We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“The heart of Lagos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Ikoyi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Ikoyi to your Saves list
Southern Sun Ikoyi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Lagos
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“The heart of Lagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have stayed at Southern Sun Ikoyi 6 times over the last 5 years, and highly recommend this hotel. The team members really understand the meaning of hospitality, and always strive to make you feel welcome. The hotel is perfectly geared towards and equipped with business facilities, while still maintaining that feeling of comfort. It is a great experience, from start to finish.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Liezl,

Thanks so much for taking out time to share your experience of your recent stay with us, we are so glad we met your expectations once again.

We are committed to quality service delivery and so we intend to maintain and improve on what you experienced.

We wish you well in your endeavours

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    145
    40
    8
    9
See reviews for
12
9
34
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

So it was my dad's 60th birthday and my siblings and I were back and forth on where to hold his birthday lunch. Finally, we decided on Southern Sun and it was amaaaazzzzzing. Ubong, a lady who works there handled the entire process up until the day of the event. Lawal another staff of the hotel and his entire team were on point with everything. The buffet had a large selection of meals,the presentation,the drinks were fantastic and replenished through out the party. Some of the staff members even sang happy birthday to my dad and presented him with a cake which was super nice and unexpected.

The staff were extremely professional, helpful and very pleasant. The day could not have gone any better and there is no doubt in my mind that my dad had an amazing time(as he could not stop talking about it) and I will recommend to anyone looking for a great space to host guests.
Southern Sun Hotel is definitely the way to go.

Olo Osakioduwa

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Olo,

Shout out to your dad on his 60th birthday as we wish him many more celebrations. We want to thank you for taking out time to share your experience with us, your comments are of great value and we treasure your patronage.

We are commited to delivering quality service at all levels as we look forward to welcoming you back for any event you wish to hold with us.

We wish you well in your endeavours.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

As Lagos becomes more security conscious, safety was on my mind anyway. I was therefore pretty alarmed when someone opened my door and tried to enter at 5am. Fortunately I had placed the chain (bar) on the door, so he was unsuccessful. I went to the door and there was someone in a porter's uniform outside. I told him I didn't want anything (without opening the door) and he went away after a couple of minutes. I phoned the operator and reported the incident and about 10 minutes later the night manager called to say the porter had gone to the wrong room so "don't panic". Despite the reassurances, I wasn't able to get back to sleep.

Apart from this, the stay was not brilliant. The hotel staff are nice and willing to help if possible, but competence is sometimes lacking and the maintenance is below par to say the least. One of my colleagues had a shower that could only produce cool water and two had a very bad day after their room aircon systems had gassed them with diesel fumes overnight - presumably due to poor location of the intakes with respect to a generator set. I tried to sign for some drinks one night and was pursued to my room as putting expenses on my room account had not been approved (despite having pre-paid a deposit equivalent to all my accommodation costs. Had to return to the reception desk where, after a quick conversation, apparently it was then OK.

The fixtures and fittings are tired generally and the restaurant has limited variety if you are staying for more than a couple of nights. Once again due to the increased security awareness - the restaurant is much more used by people staying in the hotel than might otherwise be the case, so with a captive market they do not seem to put as much effort into providing a nice dining experience.

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times and there is usually something wrong (last time for example, the air conditioning system in the room kept icing up and had to be frequently turned off to recover) but I recognise that hotels that offer security and comfort for travellers are expensive and limited and the willingness and friendliness of the staff goes a long way to offsetting the quirky failings - but the 5am unscheduled wake-up call has shaken my confidence in the place and I will have to consider alternatives on my next trip.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably better (less likely to be ingesting diesel fumes)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comments pertaining to your recent stay at Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel. Security at all times remains a priority of the hotel and hence we do sincerely apologize for porter’s blatant mistake in terms trying to enter your room. Corrective measures have been put in place to prevent any further similar occurrences.

In terms of the air conditioning units, a complete preventative maintenance program remains in progress and plans are in place to update the existing air conditioning units. Quality and service delivery alongside a great staff attitude will always remain a key focus towards all our guests. Kindly be rest assured that all your comments have been viewed in a constructive manner and all necessary corrective measures will be implemented.

Thank you once again for your feedback and kindly be rest assured of our best attention at all times.

Yours sincerely

Mark Loxley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Another interesting and successful event. The 6th June 2013 was good but this was much better. Got a handshake from my client - the Vice chairman from Shanghai! This was only possible because Joyce, Lawal and your teams pulled your weights. Thank you all for making this happen for my "again". Can't wait for the next event here. But this time, I WANT A ROOM FOR 2 NIGHTS!!! Can't wait.

Thanks guys. You are awesome.

Room Tip: Go to the 8th floor!! Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Deasr Nkem,

We want to thank you for taking out time to share your experience with us, your comments are of great value and we treasure your patronage.

We are glad we were able to meet your expectations and are looking forward to seeing you again.

We assure you of continued excellent service as we wish you well in all your endeavours.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was two time during that year in Southern Sun Ikoyi and was absolutely satisfied. Great value for great money /that`s Lagos/ , the staff is very accurate and trained well , the restaurant offers amazing food,probably the best meals in the city and a beer at the bar is a must .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Deasr Rikiking,

We want to thank you for taking out time to share your experience with us, your comments are of great value and we treasure your patronage.

We are glad we were able to meet your expectations and are looking forward to seeing you again.

We assure you of continued excellent service as we wish you well in all your endeavours.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We held a large event over one week with a total of 60 people passing through the hotel. Everything went very smoothly and the hotel staff at all levels went out of their way to ensure all our requests and changes were dealt with promptly and efficiently. The buffet meals provided were good quality and lots of variety. Rooms comfortable and well equipped. Free wifi very good. Would recommend this hotel very highly. None of the hassle or frustration which you can normally expect at many 'quality' hotels in Nigeria.

Room Tip: Room 12 on each floor (eg 212 , 312 etc) faces a wall so ask for a different room on check in if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Deasr PASM64,

We want to thank you for taking out time to comment on your experience with us, your comments are of great value to us.

We are glad we were able to meet your expectations and are looking forward to seeing you again.

We assure you of continued excellent service as we wish you well in all your endeavours.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

i would not right much about it , but i d say , it should be your only choice going to lagos. very quite , very comfortable and most importantly staff is very kind and helpful. i checked out 4 hours late and charged nothing, since they knew i checked in 6 hours late.

For Muslim travelers , they have plenty of Veg-Food Choices along with sea food. i was scared going there but had a great break fast and dinners.

Room Tip: rooms on 3rd floor are very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Madelkhan81,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel, we are so glad we were able to meet your satisfaction.

We are commited to quality service delivery and we want to assure you of our commitment to exsuring that, on your every visit, there will always be something to remember.

We wish you well in your endeavours.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Ikoyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ikoyi

Address: 47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#3 Business Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ikoyi 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi LagosAddress 47 Alfred Rewane Road (Kingsway Road)Ikoyi – Lagos Nigeria.Location Southern Sun Ikoyi is strategically located in the GovernmentArea of the City. It offers the corporate business travelers an excellent accommodation and irresistible Services. The hotel is situated within a few kilometers from the Atlantic Ocean (popularly called Bar Beach), 5km from the City Centre and 30km from the International Airport.Accommodation Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi has a total of 195 rooms tastefully furnished with luxurious amenities and offers various segments of rooms to meet our clients’ needs. The Hotel rooms are categorized as follows: 86 Standard Rooms 75 Executive Rooms (One Double Bed) 22 Executive Rooms (Two Double Beds) 5 Junior Suites 4 Suites 2 Executive Suites 1 Paraplegic RoomAll the above mentioned rooms are non-smokingGuests Rooms All rooms are fitted with the followings: Air-conditioning Flat Screen 32” LCD TV DSTV and Local Channels Hitv Channels High Speed Complementary Internet Access WIFI internet connectivity IDD Telephone System in rooms Safe Deposit Boxes Electronic Door Lock Tea/Coffee Making facilities Fully Stock Mini Bar Hair Dryer Iron/Ironing Board (on request) Work Desk with LampExecutive Floors The Executive floors (8th & 9th) offer our esteemedguests exclusive services as follows: Executive Lounge Complimentary:o Continental/Buffet Breakfasto Fruit Basket on Arrivalo Bottle of Wineo Newspaperso Bathrobeso Slipperso Loffa Business & Secretarial Services Turndown ServiceFamily Children under 3 years and below stay and eat freeServices Our Hotel Services include: 24 hours effective and efficient security system 24 hours, 7 days a week room service Laundry and Dry Cleaning Services Secured Environment Free Parking Business Centre with state-of-the-art facilities Daily Secretarial Services Fitness Centre with modern equipment ATM Services on site WIFI internet connectivity throughout the Hotel High Speed Internet Access Outdoor Swimming PoolConference/MeetingOur professional Staff will assist our Corporate and Business Clients to plan their meetings/functions. Our meeting rooms are fully equipped with state-of-art-facilities.Restaurant/Bar Our Restaurants our open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and offer elegant Nigerian and Continental dishes to the delight of all guests. Restaurant Capacityo Main Restaurant - 80 Seatso Mezzanine Lounge/Bar - 20 Seats Operation Hourso Breakfast - 6.30am – 10.00amo Lunch - 12.00pm – 3.00pmo Dinner - 6.00pm – 10.00pmSports/Recreation * Swimming Pool Fitness Centre Gym Sauna/Steam RoomUseful Information The Hotel does not operate Airport Shuttle, but could assist our guests to make arrangement with a reliable Car Rentals on request. Rates are inclusive of Full Continental/Buffet Breakfast 5% VAT and 10% Service Charge.Interested Placesin Lagos Ikoyi Club – Established 1938 is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel and it offers various sporting facilities. It has about 15,000 members of high profile people in Nigeria. Muson Centre – meaning Musical Society of Nigeria. Is 10 minutes drive from the hotel and most musical concert are staged at the Centre. Bar Beach – is located 5km drive from the Hotel. This is the main beach on Victoria Island, Lagos. The Bar Beach is named historically after the sand bars on long the Lagos Coastline. Silverbird Calleria – Is situated on Victoria Island, a 10 minutes drive from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Shoprite – Is located along Lekki Expressway, is 20 minutes from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Eleko Beach – Is about 45minutes drive along the Lekki-Epe Expressway. It is one the most popular among the beaches in Lagos. It is very busy during festive and public holidays.Language *English and three (3) other major Nigerian Languages –Yoruba, Igbo and HausaCurrency Naira(Local)Credit Card Visa and Master CardsElectricity 220vTime Zone GMT-1Climate Tropical Climate all year round with temperature of 25c and 40c.Major Airlines South African Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Lufthansa, British Airways, KLM, Egypt Air, Kenya Airways, Delta Airlines, Arik Air, Turkish AirRates are Inclusive of:  Full Buffet Breakfast 10% Service charge Other Added Values are:  Wifi/Internet Service Two bottled water in Room Daily Gym, Sauna and Steam Swimming Pool Free Car Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Southern Sun Ikoyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Ikoyi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.