We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pearl at the doorstep of the desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Daif

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dar Daif to your Saves list
Dar Daif
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   BP 93, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 57 Ouarzazate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Pearl at the doorstep of the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Dar Daif is located at the outskirts of Ouarzazate. As so often in the region, the appearance from the outside reveals nothing about the beautiful place this is, so don't be afraid if you arrive late in the evening and are put back by the somewhat shabby appearance of the surroundings.
The place, as I understand, used to be a Kasbah (the word has a number of similar meanings, in this case the fortified home of a local chief), and has been remodeled into a hotel. The look is very local, attempting to recreate the ambience of a caravan relay post (caravansérail), with lots of wood, carpets, a dimmed and quiet atmosphere. You will surely dive into another world for the duration of your stay, but if you prefer and expect the modern, cool design of the fashionable moroccan hotels (L'heure bleue in Essaouira, anyone?), then you may be a bit disappointed.
The comfort standard are, especially considering the standards of the region, exceptional. Everything is well kept, very clean, the size of the rooms are more than sufficient, the food is good (and the bar is set very high, given how excellent the moroccan cooking can be), the bathroom is great (clean, large, enough hot water). The internet access, as others have stated, is excellent, with a Wi-Fi router per room and a fast connection.
Chances are, given the location, you will only be there for a night or tow. Make sure you're there long enough to book a massage session in the hammam (be warned, though, that you will be expected to be naked -- this may be uncommon depending where you come from). Also, there are dinner tables scattered throughout the place, and you can eat at any of them, so for your romantic evening, find yourself beforehand a nice, hidden spot to eat (but make sure to tell the staff where you are beforehand, so you eventually do get to eat).
The Staff is exceptionally helpful, and run, besides the hotel, a tourism agency, so they may well be able to organise whatever you spontaneously would like to do. It's true, the place is a bit outside Ouarzazate, but the town is not known for its nightlife anyway, so you're probably better off relaxing in Dar Daif's cozy courtyard anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    47
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
89
124
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

After our trip to the desert our guide took us to a riad which we didnt like at all... We searched another riad in the internet, and read about the excellent reviews on Dar Daif in tripadvisor. We went to the door, were greeted with a very warm welcome... When you enter the riad, you enter into a different world... It has a beautiful courtyard and traditionally decorated, comfortable rooms. The staff is always helpful and cheerful... We chose a beautiful room on the courtyard and we had our dinner and breakfast just in front of our room... It is so nice to hear birds singing when you are having your breakfast... I wish we could have stayed longer... I would sincerely recommend dar daif...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was on of several riads I stayed at on a 10 day trip to Morocco--and I stayed here twice.

The rooms are very comfortable, very clean and have great internet access. They also have really good reading lamps, which was rare. Hot water was plentiful. There is no TV--great!

The food was good, I had both breakfast and dinner at the hotel--which is well away from the town so going anywhere was not easy--and made for a quiet location. The gardens are beautiful. There is no alcohol at the hotel, but you can bring your own. The only small complaint I have is the musician was a bit overbearing--all through kindness but it was too much like the mariachi band at a mexican restaurant. He did finally leave us to our conversation.

John Pierre, the owner is very helpful in planning the best of Morocco.

I would stay here a third time with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked this place on the advice of our booking agents (Naturally Morocco). From the minute we entered through the large wooden door from the street it felt like being in paradise! What a stunningly beautiful property this is. The decor is 'traditional' and absolutely amazing. We'd chosen to upgrade to a Junior Suite, and ended up with a very nice room (No.20) with plenty of space and superb views from our own private terrace.

Jean Pierre, Zineb, and all the staff were extremely helpful and gracious. There were some very nice touches - like being given a large bottle of water when arriving each evening and when departing each morning.

If you're a bird lover, Dar Daif is for you. On our first morning we took a stroll to the reservoir, led by a member of Dar Daif's team. The first bird we saw when the sun came up was an Osprey. Before breakfast we'd seen Black Stork, White Stork, Flamingo, Black-winged Stilt, Crested Lark, Great Grey Shrike, Little Owl, Cattle Egret, and much much more. At breakfast, the House Buntings were in attendance - negatively commented on by a past reviewer, but to us they were charming.

Dar Daif is excellently placed for exploring mountain and desert. The Draa Valley is not to be missed, and the Dadès Valley is awesomely scenic. Ait Benhaddou is nearby, and it is now possible (since 2011) to continue beyond Tamdaght on metalled road right through to Telouèt and on to the N9 again. We had three nights based here, but could have done with much longer as we felt that there was much more to see and do in the immediate vicinity of Dar Daif.

Many previous reviewers have commented on the excellent food here. At the risk of being controversial, I'd like to make comment. The breakfasts were extremely good, but we found ourselves to be somewhat embarrassed by only being able to consume half of what was put in front of us. As this had been prepared freshly for our consumption, I suspect that it was not 'recyclable'. Morocco is not a wealthy country, and it was the wastefulness that concerned us. The dinners were even more huge in comparison (probably three times what we could manage) and frankly not, in the main, to our taste. I suspect that we'd made wrong choices - on my previous visit to Morocco, I'd been inspired by tagines, but not here.

Just to put all this back in perspective. I'd still be very disappointed if I thought that I'd never return to Dar Daif. In the balance, it's a truly marvellous place to stay!

Room Tip: Room No.20 (a junior suite) has great views and is very comfortable, but has a shower (no bath) - me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We found the Dar Daif when driving back from the desert. I started to get late and we needed to find some where to stay. As with a lot of places in morocco the outside looks ......not very inviting! Once through the doors it is like entering another world. A quiet courtyard garden and good views. The evening meal was good and we were played to by local musician who managed to get a tune out of the four stringed "broomhandle and bowl" not sure what they call it, but he was brilliantly enthusiastic.
The staff were friendly and this is a good place to stay. It is a bit of a miander down the back street to find it but it you ask a local they all know where it is.

Room Tip: Most of the room seem to have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had à verhaal pleasant stay for ons nicht at dar daif. Warm welcome, delicious dinner. The room was Nice and clean. When we left Jean Pierre THE owner gave us some great tips for off road trip through dades vallee.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammedia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I can never forget this place, very warm and welcoming riad, we were in summer, beautiful room with beautiful fourniture and artisanat , during the day, you can have a swim, and later a hammam.
I can never forget the food: 100% bio, We did not get to be bored, no TV, eating having some rest reading, swimming...You can ask for any thing you want, you will get it with a nice smile.
Very clean, the smell of the rooms and also the library with interesting books to reads.
Bravo J Pierre
I want to go back

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Daif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Daif

Address: BP 93, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Daif 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 km from Ourzazate, this Kasba manages to capture the warm atmosphere of the "Caravanserai" of the desert. Zineb and Jean Pierre Datcharry and their team, inspired by both the desert and mountains of Morocco for the past 20 years, invite you to discover their magical guesthouse - the true gem of the south not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Daif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Daif, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.