We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bogobiri House Lagos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bogobiri House Lagos to your Saves list
Bogobiri House Lagos
9, Maitama Sule Street, off Awolowo Road,, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 115 Hotels in Lagos
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Bogobiri House. My evenings were filled with Music and art was very evident in the decor. I loved the food- very generous portions. :-) I would definitely stay at Bogobiri the next time I am in Lagos. The staff was very warm and pleasant. Cleanliness was adhered to. I'd say just watch out for your room not be too close to the open mic bar esp on the Thursday Night Show...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
1
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hotels in Lagos are tricky. Overpriced for Western business travellers and often bland complexes behind security walls without any African character. Bogobiri is part of the cultural centre in a quiet backstreet. Ive stayed here twice but also twice in the couple of 5* offerings on Victoria Island. This you get authentic food, great fried plantain and eggs, UK and EU football, live music and great Nigerian art. You can't be assured a hot shower or an extensive menu for dinner, AC or a plush insect free room. You are choosing between character and comfort. Thats it.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit of a lottery and vary widely. Ask for pics and agree a room in advance if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

My first time here was just amazing...I love the rooms,you actually feel at peace because it's located in a quiet part of town,and the decor puts you at ease. It's also very affordable...but if you are staying the night, pack a towel.
Don't forget to try the snail sauce,it's awesome...

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

First in Nigeria and was lucky enough to not only stay at Bogobiri but meet and connect with the owners and staff. Let's just say it's where I'll always stay when I come to Nigeria It's more than a hotel - more like home away from home, cultural center and so much more. I love Bogobiri.

Room Tip: Rooms are beautiful. Get one of the larger rooms if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I will have to start by saying I didn't stay here so I can't assess it as a hotel, although I would happily stay there in future. As a bar and restaurant though I can't provide enough praise. The food is excellent, the drinks are ever flowing and the staff and management are phenomenal. It's a great place to meet new people, listen to good music and relax- which can be difficult in the hustle and bustle of Nigeria. I came here at least a few times a week while I was living in Nigeria and would recommend anyone visiting Lagos to definitely spend an evening there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have stayed in total probably 1,5 months in Bogobiri, extended in 3 or 4 periods of 2 weeks. I find Bogobiri difficult to rate, just because it's so different from a regular hotel. I a way, this is not a hotel but more a bar (with live music every evening) where you can rent some rooms.

Other reviewers have described well the interior. Some of the staff are friendly. Some I find are not. Some do not care and prefer watching the football matches broadcasted in the bar area. Breakfast is included in the hotel price but very very basic, and if you are in a hurry early morning do not expect breakfast to be ready to enjoy all of the time. Internet is also included but quite shaky in times. I like the food (basic, generous portions) but not all what is presented on the menu is available at all times.

If you are a business traveller who would like a bit more comfort, and hotel feeling, there are some other places around on VI and Ikoyi where you will feel more being in a hotel. You will have to search though, if you do not want to pay more than @ Bogobiri. I stay here from time to time, but sometimes switch hotel early when I want a better shower, bed and airconditioning.

I believe the potential is enormous to take Bogobiri's hotel proposition to the next level. The question is, can it keep its unique proposition which it offers now or will 'professionalization' of the hotel business mean that the bar/music proposition will be eroded? My advice: go check out Bogo in the evening for the live music and ask to see some of the rooms before you decide to book here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have to agree with an earlier review of this hotel and say it doesn't live up to its potential
It's a charming and eccentric guest house and I loved the art on the walls, plus compared to other places in Lagos, it's (relatively) well priced. It had free wireless which is always a bonus. The staff are helpful and friendly which provides a comforting haven after braving the Lagos traffic all day.

However, I didn't have warm water for a decent shower and the breakfast was hopeless. I tried to have dinner there 2 evenings, and none of my first choices were available. If you're looking for a place to stay that has charm, is clean and that isn't as high-priced as the chain hotels, I can certainly recommend it. If your expectations are higher, you might be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bogobiri House Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bogobiri House Lagos

Address: 9, Maitama Sule Street, off Awolowo Road,, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Bogobiri House Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bogobiri House Lagos Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bogobiri House Lagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.