We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Great Location & above average taste” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lagoon Restaurant

Lagoon Restaurant
Ozumba Mbadiwe Street, Lagos, Nigeria
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 99 Restaurants in Lagos
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location & above average taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great Location overlooking the lagoon with a friendly atmosphere. above average taste, i tried the lebanese mixed grill & it was ok. I didn't try the indian so it might be better than my choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    63
    31
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good selection reasonable quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I took three colleagues to dinner to watch a world cup match and I had an Indian potato curry very nice

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Most comfortable waterside causal dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Very luxurious outdoor, waterside dining. Great in the evening as the sun sets. Great place to watch luxury motorboats blast past. Full bar and a good range of finger food. But of course, very expensive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location, same about the card policy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Large serving size, but like many places in Lagos, not at all cheap. Worse, when I tried to pay with a card, I was told their POS machines weren't working properly and couldn't accept international cards, only Nigerian ones. This meant I had to walk to an ATM to get cash to pay for the meal, which I wasn't particularly happy about. This seems a common practice and is their way of avoiding paying the card charges (you pay them on your cash withdrawal). IN future I am going to check first and not eat at a place that claims to take only local cards - they can choose to pay the charges associated with the cards or not have any of my business. At the prices they charge, I think it unlikely they would suffer too much loss of profit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, good food & drinks, quite expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lagoon is a great place to entertain for Business colleagues or special social events. Outdoor seating alongside the waterfront on V.I. offers a terrific view, and there is ample indoor (air-conditioned) seating for those not preferring an outdoor venue. The menu variety is incredible (Egyptian, Middle-Eastern, Indian, Mexican, South American) and the drinks are exotic (including several big enough for two to share!). Prices are moderately expensive and service is slow ... even by Lagos standards. All-in-all, a very good place to entertain Business guests or have a special social event.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lagoon Restaurant also viewed

Lagos, Lagos State
Lagos, Lagos State
 

Been to Lagoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagoon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.