We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Best place to stay in Lagos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Ikoyi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Ikoyi to your Saves list
Southern Sun Ikoyi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$404 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Lagos
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Lagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I came with low expectations with all the “Lagos hotel stories” I’ve been hearing. To my surprise this is a very good business hotel! I stayed for 2 weeks.

The room is spacious and well-kept with adequate lighting, efficient air-conditioning, modern furniture, flat screen TV with sufficient satellite channels and very efficient wifi. I had a peaceful sleep, no noise from outside could be heard. The bathroom is also well-kept. The hotel has a good fitness center which is best visited in the early afternoon when other guests are still out. The only complaint I have is that they do not have small weights for women.

In-room dining is good. The restaurant also serves good food but I opted for in-room dining most of the time. The food is always tasty but with some minor inconsistencies on presentation, which is negligible.

The service is also very good. The staff are always accommodating. One problem I encountered is that the card machine does not process new Mastercard cards with PIN and had to do transactions manually, unfortunately not all staff are aware of manual transactions and they made me call my bank to sort it out. I told them I had been using the card in Lagos with no problem except at the hotel. I had to call for a manager to sort it out and it was resolved quickly.

One Friday afternoon when I got back to the hotel, there was a hand-written note from the general manager saying "Enjoy the weekend" and a small bottle of whisky, a thoughful gesture done for guests.

The hotel takes security seriously. Each floor had a security person which made me feel safe during my stay.

I noticed a lot of power cuts in Lagos but the hotel managed to make it short with alternate power source. I will definitely stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

We want to say a big thank you for choosing to spend time with us, we are glad we were able to meet your expectations.

We are committed to quality service delivery as you have already experienced. You cant get it better anywhere.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Lagos.

On behalf of Managemnt and Staff of this great hotel, wishing well in all your endeavours.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    136
    38
    7
    8
See reviews for
11
8
31
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

In the last one year, I have organised about three business events at Southern Sun Ikoyi, Lagos and I am amazed at their consistency in delivering superb customer service. The staff are friendly and efficient. My guests love the food. The events manager(Joyce) is very approachable and so helpful. One of the reasons why I have decided to stick with SS hotel is because they take the burden off you in terms of event organisation... and who wouldnt want that (*winks*).

The location, secure environment, comfortable rooms and adequate amenities is another key factor for me, as most of my stay in guest are foreigners who are concerned with high quality hotels and security. For me, my room had an fantastic view of the environ and the room service was good. Infact, I have secured the date for my next event.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear StarAM,

We at Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel say a big thank you for your feedback on the quality service you received on your last conference held here.

We want to assure you of our dedication to continued quaility service delivery as we look forward to welcoming you back on the next conference. Please feel free to let us know how we can further take the load off you.

We wish you well in all your endeavours.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It's a simply ok building (risk: your aircondition could be quite noisy!) - but the rooms are clean and there is not something not to like. Hotel location is convenient - close to business district but not too far from airport either. The big difference is the service: probably one of the best I have seen. Breakfast and dinner at the restaurant were very nice also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Auteur,

We appreciate your comments and contributions and we are glad you experienced the five star service we are known for.

Consistency is the key as we assure you of that on your next visit to Lagos.

We wish you well in your endeavours.

Warm regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

In my view the best service you going to get in Lagos. Hotel is a little tired versus the new arrivals but was ahead in terms of service. Mark the GM can solve any problem!
Hotel transfers can be added to your room bill saving the hassle of paying in cash.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Hesham,

Quality service delivery is what we believe in and stand for. We are glad you gave us a chance to express same to you. We appreciate your comments as we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

We wish you well in your endeavours.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The security staff (at the front entrance) and the restaurant staff were the best at the hotel. They were pleasant and offered good service. Room was clean and adequate. A good place to stay. It's a pity I did not have enough spare time to enjoy the spa or a good swim.

Room Tip: Best service at the restaurant and the door security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Jane,

We want to appreciate you for taking out time to comment on your recent stay with us. Your comments and your visit are of great value and we are glad we were able to meet your satisfcation.

We are committed to quality service delivery and we promise to consolidate on your previous experience.

We look forward to welcoming back to the hotel on your next visit as we make you feel at home away from home.

We wish you well in all your endeavours.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I lived in Nigeria for many years and this was my first trip back since over 2 years. My expectation in regards to the hotel were not too high and I was mentally prepared for another one of these hardship trips... I got it all wrong!

The SoutherSun Hotel is clean, friendly and well run. The restaurant food is great and I really enjoyed the pepper soup which I had been missing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Sascha,

Of course, "no wahala", thats what we are all about. To wow you and make you feel at home. We are so glad we were able to change your perspective about hotels in Lagos, and indeed Nigeria.

We are committed to quality service as we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. With respect to your comfort, nothing is too much for us to do.

We wish you well in your endeavours.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I was very nervous travelling to Nigeria alone. After 1 night in the hotel, I felt so comfortable and really started to enjoy my trip. It's clean and the people are really friendly, everything works. Free wifi :)
Food is very expensive but you get big portion. I still feel its over priced.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Lynne,

We want to appreciate you for taking out time to comment on your experience with us and we are so glad that we made your stay so comfortable.

We are commited to continued quality service as we assure you of the same experience and more, on your next visit to this part of the world.

We wish you well in your endeavours.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Ikoyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ikoyi

Address: 47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#3 Business Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ikoyi 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi LagosAddress 47 Alfred Rewane Road (Kingsway Road)Ikoyi – Lagos Nigeria.Location Southern Sun Ikoyi is strategically located in the GovernmentArea of the City. It offers the corporate business travelers an excellent accommodation and irresistible Services. The hotel is situated within a few kilometers from the Atlantic Ocean (popularly called Bar Beach), 5km from the City Centre and 30km from the International Airport.Accommodation Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi has a total of 195 rooms tastefully furnished with luxurious amenities and offers various segments of rooms to meet our clients’ needs. The Hotel rooms are categorized as follows: 86 Standard Rooms 75 Executive Rooms (One Double Bed) 22 Executive Rooms (Two Double Beds) 5 Junior Suites 4 Suites 2 Executive Suites 1 Paraplegic RoomAll the above mentioned rooms are non-smokingGuests Rooms All rooms are fitted with the followings: Air-conditioning Flat Screen 32” LCD TV DSTV and Local Channels Hitv Channels High Speed Complementary Internet Access WIFI internet connectivity IDD Telephone System in rooms Safe Deposit Boxes Electronic Door Lock Tea/Coffee Making facilities Fully Stock Mini Bar Hair Dryer Iron/Ironing Board (on request) Work Desk with LampExecutive Floors The Executive floors (8th & 9th) offer our esteemedguests exclusive services as follows: Executive Lounge Complimentary:o Continental/Buffet Breakfasto Fruit Basket on Arrivalo Bottle of Wineo Newspaperso Bathrobeso Slipperso Loffa Business & Secretarial Services Turndown ServiceFamily Children under 3 years and below stay and eat freeServices Our Hotel Services include: 24 hours effective and efficient security system 24 hours, 7 days a week room service Laundry and Dry Cleaning Services Secured Environment Free Parking Business Centre with state-of-the-art facilities Daily Secretarial Services Fitness Centre with modern equipment ATM Services on site WIFI internet connectivity throughout the Hotel High Speed Internet Access Outdoor Swimming PoolConference/MeetingOur professional Staff will assist our Corporate and Business Clients to plan their meetings/functions. Our meeting rooms are fully equipped with state-of-art-facilities.Restaurant/Bar Our Restaurants our open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and offer elegant Nigerian and Continental dishes to the delight of all guests. Restaurant Capacityo Main Restaurant - 80 Seatso Mezzanine Lounge/Bar - 20 Seats Operation Hourso Breakfast - 6.30am – 10.00amo Lunch - 12.00pm – 3.00pmo Dinner - 6.00pm – 10.00pmSports/Recreation * Swimming Pool Fitness Centre Gym Sauna/Steam RoomUseful Information The Hotel does not operate Airport Shuttle, but could assist our guests to make arrangement with a reliable Car Rentals on request. Rates are inclusive of Full Continental/Buffet Breakfast 5% VAT and 10% Service Charge.Interested Placesin Lagos Ikoyi Club – Established 1938 is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel and it offers various sporting facilities. It has about 15,000 members of high profile people in Nigeria. Muson Centre – meaning Musical Society of Nigeria. Is 10 minutes drive from the hotel and most musical concert are staged at the Centre. Bar Beach – is located 5km drive from the Hotel. This is the main beach on Victoria Island, Lagos. The Bar Beach is named historically after the sand bars on long the Lagos Coastline. Silverbird Calleria – Is situated on Victoria Island, a 10 minutes drive from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Shoprite – Is located along Lekki Expressway, is 20 minutes from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Eleko Beach – Is about 45minutes drive along the Lekki-Epe Expressway. It is one the most popular among the beaches in Lagos. It is very busy during festive and public holidays.Language *English and three (3) other major Nigerian Languages –Yoruba, Igbo and HausaCurrency Naira(Local)Credit Card Visa and Master CardsElectricity 220vTime Zone GMT-1Climate Tropical Climate all year round with temperature of 25c and 40c.Major Airlines South African Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Lufthansa, British Airways, KLM, Egypt Air, Kenya Airways, Delta Airlines, Arik Air, Turkish AirRates are Inclusive of:  Full Buffet Breakfast 10% Service charge Other Added Values are:  Wifi/Internet Service Two bottled water in Room Daily Gym, Sauna and Steam Swimming Pool Free Car Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Southern Sun Ikoyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Ikoyi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.