We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“A pleasure to have visited here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Sorriso

Il Sorriso
27A Oju Oluban Close | Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria
01 774 9382
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 99 Restaurants in Lagos
Restaurant details
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A pleasure to have visited here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Service was with a smile and the food was very good

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent food disapointing ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Il Sorriso is an Italian restaurant on Victoria Island. The food is OK but nothing to write home about. I had a penne arabiata which was nice but the starters were rather disappointing. The wine selection was disappointing for an Italian restaurant.

The place itself has a rather old feel to it and it we were the only table which is never a good sign. Like most places in Lagos it is overpriced for what you get. From I what gathered from the staff there was a change in management and it used to be much better.

For Italian I would recommend the Casa Chianti at the Eko Hotel which is overall a better eating out experience.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I dont like the food or the decor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I didnt have a satisfactory experience. It didnt feel like an authentic italian restaurant. i ordered lasagna and wasnt impressed, also tried arabiata and it didnt hit the spot eitehr

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
“Yummmy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I live in Lagos. Best Italian restaurant. Love the atmosphere.The Spaghetti Valentina is just too yummy and the tiramasu is spot on. My favorite pick me up meal after a hard day at work. Reasonably price too.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The best Italian Restaurant in Lagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Family run,excellent food, excellent wine and reasonably priced

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Sorriso also viewed

 
Lagos, Lagos State
Lagos, Lagos State
 

Been to Il Sorriso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Sorriso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.