We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Hidden Treasure in Ikoyi, Lagos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bogobiri House Lagos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lagos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bogobiri House Lagos
Save Saved
You added Bogobiri House Lagos to your Saves list
9 Maitatma Sule, Lagos, Nigeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 73 hotels in Lagos
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure in Ikoyi, Lagos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I was a bit apprehensive when I approached Bogobiri nearly three weeks ago on a rainy Sunday morning having arrived from Abu Dhabi for my first time in Lagos. The outside did not reveal what the inside had on offer!!! My check in was smooth and trouble free and Ugo was on hand to check me in despite it being her off day. Initially checked into a room which had a slight problem with the AC and then was moved to another room just for the day but I made it mine for the next three weeks. The room was spacious with a cane two seater and two single seaters and a large glass table which was more than enough for my work which I had plenty to complete in three weeks. The place is owned by a superb Nigerian - Chike who stays on site and is an Aston Villa fan!! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the food on offer was excellent value. The hotel gets crowded on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays as there are various bands that play lively music which varies from Afro to Reggae. There is an extension where musicians come and play their different instruments but to me Bogobiri will be visited again when I come back to Lagos. It also helped that my office was at Banana Island - so travelling was nice and smooth and a few minutes away.

Bogobiri is known as a boutique hotel - small with 16 rooms or thereabout and each one is furnished well. There are lots of drawings adorning the walls and also some fantastic furniture carved from tree trunks. As hotels come in Nigeria, the rates are pretty high but then when you have to have generators etc installed, then I suppose the rates are acceptable. The room was cleaned daily and laundry done as well on the same day.

You meet a cross section of Lagos society during the evenings as the bar at Bogobiri brings in the regulars.

Room Tip: If you are looking to sleep early, then stay away from the ground floor as the band/s play till abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

In the chaos and bustle of Lagos, this is a tranquil and laid back place to stay. The friendliness of the staff and the service they provide was the best I received in Nigeria. The food was excellent - although the soups are toward the far end end of the blow-your-head-off heat scale. The room was clean, quirky and very comfortable. There was live music the night I stayed and the bar/restaurant quickly filled with smartly dressed locals enjoying the music and the close, intimate vibe.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the bar. The live music doesn't go on too late, but if you want an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I can't recommend this place more. It is NOT a four star hotel, but it gives you a true Lagos experience. There used to be a really nice restaurant/bar across the street that played brilliant live music, including afrobeat legend Tony Allen.
If this place is still around, that makes Bogobiri worth it, all on its own. Even if it's not, there are good restaurants within easy walking distance on Awolowo Road. Don't bother trying to drive if there's a go-slow (traffic jam) you'll hoof it faster on foot.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed at Bogobiri for 3 weeks and really got to know the place and the staff. By the time I left it really was like a second home.
Its a small place and so its easy to get things done and find people to do them. This is great because while the staff are lovely, things dont run by any set pattern, so its good that everyone is friendly and approachable. My dirty washing was rarely picked up by the cleaner, so I often had to deliver it myself. When I wanted my washing back it was easier to go and get it than to wait for it to come (it never did).
The place is frequented by artists and journalists.. Lots of people with dreadlocks.. and the bar next door (a spin-off from the hotel) hosts spoken word and open mike nights, so its that kind of crowd..
My room was right next to the main bar/restaurant. This was a little annoying on Thurs/Fri/Saturday nights when there are a lot of people coming for evening drinks and a meal. Theyd often try my door thinking it was the toilet. Also there is a band that plays on weekend nights and while they too are lovely and the music is good I found it way too loud (and Im not even old or anything!). You'd do well to make sure you arent in that room.
The restaurant is small and intimate but they take FAR too long to serve any food. The quickest it got was 30 minutes.. But sometimes you have to wait for over an hour to get your food. This is particularly annoying at breakfast time and they really should have a breakfast buffet to save business customers time in the mornings.
The place was generally well looked after, but it could do with more hands-on management style. While I was there the main boss was away and I think it (like many other Nigerian businesses) needs a strong hand to keep an eye on the day-to-day running of the place.
I felt safe and didnt have anything stolen in my time there.
The prices are negotiable - especially if you're in a group or staying a longer period of time.
The wi-fi is very dodgy. Would drop in and out all the time. Sometimes a simple 10 minute skype chat could take 30 minutes and leave you feeling very frustrated.
I am pleased I stayed there and would go back if Im working in this part of Nigeria again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor.. Can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

My third trip to Lagos saw me seeking out this guesthouse which now has a second venue attached - Bogobiri House II. Just as welcoming as the original 10-room boutique Bogobiri hotel, Bogo II has a large live music room, a back terrace, six new guest rooms, plus the upstairs Nimbus Art Centre, which was getting its finishing touches for an end of June opening when I visited. In a nutshell, this place is a real Ikoyi find. Whether they know it or not, the owners have hit on a winning formula, with Nigerian and other African art displayed throughout both venues, live music most nights (from many of Nigeria's lyrical pioneers), an enticing restaurant menu, friendly staff and an international palette of guests from writers, to musicians, artists, business people or just regular Lagosians who are just passing through. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: They're all best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

It's tough to find decent - and decently priced - hotels in Lagos, and you could do worse than the Bogobiri. But it's no longer what it's cracked up to be in the guidebooks or on some of the reviews here.

True, Bogobiri goes for African cachet, with art on the walls and a mini restaurant that hosts local musicians. But the rooms are in desperate need of a face-lift, and management no longer seems to care.

In mine, the furniture was worn, the bathroom fixtures were falling apart, the closets looked dirty, and I had to fix the Venetian blinds myself to make them work. Halfway through my stay, the bed literally collapsed; a receptionist said it could not be fixed because it was a weekend. There were no lamps except one very bright, ugly ceiling lamp.

Bogobiri's staff is nice and helpful, and the dining room has a good vibe, with live music on weekends and a nice mix of people. But the food is very average and service is glacial.

Perhaps most shocking are the rates. What you pay at Bogobiri would get you a decent room in cities like Paris or even New York. Except that in those cities, you can use credit cards: At Bogobiri, the machine always appears to be out of order, so you find yourself withdrawing massive stacks of cash at the nearby banks on Awolowo Road.

All in all, it's not terrible, but it has the feel of a budget hotel, which it most definitely is not. Better to spend even a bit more and get a nice hotel.

Finally, a general word of warning: Quite a few reviews about Nigerian hotels - on this site and elsewhere - are quite transparently fraudulent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

My experience at Bogobiri was very nice. I stayed there for four weeks and i must say, it beats the experience I have had in most the hotels in Lagos. So much originality, culture, art and the staff are very helpful. The food is really good. Live music on some days. This one of the hidden gems of Lagos.

I would definitely stay there again on my next visit to Lagos.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bogobiri House Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bogobiri House Lagos

Address: 9 Maitatma Sule, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Also Known As:
Bogobiri House Lagos Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bogobiri House Lagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.