We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Mystica

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Mystica
Save
You added Finca Mystica to your Saves list
500 Meters north | Punta portero, Merida, Isla de Ometepe 000000, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Garrison, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Magical retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I am no mystic but my wife, I and 3 kids age 4,7,10 had a wonderful 3 day retreat at the Finca...it is well off the beaten track...be prepared for 45 minutes bouncing hard on a road only rivaled in my experience by the one to the cloud forest in Costa Rica for rocks, bumps and little rivers...you will then arrive at acres of beautiful fruit and other trees planted lovingly by Ryan and Angela who were wonderful hosts and are living as an integrated part of the little local community and on and off the land...the cabins are simple but pretty (bureaus would be a good add), the views fabulous, the vibe great and the food wholesome, delicious and underpriced. Hiking, horse riding are at your doorstep or relax and just take it in....highly recommend a stay here...

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
101
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Angela and Ryan are so chill. They organized our hike to the top of
volcan concepcion within 15 minutes the day before and made us
slamming PBJs. The food is awesome there. I recommend all their
juices.

Rooms are super clean and cozy
Mosquito nets are clean and set up for you
Food is awesome
Ryan and Angela are so helpful
Hammocks at each cabin
Really soft sheets

The only hesitation is that Finca Mystica is a bit hard to get to.
It's on the Merida side of Volcan Maderas. And to get to Finca
Mystica, you walk up 500 meters from the main road. But it's worth it
if you're legs can take you places. We really liked it there. Also
adobe houses are so cool. When do you get to lounge in an adobe house?
In Finca Mystica, that's where!

Thank you Angela and Ryan!

Room Tip: All the adobe houses are awesome. Book ahead of time, because they go fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is the best place that we stayed at during our trip in Central America. After spending months staying in seedy backpackers I was so happy to arrive in a beautiful, relaxing and clean environment.

The hosts Ryan and Amanda are super helpful and activities that they advise are all really well priced and the horses for horse back riding are well treated. The food at the hostel has heaps of variety and there are amazing vegetarian options.

This hostel is defiantly worth a trip to the island Ometepe.

Room Tip: The private cabins are amazing and all have their own bathroom and hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Finca mystica is one of the best hotels on our trip. It is one hour drive from the boat but it is definitely worth it. They can send a driver to pick you up and you can book great tours at the hotel. The staff is very helpfull and the food is great (served every day at 7 if you want). What we loved the most was the great atmosphere! It is a great place to meet other people.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is a little out of the way but totally worth it!
The eco-cabins are incredibly gorgeous, the beds are so comfortable and come with mosquito nets. There is wi-fi, plenty of books, hammocks and just a beautiful space to watch the sunset, butterflies and fireflies from the dining area. The howler monkey's are easy to see in trees near the cabins and the nature in general is so pleasant.

The thing I loved most about this place was the FOOD.. nothing worse than having no options to eat anywhere else. I didn't have a bad meal once, in fact there is no where in Moyogalpa you could find decent meals like this. Each day you are able to order from many breakfast items, lunch items, and then select from one of two dinner items, and even then its hard to decide as you know both will be exceptional! Vegetarian is always available as well.

The road in is a little rough - we hired a dirt bike to get around but could have easily been dropped on and spent many days there just in that single spot. Lots of places to walk, can do a volcano hike, easy to hire kayaks and the waterfall is close by.

Ryan was an amazing host, and willing to help in whichever way possible. We ran out of fuel at one stage and he even arranged for the taxi driver to bring some in on his next drive in. Ryan is always happy to help organise any volcano trips, or tips on information about places nearby.

Overall this has been one of the most beautiful and pleasant places I have ever stayed and would totally recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in a private cabin. The room was quirky, clean and very comfortable. The food and drinks were excellent and very good value. One of us is veggie and we had plenty of options.
Ryan, the owner, is very helpful and genuine.
The location is very peaceful and scenic. The only thing to consider is that it is quite remote and takes over an hour to get to from Moyogalpa, so probably best to stay for at least a couple of nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and were sad to leave. Ryan and Angela were only there the first night we were as they left for their first vacation in, what I think they said was 6 years! A more than well deserved vacation for them.

The staff did an absolutely amazing job without them around. We were so impressed by how hard working the entire team was and how important it was to them to make sure that everything was perfect.

The food was beyond delicious. I could have eaten their skewers every single day for the rest of my life. I am gluten-intolerant as was another guy staying there and the staff was very willing to accommodate us.

The rooms had mosquito nets over the beds which was a great bonus as we hadn't had that elsewhere. The showers and the bathrooms were really clean as well.

We did the hike up Volcon Maderas and the staff made us lunches for us to take. The only thing was our guide for the hike, which was the guide Finca set us up with, was pretty bad.

This place is beautiful, remote, and perfect to put it simply. Make sure you stay here as it is definitely a complete experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Mystica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Mystica

Address: 500 Meters north | Punta portero, Merida, Isla de Ometepe 000000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Finca Mystica Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Mystica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.