We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Excellent location for the International Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welcome Centre Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Welcome Centre Hotels to your Saves list
Welcome Centre Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 International Airport Road | Ikeja, Lagos PMB 4147, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Lagos
Hereford UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Excellent location for the International Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

This hotel is perfectly positioned for access to the International Airport although, as it is on a dual carriageway access to it from the International Airport would not be so easy.
I stayed in Room 216 and this was clean and presentable, but not as large as I would have expected.
It is a NON SMOKING hotel. Note if you smoke then you will have to do so in the car park. But as a non smoker I found the lack of 'smokers smell' in the bed room a nice surprise.
Reception was in a large atrium the height of the hotel and lifts work well.
There is a flat screen TV in the room, with Nigerian and South African TV chanels, and International news channels.
Electricity was constant, and backup generators started promptly once there were power cuts.
There is a shower in the room with high pressure water and no bath. The shower room was clean and tidy.
Bedsheet linen was immaculate and rooms are airconditioned, but you can hear some airport noise, despite the windows being closed.
I asked for a morning call and was impressed to receive this at exactly the time requested.
The hotel is accessed via double security gates and reception is secured internally with a steel grill. All in all I got the impression that security is taken seriously here.
The pool area and volleyball court is attractive and clean, and I used the hotel computers for internet access these were ok, but the keyboard lettering was worn on the keys.
Breakfast was ok and offered a Nigerian, and English (Bacon and Egg). There was no orange juice or water at breakfast which was unusual, but tea/coffee was provided.
There are attendant conference rooms for those wanting to use such facilities.All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
4
15
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We spent a few nights at this hotel with our 9 year old and ten month old baby. The junior suite was spacious enough and the bed big enough to contain all four of us! I am so fussy about cleanliness and would not even let my baby on the floor to play in some hotels, but at Welcome I was happy for her to play outside by the pool, crawl to her hearts content in the hotel suite and by the pool. This was my husband's first trip to Africa and I felt proud that there was such a place that didn't let me down. The staff were friendly and polite. My 9 year old loved the poolarea, went swimming and played table tennis and table football. We all had a great time! The question is will the place still remain looking as clean and staff as professional after a couple of years? We hope so as it would be a shame if the standards were not maintained.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Good place to stay if need to get to airport quickly as only 5 minutes away but ,like verything else in Lagos,overpriced at around £160. Very nice roomy clean room, nice bar, seems popular with air crews. Restaurant service though was abominable as was food. so better to go out to eat. Took over an hour to get a simple pizza . Wireless very slow. Great that this was the only hotel of four that I stayed at on this trip that actually took credit cards and had a machine that worked! Top marks for that.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Hi , I am Debra , a foreigner and it wonderful here , Everything seems orderly , Cool and Friendly .Staffs are welcoming and friendly . Its neat and can a . Did like to lodge here if I have time to Visit Nigeria again . Gonzalez Debby

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

A friend of mine put me up here for a couple of nights.
Its was actually very good.
I liked it.
Its a new place so my room still felt fresh and breezy.
It was also really clean and secure.
The hotel is striking and it was a nice location for my friends and I to catch up...kicking it at the bar or pool.
Although I was unhappy they hadnt finished constructing tennis court and stage before they opened the hotel.
I stayed a couple of nights and it was quite good.
A bit pricey but I didnt pay so I wont complain ;)

  • Liked — new, pretty and cool
  • Disliked — still not finished
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welcome Centre Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Centre Hotels

Address: 70 International Airport Road | Ikeja, Lagos PMB 4147, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Centre Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Centre Hotels is a magnificent new hotel, conference and events complex located near the airport in Lagos, Nigeria. Welcome Centre has a range of facilities for every meeting and travel requirements a visitor could ever want. Welcome has a variety of conference halls for every function ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Welcome Centre Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welcome Centre Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.