We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Best in Lagos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Federal Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Federal Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The Federal Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 8 Ahmadu Bello Way, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Lagos
copenhagen
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best in Lagos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Lovely, relaxing hotel in a city which is challenging. Reception staff helpful, room large and clean. Pool lovely and refreshing.

That said, the food and drink were alarmingly expensive. Very good breakfast

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Fabphil

Thank you for recently posting a review of the Federal Palace Hotel following your stay with us.

We are pleased that you found the hotel clean and that you enjoyed the facilities on offer, particularly the swimming pool and the breakfast. The pool and the tennis courts certainly provide relief from the hustle and bustle of Lagos.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel when next you are visiting Lagos.

Yours sincerely
David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    71
    25
    3
    8
See reviews for
10
11
8
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Gorgeous Hotel. Resort Style. Loved the olympic size pool Perfect water day and night. Cool water slides. Mini golf. Great sea view . Tennis courts. Gym is small but has everything you need. Food on expensive side. Room service pricier than eating in restaurant.
$U.S.15 for a small cocktail! wow. Wasn't expecting it to be expensive in Nigeria. . Gorgeous green gardens with peacocks milling about. Breakfast buffet is worth getting up for. Never got sick once here. Had to stay here for many days on a business trip. Staff is very accommodating and friendly. Area outside hotel is not much to see. Very busy crowded and dirty. There is a mall with cinema walking distance from hotel. Went to a Chinese restaurant 5 mins from the hotel - excellent food. Free fast wifi mostly everywhere. Would def recommend this hotel. Nice comfy bed! Electricity shuts off now and then but nothing major. Sometimes the shower sprouts brown rusty water! No spa/salon in here.

Room Tip: Room with pool or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Calvares04
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of the Federal Palace following your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed all the facilities on offer within the hotel and grounds, especially our peacocks. As a business hotel, we understand the importance of fast reliable internet and a quality night’s sleep in in a good bed.
Once you leave the hotel property, you are truly in the heart of Victoria Island and the hustle and bustle of a busy city.
Yours sincerely
David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel is clean, the service is good, dining facilities are more than adequate and it's good for both business travellers as well as those on holiday. You tend to get quite a few cabin crew using this hotel as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Spanner75

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of the Federal Palace Hotel following your recent stay. We are pleased that you had a memorable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back when next you are in Lagos.

Yours sincerely
David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I had a really nice stay at the Federal Palace. Was in Lagos for work and spent a few days here. The staff were extremely courteous, friendly and were very helpful. The grounds are nice to take a (short) stroll, with some lovely views over towards Lagos Island. Breakfast was great, with a nice range of choices , and the room was ideal - a really comfy bed! It is expensive, but then everything seems to be expensive here. Internet was fast and reliable too.

I could have happily stayed here longer and will definitely be staying here next time I come to Lagos.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Psychic_Mike
T
hank you for your review of the Federal Palace Hotel following your recent visit.

Your statement “will be definitely staying here again next time I come to Lagos” is rich reward for us, thank you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel.

Yours sincerely
David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stay at the Federal Palace every time I come to Lagos given the proximity to our office. With every stay, things get better. The latest addition of the tray of 'welcome cakes' in your room on arrival is a great touch! Keep that up! And a stocked mini-bar is also a welcome addition. I have also noticed that they have taken the comments of airconditioning into account - it was too cold at one stage and this is much better now. It's in a great location overlooking the water. The one suggestion that I would make that would improve the experience is the fluctuating water tempreture in the showers. The showers go from hot to cold to hot to cold so you have to keep hopping in and out under the water. Would be great if this could be fixed. But overall, a good experience, with great and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Water facing / front of hotel has nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Cadillac555
Thank you for your review of the Federal Palace Hotel & Casino. It is rewarding and encouraging for us that you continue to find improvements in our service on each stay, particularly as a frequent and loyal guest.
We hope to have the intermittent problem with the fluctuating water temperature sorted out once and for all shortly. We have two beautiful new hot water pressure tanks in the port as we speak.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel and Casino when next you are visiting Lagos.
Kind regards

David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Although all the hotels in Lagos are expensive, the Federal Palace comes closest to giving you what you pay for. Easy check-in, good service, great breakfast. Rooms are nice too and it is very well situated.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear T-Africa2000
Thank you for your review of the Federal Palace Hotel and Casino. We are pleased that you found the standard service and the facilities on offer to be good and also to be value for money, and are grateful for your rating as “one of the best”. Please enquire about our Best Available Rate (BAR) when next you make a booking.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel and Casino when next you visit Lagos.
Kind regards

David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tema, Ghana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I loved my stay at Federal palace. The internet was fast, the atmosphere was very collegial, and the breakfast was amazing! Get to meet the food and beverage manager. Great guy! Oh and the Casino is a must indulge!! Overall great service. Highly recommend it to anyone visiting Victoria Island! It's a true gem!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Opohu_p

Thank you for your review of the Federal Palace Hotel and Casino. As a businessman’s hotel we understand the need for fast, stable internet connectivity and the importance of a good breakfast. We are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and the service. We are also very proud of our casino, having won the Travellers Award for the “Best Casino” in Nigeria in 2013. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel & Casino.

Kind regards

David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Federal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Federal Palace Hotel

Address: 6 - 8 Ahmadu Bello Way, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Federal Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the commercial hub of Lagos, Nigeria’s Federal Palace Hotel is tailored to international corporate standards. Conduct a boardroom meeting within the walls that witnessed the signing of Nigeria’s Independence Declaration or manage your daily business affairs in the convenience of one of the eight boardrooms. The Federal Palace Hotel caters for corporate travellers who value consistency in excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Federal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Federal Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.