We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL! GREAT STUDIO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oscar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Oscar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oscar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   KM 5 Route De Marrakech, Ouarzazate, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 40 hotels in Ouarzazate
West Hollywood, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT HOTEL! GREAT STUDIO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed at the Oscar during my shoot at Atlas Studios. The staff was friendly, the rooms are very nice, and the entire experience was wonderful. I highly suggest both Atlas Studios and the Oscar Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
11
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Ignore GoogleMaps, Oscar Hotel is not between Ave. Moulay Rachid and Blvd. Mohammid V, but some 3km NW of Ouarzazate, Route de Marrakech, RN9 between Ouarzazate and pretty much... nothing until the Atlas Mountains! I will report the problem to Google!

The hotel is within the studio walls and coulda been a film set itself! with filmic ornaments scattered tastefully around the pool. Every so often a small band of travellers would rock up to the hotel, drink at the bar, dip their weary legs in the pool and then take a guided tour around the Atlas Film Studios. I thought the tours were free for guests, but apparently not ;-(, that would have earned it an extra star!!

The room was spacious, comfortable and the air-con not too noisy (unlike many hotels in Maroc!)

With no local eateries within walking distance, we chose to eat dinner at the hotel. It was home-made, good, tasty with all fresh ingredients and they were able to make things to order (to suit our veggie palettes!). Breakfast was supposed to be at 06:30 but we had to get the receptionist to wake the restaurateur up for our eventual breakfast at 07:30! We could done with that extra hour as we were travelling over the Tizi-n’Tichka pass that morning, heading back to Marrakech. Instead we repacked our luggage to overcome our rumbling tums!
Would recommend the hotel as an interesting and unusual break from the usual run of hotels found in these parts, and far more worthy than the chains!

I’d have preferred it if we were where Google had said, but you couldn’t really have a full-blown film studios slap bang in the middle of Ouarzazate.
SoniaNigel, England. Stay: Oct2013

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the pool is good, small balcony gets direct sun in the morning, Mind the step j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar H, Directeur général at Oscar Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hello,

I would like to thank you for choosing OSCAR Hotel for your last stay in Ouarzazate and for leaving your notes on Tripadvisor.
OSCAR Hotel is in fact 3 km far from the city center but the road is called Blvd Mohamed V since it is in the city limits.
OSCAR Hotel is fully decorated with accessories and pictures from the movies shot in the studios next door. It is truthfully a unique concept in Morocco.
The entrance fee is reduced for the hotel guests comparing to external visitors.
We have already taken all the necessary actions regarding serving breakfast on the announced time.
I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon at OSCAR Hotel.

All the best
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

AVOID THIS HOTEL

Booked and paid for through a travel agent.
We stayed for two nights - I wish we had packed up and paid to go elsewhere for the second night.

The only member of staff who spoke to us in a pleasant way was the room maid. Reception staff, brusque and unhelpfull. Coffee undrinkably bad, breakfast stale. Rooms very tired.
We were the only guests - I wonder why ?

I've visited Morocco many times over the last 30 years and stayed in dozens of hotels - this place was the worst of the lot - avoid

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar H, Directeur général at Oscar Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello,

I would like to thank for taking your time to leave us your comment on Tripadvisor.
Even taht we are very surprised will all your comments, I would like you to know that we are taking them very seriously and that all the appropriate actions will be taken.
I hope that your next stay will more approcaited.

Best

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just got back from a fantastic week staying at this hotel,for most of the week we were the only ones staying in the hotel and they gave us one of the suite rooms so we felt really spoiled. The food was all home cooked and tasted perfect, we had real Moroccan food. Breakfast was eggs, cakes, bread, fresh orange juice and coffee. dinner was 3 course, soup/salad to start, chicken tegine, couscos,etc for main and then homemade chocolate mousse,fruit ect for dessert.
we hired a car from Marrakech airport and drove to Ouarzazate about 3-4 hours over the Atlas mountains on hindsight we should have hired a 4WD! We then did various trips to Zagora, Dades valley, Todra Gorge where we hired a guide and some horses and spent 3 hours in the palermeries and the Gorge..fantastic, we went through Assettif Aventures about 700 metres from the start of the Gorge. we also want to mention Arafa Mohamed who owns a shop a few doors down, he sells some really nice Berber made items and will give you tea whilst you browse. On the whole we had a fantstic week staying at this Hotel.
just a helpful note on tipping, we tipped quite generously where ever we went as the average wage here is still low, they consider 5dh or 10dh a good tip which is 30p and 70p, we usually left 20dh for dinner l(£1.50) I tipped the chef and the room maid at the end of the holiday, and gave alms (money to the poor) sometimes on the street as I saw the locals do this all the time although there were not too many we never gave money to the children but took fruit and cereal bars,things they don't normally have up in the mountains.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar H, Gérant at Oscar Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello,

I would like to thank you for choosing OSCAR Hotel in Ouarzazate.
I'm glad that all you enjoyed your stay went well and you enjoyed particularly the food. It is excellent in fact. The chef chooses local ingredients and cook them in the traditional local way.
It is nice also that you liked also all your trip to the south of Morocco. it is a very nice and welcoming region.
I hope to have the opportunity to host you or your friends on your next visit to Ouarzazate.

The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

You arrive in Ouarzazate, the Hollywood of North Africa and you find immediately a nice small Hotel.....the Oscar Hotel.
Here you'll sleep surrounded by what was built by many big movies.
The Hotel is friendly, clean and the food is of good quality.
You can also take a tour of the sets built by various films done in the backlot of the Atlas Studios Atlas, just next to the hotel.
enjoy your days in Ouarzazate sleeping at the Oscar Hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Rooms are very clean and comfy and all different to each others, food is very good and all the staff is doing their best to make you feel at home.
With affordable prices and a good quality of services, we were all very happy of our staying.
Also because it is located in Atlas studio, you can visit the locations where many big movies have been shot and listen to their stories!

Definitely the place to stay in Ouarzazate!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Hotel is better than its photos on Trip Advisor. The staff is very friendly and the service is good. Food is amazing - Best Tajine in Ouarzazate. The rooms are pretty big & clean. If I go back to Ouarzazate I will definetly stay in Oscar Hotel again. I recommended Oscar Hotel to all my colleagues and family.

Room Tip: Room 215 is pretty big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oscar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Hotel

Address: KM 5 Route De Marrakech, Ouarzazate, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niché au cœur des fameux studios de cinéma Atlas, aux portes de Ouarzazate, OSCAR HOTEL vous offre un havre de paix et vous prépare en douceur aux sensations extrêmes du désert. Magique, cet hôtel de charme vous accueille dans une ambiance chaleureuse, en une atmosphère qui bascule entre passé et présent et où le cinéma s’invite dans tous les recoins. Vous apprécierez les magnifiques statues immortalisant les visages familiers de l’histoire du cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Oscar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.