We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Bogobiri House and Arts Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bogobiri House Lagos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lagos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bogobiri House Lagos
Save
You added Bogobiri House Lagos to your Saves list
9, Maitama Sule Street, off Awolowo Road,, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 113 Hotels in Lagos
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bogobiri House and Arts Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Just loved this place from day 1. Arts, food, theater, Thursdays open mic sessions... Friendly staff and management. Perfect place to chill with friends or just enjoy fresh coffee reading newspapers, catch football games or live gigs. Not a hotel. An arts center. True Naija spirit and one of my favourite spots worldwide ;)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
1
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

stayed here a couple of times and it is simply a beautiful place. friendly staff, nice music, great art. yes, it is not a 5 star hotel. yes, the breakfast and food in general could be better. but you will definitely not find a place with such a great atmosphere in lagos, at least not for that price. i ll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Bogobiri House. My evenings were filled with Music and art was very evident in the decor. I loved the food- very generous portions. :-) I would definitely stay at Bogobiri the next time I am in Lagos. The staff was very warm and pleasant. Cleanliness was adhered to. I'd say just watch out for your room not be too close to the open mic bar esp on the Thursday Night Show...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hotels in Lagos are tricky. Overpriced for Western business travellers and often bland complexes behind security walls without any African character. Bogobiri is part of the cultural centre in a quiet backstreet. Ive stayed here twice but also twice in the couple of 5* offerings on Victoria Island. This you get authentic food, great fried plantain and eggs, UK and EU football, live music and great Nigerian art. You can't be assured a hot shower or an extensive menu for dinner, AC or a plush insect free room. You are choosing between character and comfort. Thats it.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit of a lottery and vary widely. Ask for pics and agree a room in advance if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

My first time here was just amazing...I love the rooms,you actually feel at peace because it's located in a quiet part of town,and the decor puts you at ease. It's also very affordable...but if you are staying the night, pack a towel.
Don't forget to try the snail sauce,it's awesome...

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

First in Nigeria and was lucky enough to not only stay at Bogobiri but meet and connect with the owners and staff. Let's just say it's where I'll always stay when I come to Nigeria It's more than a hotel - more like home away from home, cultural center and so much more. I love Bogobiri.

Room Tip: Rooms are beautiful. Get one of the larger rooms if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I will have to start by saying I didn't stay here so I can't assess it as a hotel, although I would happily stay there in future. As a bar and restaurant though I can't provide enough praise. The food is excellent, the drinks are ever flowing and the staff and management are phenomenal. It's a great place to meet new people, listen to good music and relax- which can be difficult in the hustle and bustle of Nigeria. I came here at least a few times a week while I was living in Nigeria and would recommend anyone visiting Lagos to definitely spend an evening there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bogobiri House Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bogobiri House Lagos

Address: 9, Maitama Sule Street, off Awolowo Road,, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#7 Spa Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Bogobiri House Lagos Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bogobiri House Lagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.