We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“serene heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad dar Sofian

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Riad dar Sofian
15, route de Nakhla, Zagora 45900, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #3 of 28 Zagora B&B and Inns
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“serene heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

To arrive at Riad Dar Sofian after a sweaty drive south to the edge of the Saharan Desert, is to cross the threshold into paradise. The hotel is beautifully laid out over several floors with spacious, calm, and luxurious communal lounge areas lining the edge of the wide and airy atrium. Our room was on the top floor and we had our own private courtyard with sunbeds. Our bedroom with its own bathroom was hip, trendy and spotless. The pool on the ground floor is a good size and very secluded. The staff are charming and accommodating, they really make you feel like your comfort is their main priority and they understand how it feels to be a weary traveller! Food excellent. I would have loved to spend a few more days here at this desert hideaway. The licensed bar is also a big plus point as far as I'm concerned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
43
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hello to the Team of Dar Sofian,

we will never forget our wonderful stay at beautiful Dar Sofian. You made us feel very welcome. The Service was excellent. Dinner and breakfast were also excellent. We came on our trip through the South of Marocco, we booked via Sahara Services and Edith Kohlbach. Thank you again so much, all the best! We have written a travel book in German and we recommend Dar Sofian very much. Regine and Jochen Reimers from Germany

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel with unique style, incredibly friendly and helpful people, who try to make your stay as pleasant as possible, great marrocan food.
Obviously based on reports in Tripadvisor, they have meanwhile installed safes:-).
Real 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My friend and I were at the Riad dar Sofian in June, so the pool was essential. It was perfect for an end of the day cool down. The food was good, and the staff very helpful. They set up a camel ride for us. The only problem we had was that the air conditioning was not as powerful in the early-mid evening and we were pretty warm in our rooms. It would start to cool down around midnight when all othe electric uses were turned off.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

We arrived after crossing from Merzouga and found the hotel Riad Dar Sophian. What a result! The hotel is new, the place as spotless, with top class furnishings and wonderful service. The management and staff were as attentive as any 5*hotel in London or New York. The food was top class. I cannot recommend it highly enough!!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agadir, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

we arrive in zagorq in th evening without reservation and ceck different riad and with no doubt this is the best .
very good

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad dar Sofian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad dar Sofian

Address: 15, route de Nakhla, Zagora 45900, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Zagora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Zagora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive privately-run hotel is located in the heart of the Zagora Palmgrove. Riad Dar Sofian offers many lounges and terraces overlooking the palmgrove, a large outdoor swiming-pool and a cactus garden. Decorated with simplicity and charm, each of Riad Dar Sofian's rooms has an en-suite bathroom and a free Wi-Fi connection, some have their own private roof-top terraces. You can also enjoy a Moroccan cooking elaborated from the fresh local products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad dar Sofian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad dar Sofian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad dar Sofian to your Saves list