We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Comfortable hotel, poor food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Federal Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Federal Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Federal Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 8 Ahmadu Bello Way, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 71 hotels in Lagos
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable hotel, poor food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed for two days as a business traveller. Hotel is modern with comfortable rooms. Good responsive staff. Breakfast is okay, nothing great. Dinner buffet is bad, avoid it and order something from the a la carte or eat outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mr Coolseenu
Thank you for your review of the Federal Palace Hotel following your recent stay.
We were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy our popular Businessman’s Dinner served in Ancestors Bar. The items on offer include a number of traditional Nigerian dishes, which my not suit all palettes. We do hope that you enjoyed your meal from our a la carte menu. In addition we also have a lovely a la carte menu available in the Casino and on the Terrace, which I would encourage you to try.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel when next you are in Lagos.
Kind regards
David Kliegl
General Manager Nigeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    59
    25
    2
    8
See reviews for
10
8
8
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Travelled for business to Lagos and stayed at the Federal Palace for the first time. I have stayed in another Hotel in Lagos but was really blown away by the friendly staff and hands on management to ensure that my stay is pleasant. I would definately recommend it for a change of scenery and superb customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Ronell V
Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay. We are delighted with your recommendation to stay at the Federal Palace Hotel for superb customer service and hands on management.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal palace on your next visit to Lagos.
Kind regards
David Kliegl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

First class hotel. Really enjoyed my stay there.
They put on an amazing breakfast and the dining facilities are excellent.
Most amazing setting with outstanding views.
Good gym facilities.
Fantastic pool area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Anton C, thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Federal Palace Hotel. We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed all the dining facilities, especially our breakfast. It is important to us that you get a good start to the day and that your time in Lagos is productive…this always starts with a hearty breakfast and ends with a good swim or gym session. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace. Kind regards David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

A rare find in lagos. Generous rooms, fantastic gardens, and extremely friendly staff. And for a change, unlike most business hotels, this one is not crawling with prostitutes. So you can actually order a coffee in the reception and you have not hot on a 'working girl' by accident.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear HenningRasmuss, thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Federal Palace Hotel. We understand the needs of a commercial hotel, including fast free WiFi, and the stature of our business guests. We operate one of the most sophisticated digital surveillance systems to be found in Lagos to safeguard our guests, including preventing harassment from prostitutes. We are pleased to say our results in this regard, having a hooker free environment, are greatly appreciated and enjoyed by our discerning guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel & Casino soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Best breakfast in Lagos! We had a great trip... spacious lobby, rooms and best pool in Nigeria. Friendly service, not over the top. Great location on Victoria Island. Would definitely suggest for a visit to Lagos.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Skytrack111, thank you for your accolade on Tripadvisor following your recent sojourn at the Federal Palace Hotel! The swimming pool, tennis courts and lovely garden surrounds have proven to be extremely popular with our guests and a facility which other hotels on Victoria Island are not able to replicate. We look forward to seeing you back at the Federal Palace Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very good service from all very friendly staff. Rooms excellent, food very good!!!
We had a special meal request for the entire week of our stay, the kitchen staff, room service and hotel management pulled out all the stops to cater to our every needs!!!
Well done, I will definitely stay here during my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear MoutieA, thank you for taking time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Federal Palace Hotel. We love to be able to accommodate special dietary requests, which at times can be quite tricky, and are delighted that our service delivery in this regard met you every need. We too look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

On a recent visit to Lagos, Nigeria I stayed at the Federal Palace Hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable and clean and well equipped. The bathroom was spacious and not lacking. The staff were friendly and genuinely eager to make the stay as memorable as possible.

The most notable part of my stay was breakfast! I am used to being a bit disappointed in breakfasts while travelling and I can honesty say that I have never had such a comprehensive and spectacular breakfast.

Finally the peripheral facilities were awesome with a large swimming pool and bar, tennis courts and and action golf course. I would most definitely stay here again.

Definitely the standards we have come to expect from Sun International.

Room Tip: The one side of the building has a nice view of the harbour. Try to stay above the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Steven H, thank you for your review of the Federal Palace Hotel. A good breakfast makes a great start to any day; we are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast spread. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Federal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Federal Palace Hotel

Address: 6 - 8 Ahmadu Bello Way, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Federal Palace Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the commercial hub of Lagos, Nigeria’s Federal Palace Hotel is tailored to international corporate standards. Conduct a boardroom meeting within the walls that witnessed the signing of Nigeria’s Independence Declaration or manage your daily business affairs in the convenience of one of the eight boardrooms. The Federal Palace Hotel caters for corporate travellers who value consistency in excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Federal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Federal Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.