We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Southern Sun Lagos - Does it in Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Ikoyi

Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Ikoyi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Ikoyi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$404 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 71 hotels in Lagos
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
“Southern Sun Lagos - Does it in Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having been in Nigeria for nearly two months and having stayed at many hotels and other forms of accommodation, this hotel was not only a breathe of fresh air, but also brings 1st class and 1st word standards to West Africa. From the decor, to the staff, the executive rooms and facilities, there is a golden thread that runs through everything, bringing continuity and style to the table, and you are never left wanting or disappointed. The General Manager, Mark Loxley is certainly no different. He adds that extra touch of personal attention to his guests and to every detail. Being in the Travel Industry, pleasing me is certainly no easy task, yet I was not only pleased, but utterly delighted. I will certainly not only be staying here every time I am in Lagos, but will advise all my clients that when it comes to accommodation in Lagos, there is no other than The Southern Sun Ikoyi. Thank you southern Sun for the most pleasurable stay, bar none. Thank you to the friendly staff, the culinary delights and to each and every person responsible for creating the most superb service and atmosphere that will absolutely be sorely missed by me, and everybody who has ever stayed here. Keep up the GREAT work guys, I will eagerly anticipate my return.

Lauren Lloyd-Lister

Room Tip: I stayed in both the standard and the executive rooms. The price difference is negligible, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Lauren,

We want to appreciate you for your comments and your recommendations, we are glad we could meet your expectations. It was a previledge having you stay with us.

We are committed to excellent service delivery and committed to sustaining this standard.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

We wish you well.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    128
    35
    7
    8
See reviews for
10
6
28
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Southern Sun Ikoyi invested what for me I consider the single most important asset in the service industry - Customer Service.
All member of staff are extremely kind and warm and will always be the first to greet you. If you have the time, they will even find out how your day is coming so far.

The breakfast (complimentary) is great and you have a wide range of dishes to choose them.
I have had dinner a couple of time and I can say that I was not disappointed. I am yet to try their giant shrimps (I heard they are delicious) though, but when I do, I will sure do write about my experience.

With the very frequent power outages in Nigeria, SS-Ikoyi have a working a generator and essential services (internet in my case) are never affected by these.

From a location point of view, it serves my purpose as a telecom consultant. I can easily access all the major telecom operators I am doing business with.

Lastly, the hotel staff will go out of their to help with minor details - batteries, chargers...etc.....In fact one day, they got me a spare mobile phone when mine stopped working!

Overall, I would give them 4.7/5, 5 if they had a complimentary airport-hotel transfer.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the car park if you can.....The view is much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Dedan,

It was a previledge to have you experience our warm and friendly hospitality as we are glad that we met your expectations.

However, we hope to improve on the grade you gave and as such we are commited to sustaining this quality of service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

We wish you well.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I recently stayed at the Ikoyi for a period of 2 weeks. I found everything to be of extremely high standard and quality.

Check in was quick and easy, although it took a few minutes since there were patrons before me and it was late.

The room was very comfortable, neat and clean.

All the staff were friendly, polite and accommodating from reception, to house cleaning, room service and gym trainers

The meals were good, and the buffet breakfast offered a good range to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Udersh,

Thank you for making Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel your choiced hotel, we are previledged to have you.

We value your comments and patronage and are committed to sustaining and customizing our services to meet your requirement.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in your future visit.

We wish you well.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kano
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have stayed at Southern Sun Ikoyi numerous times in the last few years, on business trips to Lagos. It has a super location on the Island (Ikoyi), staff quite professional and always courteous. It has struck me that the hotel has consistently given me a very good standard of service. The rooms are well appointed and clean. Bathrooms modern and functional. (Many times the rooms I have stayed in have had no baths in the bathroom, but with roomy power shower cubicles). View from rooms not so great, as hotel is smack in the middle of a busy/bustling area. Rooms are quiet though, as hotel is well set back from the roads, no noise from outside.

Their check-in processes are quite swift and at the check-in counter you always get someone standing by you offering a tray with a nice glass of fruit punch. Almost every time that I have checked in I have found a small bottle of red wine, and sometimes chocolates waiting for me in the room. On my last stay (15-17th): wine, chocolates and a lovely gift pack of toiletries from the manager.

Breakfast is a wide array to suit the most discerning tastes. The gym is a reasonable size and once or twice when it was not busy, the gym manager has given me useful tips for aerobic and stretching exercises, and demonstrated some of them; nice of him. The hotel offers free wifi internet access for guests.

The pool is rather small, but I don't mind as it is hardly ever busy (probably because most guests are on busy business trips to Lagos). The pool is on the ground floor right next to the restaurant (which has glass, curtained walls on that side) so the pool feels only semi-private. The pool can also be accessed from the gym upstairs via a side stairway.

Good security, a security man is stationed on each floor. Hotel has plenty of parking space. All in all, the Southern Sun Ikoyi is a very good hotel bordering on excellent. It definitely has excellent customer service.

It is a prime choice hotel on the island. (I notice new hotels springing up particularly around the Lekki area... so Southern Sun may be facing stiff competition soon).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Ibarisma,

Having you here was a previledge and more so knowing that we were able to meet your expectations.

We are committed to quality service and not only that, we customize our services to meet the needs of our esteemed guest such as you.

We value your comments and patronage and we are committed to sustaining and indeed, improving on this experince.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back here.

We wish you well.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I had a business meeting in the hotel on 28 Sep 12 at the breakfast room and forgot a very valuable folder on the chair. I was worried thinking I had lost it. The next day I went to the hotel to check if it was found by anyone.....staff or guest. All the staff I asked were helpful especially the duty manager Mr Samuel who got the folder and handed it back to me after verification. I couldn't believe it. This is an indication of the quality of staff and services in the Southern Sun Hotel.

I commend the management and staff of the hotel. Keep your friendly, helpful and honest attitude up. You have become my hotel of choice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Chijioke,

We want to appreciate your choice of making our hotel your prefered destination. We are commited to maintaining this quality that you have experienced and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

We are glad you were able to retrieve your valued document.

We wish you well in your endeavours.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was truly a lovely experience. Friendly staff, good food, excellent rooms, modern gym!!! Enjoyed every minute of my stay. Location is vey convenient and service is outstanding. I have stayed in many hotels in Lagos and there is no comparison to the Southern Sun. Will never stay in another hotel and looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Karin,

Thank you for you comments on your recent stay with us, it was a previledge having you here. We are glad that your expectations were met in every area of hospitality and service delivery.

We are committed to maintaining this standard and strive to exceed your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

We wish you well.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have been to quite a few hotels around the world, but the Southern Sun Ikoyi clearly stands out in hospitality. For one, the food is simply brillant, Chef Alex Mwaura and his team can do no wrong. The staff are always courteous and friendly, rooms are always clean and the hotel is generally well-maintained. Response time from house-keeping is also very prompt. No wonder David Cameron stayed at the Southern Sun Ikoyi. Please keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssih, Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Nosa,

Thank you so much for choosing Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel as your choiced hotel in your recent visit to Lagos Nigeria and we are so previledged to have you. More so, we are glad that your enjoyed every bit of your stay and of course, the comments you made on our food.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back and we are commited to sustaining this quality for your pleasure.

We wish you well in your endeavours.

Best regards
Udeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern Sun Ikoyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ikoyi

Address: 47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lagos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ikoyi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi LagosAddress 47 Alfred Rewane Road (Kingsway Road)Ikoyi – Lagos Nigeria.Location Southern Sun Ikoyi is strategically located in the GovernmentArea of the City. It offers the corporate business travelers an excellent accommodation and irresistible Services. The hotel is situated within a few kilometers from the Atlantic Ocean (popularly called Bar Beach), 5km from the City Centre and 30km from the International Airport.Accommodation Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi has a total of 195 rooms tastefully furnished with luxurious amenities and offers various segments of rooms to meet our clients’ needs. The Hotel rooms are categorized as follows: 86 Standard Rooms 75 Executive Rooms (One Double Bed) 22 Executive Rooms (Two Double Beds) 5 Junior Suites 4 Suites 2 Executive Suites 1 Paraplegic RoomAll the above mentioned rooms are non-smokingGuests Rooms All rooms are fitted with the followings: Air-conditioning Flat Screen 32” LCD TV DSTV and Local Channels Hitv Channels High Speed Complementary Internet Access WIFI internet connectivity IDD Telephone System in rooms Safe Deposit Boxes Electronic Door Lock Tea/Coffee Making facilities Fully Stock Mini Bar Hair Dryer Iron/Ironing Board (on request) Work Desk with LampExecutive Floors The Executive floors (8th & 9th) offer our esteemedguests exclusive services as follows: Executive Lounge Complimentary:o Continental/Buffet Breakfasto Fruit Basket on Arrivalo Bottle of Wineo Newspaperso Bathrobeso Slipperso Loffa Business & Secretarial Services Turndown ServiceFamily Children under 3 years and below stay and eat freeServices Our Hotel Services include: 24 hours effective and efficient security system 24 hours, 7 days a week room service Laundry and Dry Cleaning Services Secured Environment Free Parking Business Centre with state-of-the-art facilities Daily Secretarial Services Fitness Centre with modern equipment ATM Services on site WIFI internet connectivity throughout the Hotel High Speed Internet Access Outdoor Swimming PoolConference/MeetingOur professional Staff will assist our Corporate and Business Clients to plan their meetings/functions. Our meeting rooms are fully equipped with state-of-art-facilities.Restaurant/Bar Our Restaurants our open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and offer elegant Nigerian and Continental dishes to the delight of all guests. Restaurant Capacityo Main Restaurant - 80 Seatso Mezzanine Lounge/Bar - 20 Seats Operation Hourso Breakfast - 6.30am – 10.00amo Lunch - 12.00pm – 3.00pmo Dinner - 6.00pm – 10.00pmSports/Recreation * Swimming Pool Fitness Centre Gym Sauna/Steam RoomUseful Information The Hotel does not operate Airport Shuttle, but could assist our guests to make arrangement with a reliable Car Rentals on request. Rates are inclusive of Full Continental/Buffet Breakfast 5% VAT and 10% Service Charge.Interested Placesin Lagos Ikoyi Club – Established 1938 is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel and it offers various sporting facilities. It has about 15,000 members of high profile people in Nigeria. Muson Centre – meaning Musical Society of Nigeria. Is 10 minutes drive from the hotel and most musical concert are staged at the Centre. Bar Beach – is located 5km drive from the Hotel. This is the main beach on Victoria Island, Lagos. The Bar Beach is named historically after the sand bars on long the Lagos Coastline. Silverbird Calleria – Is situated on Victoria Island, a 10 minutes drive from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Shoprite – Is located along Lekki Expressway, is 20 minutes from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Eleko Beach – Is about 45minutes drive along the Lekki-Epe Expressway. It is one the most popular among the beaches in Lagos. It is very busy during festive and public holidays.Language *English and three (3) other major Nigerian Languages –Yoruba, Igbo and HausaCurrency Naira(Local)Credit Card Visa and Master CardsElectricity 220vTime Zone GMT-1Climate Tropical Climate all year round with temperature of 25c and 40c.Major Airlines South African Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Lufthansa, British Airways, KLM, Egypt Air, Kenya Airways, Delta Airlines, Arik Air, Turkish AirRates are Inclusive of:  Full Buffet Breakfast 10% Service charge Other Added Values are:  Wifi/Internet Service Two bottled water in Room Daily Gym, Sauna and Steam Swimming Pool Free Car Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Jovago.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Southern Sun Ikoyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Ikoyi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.