We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Just excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolat Royal

Chocolat Royal
Etim Inyang, Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 96 Restaurants in Lagos
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery
Goychay, Azerbaijan
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I can only say god things about this place. It is a cut above everything in Lagos.

It becomes clear that significant funding has gone towards interior decration and the architecture. The end result is a brilliant ambience in a contemporary setting.

The food is excellent and I was very impressed with the variety. From Tex Mex to Salads to Oriental to Suya, there's something for everyone and the desserts are excellent. I was quite impressed with the waiting staff and both the waiting time and the portions of the meals were adequate.

Though this seems more like a lunch and business meeting restaurant, I think it would also be great for dinner. I look forward to going back the next time I'm in Lagos.

If you want somewhere welcoming, refreshing and safe, then this is where I happily recommend

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    42
    47
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow...What a disappointment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I'm still seated at my table writing this review, it's freshly baked. Having heard that the desserts here were stellar, I was looking forward to a good experience. I walked in and was met with the sleek glass design which only further served to raise my hopes. The staff were polite, professional and helpful but bad food is bad food. I ordered some sort of apple pie selection that was meant to be served warm with a dollop of vanilla ice cream, I love apple pie so I was eager to taste it. The order comes and it looks good. I bite into it and the apple pie beneath the ice cream was frozen solid! Colder than the ice cream on top. I send it back to the kitchen where they do something to it and bring it back to me. I taste it again and it is now a flash heated apple ice cube. I had to send the dish and all my regard for this establishment back to the kitchen. Life is already hard enough without throwing egregious dessert into the mix. Buyer beware

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLagos, General Manager at Chocolat Royal, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Kika1309, Thank you for taking the time to rate our outlet. we regret the unfortunate incident that happened. The incident was reported to management and the kitchen did a mistake - the tart was indeed undercooked. do rest assured that we have taken corrective measures. we hope that you will visit our restaurant another time. Mistakes do happen and we are sorry. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

i have previously visited their VI shop and did a review on that,particularly irritating the way their staff keep asking for tips.Anyway this time i went to their outlet in the palms shopping mall,Lekki cos i and my husband wanted to take in a movie at the genesis cinema adjacent to it.I asked for a selection of cookies which the sales boy boxed up,i paid and we left.We didnt like the movie playing at the time so we decided to drive down to silverbird galleria and see what was showing.
When we entered the car,i decided to open up my box of cookies and take a nibble;as soon as i opened the box,what did i see?A BIG FAT BLACK FLY!the fly was so fat and sluggish it didnt even bother to fly off!it must have been feeding fat inside chocolat royal and had grown too lazy to fly away!.I hurriedly closed the box and returned to the shop where the lady on seeing the fly,offered to change the cookie for me!I declined and insisted on getting my money back.Afterall what's the guarantee that the rest of the cookies hadn't been contaminated?

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalLagos, General Manager at Chocolat Royal, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Touristbee2013, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We regret that such an incident happened. Please rest assured that we strive to keep the quality and freshness of our daily fresh products. Having said that, we do live and work in a tropical country and such situations with insects do sometimes happen. We apologize again, and hope you will visit our outlets again - we will be glad to offer you a tour of our kitchens - we probably have the cleanest kitchen compared to all other eateries in Nigeria. Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best meal I had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Of course, this was my only meal outside of our camp. But, it came highly recommended and the menu was extensive enough to satisfy everyone. I really enjoyed the food and while it wasn't what I would have gotten at home, it was delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Keep them coming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lovely place, wonderful chocolates, cookies and all. Its a must visit always. My children so so love it too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolat Royal also viewed

Lagos, Lagos State
Lagos, Lagos State
 
Lagos, Lagos State
Lagos, Lagos State
 

Been to Chocolat Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolat Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;