We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Federal Palace Hotel...Home away from away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Federal Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Federal Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The Federal Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 8 Ahmadu Bello Way, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 118 Hotels in Lagos
1 review
“Federal Palace Hotel...Home away from away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Form point of arrival, my 2 nights stay at Federal Palace...it was a relaxing experiencing.
Despite that it was a business trip, I was so relaxed as the environment gave the right ambience. From the receptionist at arrival and the waiters that attended to me...I was totally Impressed at their politeness.

FPH comes highly recommended by me for any traveler or tourist.

G.A

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    75
    30
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
11
8
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

So, with a mixture of regret and relief, I bid farewell to the Federal Palace. I've spent maybe 20 or 30 nights here over the past few years, but after my most recent trip, I'm calling time now. On the regret side, the staff are friendly and cheerful. They've been consistently the positive side of the property. The relief is that I won't have to face the very sub-standard evening buffet again, the run-down exterior and public areas, the super-noisy aircon in the rooms, and I won't have to wonder why the owners don't swing the priority pendulum just a bit back from the casino where it lies, to the hotel, where it's needed. Net - competition's now strong and present, but in my view the Federal Palace, very sadly, is neither.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

They cut out the water with no warning what so ever. Want me to take a bath with a bucket of water. They call them self a 5star hotel and this is what you get after paying a fortune to stay here. Food takes forever to serve and once it arrives the food is cold. Really a bad experience and they should drop there star rating to a 3 star...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently held the first India Education Fair at FPH and our overall experience at FPH was satisfying and we would recommend others to use the venue for their business meetings/seminars. The staff were very cordial and the food served was excellent.---Vijay Kumar, STPL Nigeria

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Federal Palace and held our business reviews in their conference facilitates.

Rooms are spacious and clean. Bathrooms need a bit if attention to upgrade things a little.

Reception and communal areas are nice wide open spaces, something that's nice to have when you are in Lagos for a few days, with the grass in the front, that leads to the water (harbour entrance), making you feel like you are not in this exceptionally built up city.

Food has been enjoyable.

The conference area is well situated and while our room has no windows and is a little stuffy as a result, we have been comfortable and happy.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

From the day we set out to hold my niece's wedding reception at FPH, we were amazed at the helpfulness of FPH staff... nothing was too much for them to accommodate for us.
They worked tirelessly to ensure we got everything we asked for. The food was superb, beautifully laid out and hot! The waiters and waitresses immaculately turned out and they served us to the very end (and the reception, which started at 1.30pm went on till 11pm)! The marquee was spotless and nice and cool! I really cannot rate it any higher in my mind or in this review. FPH, you did us proud, thank you so much.
For ANYONE who wants a small, intimate, wedding in Lagos, in a lovely setting, with good food and good service AND chilled champagne, FPH is the place I'd strongly recommend!
I can also recommend the pool area... Superb!!!

Room Tip: Unfortunately, I didn't get to sleep in the honeymoon suit ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Mr WorldtravellerJ

Thank you for posting a review of the Federal Palace Hotel & casino following your recent stay.

We were delighted to read that found the hotel and the facilities on offer to your liking. There are power points located next to the bed which power the bedside table lamps. We would be happy to provide adaptor plugs should you require power for additional devices.

Your comment regarding the “lady friends” is noted. I would like to assure you that we have an excellent surveillance departments and that the “friends” are closely monitored as any solicitation is totally unacceptable to us.

Thank you for your recommendation, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel & Casino when next you are visiting Lagos.

Kind regards

David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was a bit worried when I was told that I will be staying in this hotel. This was because I usually see the tall run down building from the outside. But I was suprised to see a new hotel building within the compound when I arrived. I spent 5 days in the Hotel during an exhibition within the hotel and I must say it is definately one of the top 5 hotels in Lagos. The room was clean, well decorated and spacious. The Pool and garden area is awesome and can get quite busy in the weekend as it's a popular attaction for children. The negative things about the hotel is that it only has one restaurant which I think is inadequate for such a big hotel, also the one or two 'lady friends' who came be found hanging out in thee bar on weekday nights and the lack of power sockets next to the bed(All the sockets in my room were around the Tv and and working table). There are also a variety of shops and restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

I will highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Victoria Island.

Room Tip: All rooms are non smoking, ask for a room close to the elevator if you need to smoke as there is a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Mr WorldtravellerJ

Thank you for posting a review of the Federal Palace Hotel & Casino following your recent stay.

We were delighted to read that found the hotel and the facilities on offer to your liking. There are power points located next to the bed which power the bedside table lamps. We would be happy to provide adaptor plugs should you require power for additional devices.

Your comment regarding the “lady friends” is noted. I would like to assure you that we have an excellent surveillance departments and that the “friends” are closely monitored as any solicitation is totally unacceptable to us.

Thank you for your recommendation, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel & Casino when next you are visiting Lagos.

Kind regards

David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.0 mi away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 118 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
2.1 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#4 of 118 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#25 of 118 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Avenue Suites
The Avenue Suites
#15 of 118 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Victoria Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Federal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Federal Palace Hotel

Address: 6 - 8 Ahmadu Bello Way, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 118 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Federal Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the commercial hub of Lagos, Nigeria’s Federal Palace Hotel is tailored to international corporate standards. Conduct a boardroom meeting within the walls that witnessed the signing of Nigeria’s Independence Declaration or manage your daily business affairs in the convenience of one of the eight boardrooms. The Federal Palace Hotel caters for corporate travellers who value consistency in excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Federal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Federal Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.