We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way but not too far out if the way.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Santa Cruz Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Ometepe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Santa Cruz Hotel & Restaurant
Save
You added Finca Santa Cruz Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Santa Cruz, Isla de ometepe, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 Isla de Ometepe B&B and Inns
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Out of the way but not too far out if the way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

If its great views of the of the volcano you are looking for this is the place to stay.

Eating breakfast lunch or dinner you can easily take in the breath taking view out over their garden which gives way to the vista thst is volcano conception.

Staff are on hand to give advise and information ranging from bus times , ferry times hiking options etc.

They can arrange every thing with out leaving the hotel, even motor bike hire.

We only had two days here and by far the best decision we made was renting a motor bike the roads can be very poor and sometimes very steep for bicycles.

Rooms are nice and clean with cold shower, with the humidithy on the island the cold shower is a welcome change.

Very reasonably priced at $15 a night, it might be because of the off season.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was a great hostel. The area was pretty, the rooms were clean, and the bar had a large selection of delicious food.

The hostel, however, is pretty quiet. We personally wanted a more lively environment, but were able to walk to Little Morgan's to hang out for a night. (It was only about a 10 minute walk).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimstad, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We were extremely happy to have been accomedated as the whole of santa cruz were full! We were given hammocks to sleep in and an area to put our bags! Thank you so much for the service!

The food here is excellent! You will never forget this chicken curry! Fresh vegetables and excellent chicken! The bar and resturant is very nice and welcoming!

You will never forget a stay at this place! Great service and great location!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This is a great little hotel and with friendly staff and tasty food!
We stayed in a double for 14us per night. This was super clean and had a private bathroom with towels, soap and shampoo. We also had a view of one of the volcanoes. The only problem we had with the room is that there were many many ants in there. We had hundreds of small ants in the bed and in the towels and there were loads of giants ant in the room too. These give you a nasty bite so we felt a bit awkward staying here.

They have a great restaurant on site with quite an extensive menu. I recommend the chicken curry! This was amazing. And the prices werent too bad either considering its an Island. They also had bikes which you could use to explore the island but we were too tired after hiking one of the volcanoes.

We booked our tour guide through the hotel and payed $25us for 2 people. We didnt really like the tour guide as he never said much and walked off really fast and waited for us. We met another couple who paid $5us per person for their guide at the hotel nearest the smaller volcano (about a 15minute walk from the hotel). They said he was friendly, chatty and a great guide. If you have time definately check out different guides first. We got to the Island late and it was dark so just opted for the hotels option.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We initially headed to Little Morgan's which was full. The staff at Santa Cruz was more than happy to accomodate us. We ended up with a private for $16 a night, the same price that it would have been to stay in dorms at Little Morgans. Really nice staff, pretty decently priced food; get the Jalapeño Steak for sure.

They also hooked up some bike rentals for an excursion to Ojo de Agua and were there for us whenever we needed them, great stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We showed up without a booking and the staff were very welcoming and set us up in a very spacious private room for $10 per night which was very affordable for the island. The food at the restaurant was great value and included chicken curry which was a welcome change to the regular chicken, rice and beans which is standard fare in Nicaragua. The host Luis was terrific and took us on a hike up to Volcan Maderas and hooked us up with a pre ordered breakfast and sandwiches before the 8 hour trek! The trail starts right at the hostel. There is a view of the lake and an amazing view of Volcan Concepcion from the restaurant and terrace. Stunning at dusk. Luis also set us up with two speedy horses at a great rate which we rode down to the lagoon - a great ride on horseback. The staff were always attentive and helped us with transport to the ferry, rental of motorbikes and great recommendations for sightseeing. Luis speaks perfect English and has generations of family on the island and provides terrific insight into the local history and the geography of the island. The atmosphere at night is great with a chilled combination of great music, food and hammocks. Highly recommended for a wonderful stay in a beautiful island setting.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

We visited Luis and his family at Hotel and Restaurant Santa Cruz and had two fantastic nights eating in their very welcoming palapa. They have an amazing array of food and completely look after vegetarians with delicious stir-fried veges and vege curries. The drinks and food are reasonably priced and they have hammocks on-hand for that after-meal siesta. We didn't stay here but would on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Santa Cruz Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Santa Cruz Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Santa Cruz, Isla de ometepe, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Ometepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are natives from the Island that just recently open a hotel we have 6 Private rooms, 1 Dorm, and 1 Cabana. We also have a restaurant that has your typical Nicaraguense food, vegetarian food, bar, eco-tours, bike rentals, horseback riding, and motorbike rentals. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Santa Cruz Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.