We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people and place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B
Save
You added La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B to your Saves list
Between Santa Cruz & Balgue, Isla de Ometepe 0, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful people and place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Eileen and Darrin welcomed me to their beautifully built b&b and were amazing hosts and guides to Ometepe island. The two rooms available for stay are gorgeous, modern, and impeccably clean with balcony and hammocks. Their delicious breakfast is made using mostly organic ingredients. The price may be more than you'll pay at other places on the island, but you will get a high level of personalized customer service!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
74
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in the cabin not the B&B and loved our little home in the forest. Darrin and Eileen are amazing hosts who went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and has a great experience. They will help book tours, share info about restaurants and have great stories. It may be a little off the beaten path but well worth it. Restaurants are a 20 minute walk under the stars and Eileen will even order delivery for you if you don't want to go out. This place is a little piece of paradise and the breakfasts are amazing! Highly recommend staying more than just a couple of nights - we stayed 5 nights and there was still more to do.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

It’s unusual to write a review of a place where one has not stayed, but I need to give the highest recommendation to Eileen from Via Verde. Our family made a reservation to stay at Via Verde months ago--because of Trip Advisor’s top recommendation- but because of a glitch in the reservation system, our reservation was misplaced. When we discovered this, Eileen worked tirelessly to help us remedy the situation. Unfortunately, she no longer had space at her jewel of a place, but she made us a reservation at a nearby place--more costly than hers, and is paying the difference. She has also helped us map out our complete trip--securing us drivers from and to all our locations, setting up tours for us, and doing EVERYTHING to make this a special trip. She has even given us her telephone numbers if we need anything while we travel in the country. I have traveled a lot in my life, and have never met anyone so kind, generous of spirit, and helpful. I regret that we are not staying with her, but I know we will be back to Nicaragua, and hope to meet her at a future time. You will not be disappointed with Eileen and Via Verde. She is exceptional!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed three days at La Vie Verde. It is a special place. The accommodation is very well designed with a small comfortable room and expansive outdoor space looking out to Lake Nicaragua in one direction and with a stunning view of the Concepcion volcano in the other. The light and clouds on the volcano are ever changing and it is mesmerizing to watch. Everything works so well too with early morning coffee, a great breakfast and the option of dinner delivered from Café Campestre if the day’s activities have been strenuous. Eileen is a gem. She happily shares her knowledge of a changing Ometepe and is a low key, efficient organizer of tours, transportation and meals. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Our stay at Via Verde couldn't have been better, and was truly the highlight of our 2 week trip in Nicaragua. The rooms are lovely and we were so well taken care of before and during our time on Isla Ometepe. The food was delicious (homemade jam!), the balconies with views of the volcano were swoon-inducing, and Eileen even arranged a totally unique and meaningful tour for us with a local beekeeper. Her recommendations were spot-on, and we also ended up loving the other couple staying there as well, a great perk of traveling. This is a special spot!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

la Via Verde, Eileen and Darren's serene and beautiful spot on Isla Ometepe set a stage for a very tough act to follow. I think that hosts can play such an essential role in how their visitors experience the culture and beauty of the country they are visiting and Eileen and Darren were so warm, welcoming and so loving of the beauty and culture of Ometepe itself that we could not help but fall in love with it ourselves. We were exhausted from almost 24 hours of travelling and did not arrive until about 7. Since the only food I had eaten that day was a bag of chili peanuts bought on the ferry, I could have kissed
Eileen when she told us she would order food in for us from Camp Campestre down the road. I could recognize the food as being delicious even through my haze of travel fatigue! We were given a very thorough tour of our beautiful bungalow which was decorated with colored lights and had an amazing view of the volcano right from the open air window. In fact, there were so many well thought and caring touches to the bungalow from the hammock outside the door to the sunscreen and bug spray provided for us. And then there was the breakfast! I just wonder how Darren remains so slim from the delicious cooking! Ah, and the coffee must be mentioned. Eileen roasts it herself and I would have about 4 cups a day - much more than I would ever drink. There is a lot to do and explore in Ometepe and we really wished we had spent more time there as it was more to our liking and our pace than San Juan Del Sur. I cannot recommend LA Via Verde more highly. It is a beautiful property with gorgeous views of Conceptioñ and hosts who care deeply about the experience of their guests and who, most importantly, came to the island because they loved it themselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I must be honest, we have not yet traveled to Ometepe. I fully anticipate writing another glowing review when we do!
I just want to say that Eileen has been INCREDIBLY helpful in making plans for our stay on the island. She is far and away the most friendly, professional, and helpful person with whom I've spoken/emailed during the planning of our Feb 2014 trip to Nicaragua!!
I understand and concur with the Excellent rating of this property solely based on "customer service" and am more than excited to visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B

Address: Between Santa Cruz & Balgue, Isla de Ometepe 0, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience nature and the simple life in comfort. Located on our organic farm La Via Verde offers 2 bedrooms on our second story. Up in the trees the wrap around verandas have great views of Volcan Concepcion, Lake Nicaragua, sunrise and sunset. Rooms have private balconies, queen bed, ceiling fan and are screened. There are 2 shared baths with flush toilets and hot water showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Via Verde - Organic Farm And Bed And Breakfast
La Via Verde - Organic Farm Hotel Isla De Ometepe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Via Verde - Organic Farm and B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.