We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place in the middle of nowhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Dune Blanche

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Dune Blanche to your Saves list
La Dune Blanche
Desert de M'Hamid, Zagora, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Hettlingen
1 review
“Fantastic place in the middle of nowhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Wonderful simple place with everything you need in the desert - only 4 small clay houses which made you feel as if the whole place is just for you. Facilities for being in the middle of nowhere were very clean - shower and restrooms are available. Food was great and very tasty. For having a few nights in the desert without too many tourists this place is absolutely ideal (if you like you can even sleep under the stars) - we can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

For our 10 day Christmas Morrocan trip we wanted to stay in the dessert so we drove the beautiful valley of Dra and arrived in Tagounite were is the office of La Dune Blance. Just in the beginning of the main street on your left hand side. There we left our car and we were picked up by a 4x4 to take us to the dessert. After half an hour drive we arrived at the wonderful site in the beginning of the dessert. The site has five simple but spacious clay huts, a dinner area and shared bathrooms. Even though there is nothing else man-made next to you, just the dessert and the view of the mountains, hot water and electricity is provided by solar panels. The dunes next to the camp are small but beautiful. A walk there in the sunset was one of our trips highlights. Salah is a great and kind host. He can organise for you, trips to the biggest dunes of erg chebbaba and a sleep over in tents or a trip with the camels. In the night nicely cooked tajin, couscous or brochettes will make you forget that you are in the dessert, and after dinner you can enjoy drumming and relaxing next to a fire bellow the dessert sky. If you are looking for a camp in the Morrocan dessert Le Dune Blanch is an excellent choice and Salah will ensure that you will make the most of it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I drove from the Ourika Valley to Tagounite where the La Dune Blanche office is located and we would spend two nights at Bivouac La Dune Blanche. Our drive took longer than we expected but the owner, Salah, and his brother, Hassan, were there waiting for us with open arms. After arriving we felt like we had run into long lost members of our family. They immediately made us feel comfortable as we made final preparations to head into the desert. Salah's Land Rover Defender is a classic "quatre-quatre" (4x4) that every desert excursion should enjoy. Who needs A/C in the desert??!! The drive to the bivouac is just about 45 mins outside of Tagounite in a great location surrounded by beautiful small dunes. The clay huts are comfortable but can get hot at night so my wife and chose to sleep outside under the stars unless it was windy/sandy. There is a detached hut with bathrooms, sinks and shower stalls. Considering you're in the middle of the sahara it's far from primitive. We had very good tagine and cous cous for dinners. The breakfast is basic with very fresh OJ, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cheese, bread/pastry, tea or coffee. After breakfast on our first morning we hopped in the 4x4 and started on the two hour, off-road drive to the Erg Chegaga dunes stopping at water wells where nomads get their water and to give water to camels and donkeys. We made our way to a small oasis in the desert for a brochette lunch that is grilled on the spot served with fresh moroccan salad and fresh fruit. You may have to wait a few hours at the oasis to head into the dunes if the temperature is too high which it was for us. Luckily the tuareg nomads that run the oasis had a makeshift "pool" that they miraculously filled with well water and about ten of us were quick to take a dip. A true oasis!! Once we arrived at the Erg Chegaga we were naturally astounded by the beauty and expanse. We hiked about 30 minutes to the top of the highest local dune to see the vast expanse of desert in front of us. The real Sahara. We made the drive back and saw a fantastic desert sunset along the way. After returning we took a much needed shower and sat down for the cous cous dinner under the stars. A short walks into the nearby dunes at night after dinner is spectacular. All in all it was a fantastic experience and we miss Salah and Hassan. They are great hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouarzazate, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

During the last 1 1/2 years I have stayed 4 times at the bivouac La Dune Blanche near M'hamid, it is by far my favorite place in the Erg Lihoudi sand dunes of M'hamid. The bivouac La Dune Blanche has recently changed its originally white tents to 5 wonderful spacious little clay houses. The houses are nice warm in the winter and are spacious and offer one double bed plus 1 or 2 small beds or a sitting area.

Three additional clay houses contain a bathroom with two showers and two toilets, a kitchen, and a restaurant. The restaurant offers wonderful traditional south moroccan dishes like Tajins and Couscous. The meals can also be enjoyed outside near a fireplace where people would gather and where in the evening the men would play their drums at the fire.

The bivouac is situated near the beautiful sand dunes of Erg Lihoudi, in a very peaceful and quiet place away from other bivouacs. A really wonderful place for everybody looking for a peaceful quite time in the desert.

Room Tip: If you like a specific color - there is a white, yellow, blue, and blue/yellow decorated house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Dune Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dune Blanche

Address: Desert de M'Hamid, Zagora, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Zagora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Zagora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance of the South Moroccan desert, the white sand dune is welcoming you for a unique customized stay or simply for a stop over in a fantastic environment. This high comfort lodge built according to local architectural practices and in the optics of a responsible tourism will definitely delight you. In effect, very distinct styles are combined with good taste: contemporary interiors, traditional atmospheres as well as oriental savors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Dune Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dune Blanche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.