Air-conditioning Flat Screen 32” LCD TV DSTV and Local Channels Hitv Channels High Speed Complementary Internet Access WIFI internet connectivity IDD Telephone System in rooms Safe Deposit Boxes Electronic Door Lock Tea/Coffee Making facilities Fully Stock Mini Bar Hair Dryer Iron/Ironing Board (on request) Work Desk with LampExecutive Floors The Executive floors (8th & 9th) offer our esteemedguests exclusive services as follows: Executive Lounge Complimentary:o Continental/Buffet Breakfasto Fruit Basket on Arrivalo Bottle of Wineo Newspaperso Bathrobeso Slipperso Loffa Business & Secretarial Services Turndown ServiceFamily Children under 3 years and below stay and eat freeServices Our Hotel Services include: 24 hours effective and efficient security system 24 hours, 7 days a week room service Laundry and Dry Cleaning Services Secured Environment Free Parking Business Centre with state-of-the-art facilities Daily Secretarial Services Fitness Centre with modern equipment ATM Services on site WIFI internet connectivity throughout the Hotel High Speed Internet Access Outdoor Swimming PoolConference/MeetingOur professional Staff will assist our Corporate and Business Clients to plan their meetings/functions. Our meeting rooms are fully equipped with state-of-art-facilities.Restaurant/Bar Our Restaurants our open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and offer elegant Nigerian and Continental dishes to the delight of all guests. Restaurant Capacityo Main Restaurant - 80 Seatso Mezzanine Lounge/Bar - 20 Seats Operation Hourso Breakfast - 6.30am – 10.00amo Lunch - 12.00pm – 3.00pmo Dinner - 6.00pm – 10.00pmSports/Recreation * Swimming Pool Fitness Centre Gym Sauna/Steam RoomUseful Information The Hotel does not operate Airport Shuttle, but could assist our guests to make arrangement with a reliable Car Rentals on request. Rates are inclusive of Full Continental/Buffet Breakfast 5% VAT and 10% Service Charge.Interested Placesin Lagos Ikoyi Club – Established 1938 is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel and it offers various sporting facilities. It has about 15,000 members of high profile people in Nigeria. Muson Centre – meaning Musical Society of Nigeria. Is 10 minutes drive from the hotel and most musical concert are staged at the Centre. Bar Beach – is located 5km drive from the Hotel. This is the main beach on Victoria Island, Lagos. The Bar Beach is named historically after the sand bars on long the Lagos Coastline. Silverbird Calleria – Is situated on Victoria Island, a 10 minutes drive from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Shoprite – Is located along Lekki Expressway, is 20 minutes from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Eleko Beach – Is about 45minutes drive along the Lekki-Epe Expressway. It is one the most popular among the beaches in Lagos. It is very busy during festive and public holidays.Language *English and three (3) other major Nigerian Languages –Yoruba, Igbo and HausaCurrency Naira(Local)Credit Card Visa and Master CardsElectricity 220vTime Zone GMT-1Climate Tropical Climate all year round with temperature of 25c and 40c.Major Airlines South African Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Lufthansa, British Airways, KLM, Egypt Air, Kenya Airways, Delta Airlines, Arik Air, Turkish AirRates are Inclusive of:  Full Buffet Breakfast 10% Service charge Other Added Values are:  Wifi/Internet Service Two bottled water in Room Daily Gym, Sauna and Steam Swimming Pool Free Car Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Southern Sun Ikoyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Ikoyi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.