We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and helpful people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Petite Kasbah

Save Saved
You added La Petite Kasbah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Petite Kasbah
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Amezrou | Hay Amezrou, Zagora 45700, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Zagora B&B and Inns
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful and helpful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Brahim, the owner, and the others there were extremely helpful from the beginning of our stay. Our daughter had got a disease and required hospitalization. Brahim was with us and made it sure we got the help we needed and was with us all the time. It is quite difficult to imagine a more supportive approach.

The place is quite genuine, a small kasbah. Brahim explained the reason behind the architecture, and I can only agree with his choices. Right behind the kasbah a wonderful huge rural area, with palms and astonishing buildings - just that is definitely worth a visit, a place outside the common touristic routes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    43
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
49
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagora, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at La Petite Kasbah for 4 nights, and i must say that we were treated like members of the family. Mustafa touched our hearts and enriched our minds by educating us about zagora's way of life, traditions, etc. He walked us through the palmery which we suggest you do with him as you will get the genuine walk all for free!!! Mustafa is very proud of his home town and unlike other guides that are in for the money, he actually takes pride in educating us about his country, all so genuine. Mustafa, arranged a 2 day trip to the desert for us, and he came with us. Ali, one of his friends and cook, also joined us. The camel carried the supplies, and we trekked the desert near M'hamid...it was well worth it and we highly recommend that you speak with Mustafa if you plan to go into the desert, there are various options available and you actually support the local people, not the fat foreigners who set up businesses there and rip you off. Abrahim, the owner of the Kasbah was welcoming, we made use of the kitchen, the rooms were warm, clean and the beds very comfortable. The terrace offers wonderful views to the palmery and main street, the only downfall are the flies, so annoying when you trying to soak in the sun :-). We shall return to see Mustafa, Ali and Abrahim, and we highly recommend La Petite Kasbah.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and comfortable with heating and hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooglede, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Reading all positive comments about “La Petite Kasbah” I must admit that it is difficult to add anything “new”. We too, we’re pleased about our very authentic and special stay in Zagora.
During our short stay we experienced the warmth, relaxed personality of the owner, Brahim. Everything in the B&B was in accordance with the culture and the habits of the country without loosing any comfort.
The interior was particular in every small detail, especially in the bathroom (with a lovely, sun-like mirror, little Moroccan flacons with shower gel, etc.). All of this must have been chosen with a lot of love.
Not only the accommodation and interior were perfect! Breakfast was wealthy and healthy (and marvellous), with ethnic music.
Brahim and his family are creating something with heart and soul and should be proud about it.
Despite my poor knowledge of the French language, I immediately felt at home in ‘La Petite Kasbah”; no further explication (in French or any other language) was needed.
With Brahim we crossed thoughts about African and European culture.
People who may think about a stay in one of the luxury resorts in Zagora, they shouldn’t: “La Petite Kasbah” is a small palace for a small price!
We will never forget our stay in “La Petite Kasbah”, thank you Brahim!
Filip & Ceresa

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed for 1 night and got a very warm welcome from Mustapha who works for Ibrahim tje owner. That evening we ate the best tagine on the roof terace we had had in Marocco.
The rooms are simple but clean.
We had a great desert-experience with our friend Mustapha who made our stay in the desert so comfortable.
Ibraham is a warm-hearted man with humor.
He recommended us a place to sleep in Ait-Benhaddou and even called that evening because he was worried if we arrived well.
Such a sweetheart. We would love to meet Ibrahim and Mustapha again and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We booked a night here based on the reviews .... well maybe it was a different hotel I don't know. The welcome was fine and the hotel itself from the outside was a little rundown - the room however was appalling - dark, shabby and the shower/toilet ... well overall it didnt leave a good impression. We refused to check in and stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

personal is very nice and kindly. Good atmosphere.
the rooms are very confortable. Exellent breakfast service and possibility to reach the desert.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Yes I know it was the beginning of February and cold weather but if you want customers to your traditional style guest house in cold weather you need to be a bit more geared up. Our nice room with basic but clean en-suite had a good heater but it wasn't on when we arrived. It took 2-3 hours to get the room to anywhere near a decent temperature. The same was true of the dining area; two gas heaters but not switched on till we sat down to eat. The room was barely warm by the end of the meal. The meal was tasty, well prepared Moroccan fare which we enjoyed in the company of two other guests. There is a delightful little gargen in the centre of the house must be just perfect on a warm evening. The hosts were pleasant and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Petite Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Kasbah

Address: Amezrou | Hay Amezrou, Zagora 45700, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Zagora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Zagora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Petite Kasbah 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Petite Kasbah guest house is a hotel, designed in the style of moroccan ryad, constituted of 5 rooms ,we offer you a wide selection of traditional homemade meals with fresh vegetables from the souk,La Petite Kasbah also offers excursions in the desert by camel ride or Off-road 4x4 and camel ride for every budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your La Petite Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Petite Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.