We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Safe option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Federal Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Federal Palace Hotel to your Saves list
The Federal Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 8 Ahmadu Bello Way, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Lagos
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Safe option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Safe option in Lagos for business travel. The rooms are spacious, waterfront views, great garden and pool, very helpful and expedient staff. Got a very late checkout which was great. More or less unlimited water in the room makes for additional comfort. To improve: gym area and food. The Nigerian dishes are good; others taste a bit off, I suspect an ingredients issue. Dining room can use some warmth, especially the breakfast buffet tables in the middle of the room don't help. I was missing a mini bar in the room and some other 5 star comforts. Probably needs to stretch a little further to deserve full 5 stars, but for a week's business travel, this hotel is an excellent option in Lagos.

Room Tip: Waterside rooms for great harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Micha_Roch, thank you for review. Whenever possible, we gladly extend the courtesy of a complimentary late departure to our guests. Your comments regarding the ambience of the Restaurant are valid. We are currently in the process of creating more of a fine dining experience by separating the a la carte and buffet area into two separate restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    65
    25
    3
    8
See reviews for
10
9
8
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great hotel, great staff.

Some suggestions to help. Add a sauna or steam room to the GYM area. Invest in IPTV system to make DStv at lot clearer in the rooms. Add an HD PVR especially to the Bar area or add in a dedicated sports bar. Have some smoking rooms (just a few)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Mark, thank you for your review titled Great Hotel, Great Staff…this accolade makes our day! Your comments regarding the DSTV improvements are noted. We are in the process of upgrading the suite TV system to include individual PVR HD decoders for increased channel selection and viewing comfort. Your point about including it in the bar area is a good one and noted.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace in the near future.
Kind regards,David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for the first time recently for a few days whilst on business. Check-in / check out was smooth and my room was very pleasant, well- appointed and maintained. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant were both excellent ( the food aspect of room service less so)

The decoration and ambience in the public areas is very good, too, with plenty of carefully planned seating enabling business and pleasure to be conducted non intrusively.

I found that without exception the staff were friendly and courteous and all of my needs were attended to in a prompt and efficient manner.

The highlight of the stay for me however were the gardens at the rear. Here some lovely planting has been landscaped around the outdoor gym and tennis court area. The wide expanse of lawn punctuated by a number oftall trees affords a very pleasant view of the cargo ships entering and leaving the port, a pleasure that I enjoyed from the terrace and which I share with a previous reviewer.

I suggest that some thought is given to exploiting the gardens still further by continuing the landscaping to include the area around the restaurant terrace, and to the boundary wall as this, at present, is a little unpreprocessing.

I look forward to my next visit to the Federal Palace and enjoying the oasis of calm that it provides within an extremely frenetic city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Gina

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay.

We are delighted that you found the hotel to your liking and particularly pleased that you enjoyed the gardens.

We have a wonderful location on the side of the Atlantic Ocean and have gone to great effort to cultivate the gardens, and our efforts will be on going.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our friendly oasis in the near future.

Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I have been using this Hotel since it opened. Service is good and attentive and Management take an active interest in the welfare of guests. Rooms are good with all the amenities you would expect from a top rated hotel. Breakfasts are very good and provide you with a great start to the day. Lovely and spacious

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Alan

Thank you for posting your review of the Federal palace Hotel and Casino following your recent stay.

It is always a pleasure to receive kind words from our guests who have had a long relationship with the Hotel, as in your case, and continue to enjoy all that we have on offer.

I look forward to welcoming you and your team back to the Federal palace in the near future.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel maybe 15 times in the last 3 years and always look forward to coming back. The staff and management are, without exception, warm, friendly and attentive, welcoming me back each time as though I have come home! The hotel is far more spacious than many hotels in Lagos and the large lobby area is ideal for informal meetings, enhanced by the sense of calm around the place. The location is ideal for the VI business district. Breakfast, in particular, is good with a wide range of food and the service on the bar and terrace has improved considerably recently. I find there is nothing more relaxing in Lagos than sitting on the bar terrace in the evening watching the cargo ships go by...
Rooms are good with very comfortable beds. I could give 5 stars if perhaps the bathrooms were upgraded with a walk-in shower as many of the newer hotels have.
If you have some downtime, there is also a fantastic pool club which exceeds anything else you will find in a Lagos hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Catherine

Thank you for your review of the Federal Palace Hotel & Casino following your recent stay.

We are especially pleased that you have found the service on the Terrace and in Ancestors Bar considerably improved. We have recently introduced new food concepts into both which have been extremely well received.

Your comment regarding a walk in shower is a good point and noted.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel & Casino in the near future.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel should be better frankly but seems to lacks strong management, despite being managed by the Sun International hotel group. Renovated and re-opened a few years ago, the rooms are already looking tired. Food is average at best and pretty awful at times. Room service one night took about 50 minutes.
Like all hotels in Lagos, it is significantly over-priced but seems to get a lot of South African business, perhaos because of the brand.
I suspect that there is too much concentration/focus on the Casino - you certainly don't see active hands-on management in the hotel. Service standards were very mixed - pretty good at the over-priced bar but awful at check-in.
Reasonably convenient for the business districts on Victoria Island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Gary
Thank you for your review posted following your recent visit.
We apologise for the disappointing stay during your recent conference and for the breakdown in the services which we provide.
We make every effort to ensure that service is rendered in a professional manner. The Hotel is manned by divisional managers at all times, including members of the Executive who perform duty management every evening.
We have investigated as to why your check in experience would have been “awful” and believe that the fault lies with a third party.
Please accept our apologies for the long delay in the delivery of your room service order.
I would love to discuss the other issues which you have raised with you, please let me know when next you are staying.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal Palace Hotel & Casino in the near future.
Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here recently on a short business trip to Lagos. The hotel is well located for the Victoria Island business district with easy access to most major corporate HQs. Also excellent proximity to Lagos nightlife, restaurants etc . Impressively decorated lobby area and a rather nice bar and lagoon front terrace. Which makes the tiny, rather average rooms a bit of a disappointment. Service is extremely slow- it took ages to check in, I waited 45mins and 1 hour respectively for room service and over 40 mins for an adapter to be brought up to my room. On one occasion the kitchen called me after having waited over 30 mins to tell me what I had ordered wasn't available! Bathrooms could be cleaner and more luxurious for the price. Tiles need regrouting and hardware is almost retro. Breakfast was a decent buffet with good tasty choices and bar food was quick and ok. All in all an ok experience. Better than most in Lagos but that's not saying much. Expect Days Inn quality at Mandarin Oriental prices....

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lagoon side but high enough to not hear the constant hum of the generator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Jane E

Thank you for completing a review following your recent stay.

We were most perturbed to read of your poor room service experience and the slow check in. We were able to trace one of the room service problems which you mentioned and regrettable we had encountered a service delivery problem at the time of your order. Please accept my apologies for this.

Thank you for your positive comments about the other food and beverage offerings, we are particularly pleased with our new evening food offering in the Ancestors Bar which has become extremely popular and has received many accolades.

Please enquire about our Best Available Rate when making your booking. You will be pleasantly surprised by the rates on offer, especially if you make your booking is far in advance as possible.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the federal Palace Hotel & casino in the near future. Please let me know when you are here.

Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Federal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Federal Palace Hotel

Address: 6 - 8 Ahmadu Bello Way, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Federal Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the commercial hub of Lagos, Nigeria’s Federal Palace Hotel is tailored to international corporate standards. Conduct a boardroom meeting within the walls that witnessed the signing of Nigeria’s Independence Declaration or manage your daily business affairs in the convenience of one of the eight boardrooms. The Federal Palace Hotel caters for corporate travellers who value consistency in excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Federal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Federal Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.