We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oscar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Oscar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oscar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   KM 5 Route De Marrakech, Ouarzazate, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just got back from a fantastic week staying at this hotel,for most of the week we were the only ones staying in the hotel and they gave us one of the suite rooms so we felt really spoiled. The food was all home cooked and tasted perfect, we had real Moroccan food. Breakfast was eggs, cakes, bread, fresh orange juice and coffee. dinner was 3 course, soup/salad to start, chicken tegine, couscos,etc for main and then homemade chocolate mousse,fruit ect for dessert.
we hired a car from Marrakech airport and drove to Ouarzazate about 3-4 hours over the Atlas mountains on hindsight we should have hired a 4WD! We then did various trips to Zagora, Dades valley, Todra Gorge where we hired a guide and some horses and spent 3 hours in the palermeries and the Gorge..fantastic, we went through Assettif Aventures about 700 metres from the start of the Gorge. we also want to mention Arafa Mohamed who owns a shop a few doors down, he sells some really nice Berber made items and will give you tea whilst you browse. On the whole we had a fantstic week staying at this Hotel.
just a helpful note on tipping, we tipped quite generously where ever we went as the average wage here is still low, they consider 5dh or 10dh a good tip which is 30p and 70p, we usually left 20dh for dinner l(£1.50) I tipped the chef and the room maid at the end of the holiday, and gave alms (money to the poor) sometimes on the street as I saw the locals do this all the time although there were not too many we never gave money to the children but took fruit and cereal bars,things they don't normally have up in the mountains.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar H, Gérant at Oscar Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello,

I would like to thank you for choosing OSCAR Hotel in Ouarzazate.
I'm glad that all you enjoyed your stay went well and you enjoyed particularly the food. It is excellent in fact. The chef chooses local ingredients and cook them in the traditional local way.
It is nice also that you liked also all your trip to the south of Morocco. it is a very nice and welcoming region.
I hope to have the opportunity to host you or your friends on your next visit to Ouarzazate.

The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
11
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

You arrive in Ouarzazate, the Hollywood of North Africa and you find immediately a nice small Hotel.....the Oscar Hotel.
Here you'll sleep surrounded by what was built by many big movies.
The Hotel is friendly, clean and the food is of good quality.
You can also take a tour of the sets built by various films done in the backlot of the Atlas Studios Atlas, just next to the hotel.
enjoy your days in Ouarzazate sleeping at the Oscar Hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Rooms are very clean and comfy and all different to each others, food is very good and all the staff is doing their best to make you feel at home.
With affordable prices and a good quality of services, we were all very happy of our staying.
Also because it is located in Atlas studio, you can visit the locations where many big movies have been shot and listen to their stories!

Definitely the place to stay in Ouarzazate!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Hotel is better than its photos on Trip Advisor. The staff is very friendly and the service is good. Food is amazing - Best Tajine in Ouarzazate. The rooms are pretty big & clean. If I go back to Ouarzazate I will definetly stay in Oscar Hotel again. I recommended Oscar Hotel to all my colleagues and family.

Room Tip: Room 215 is pretty big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I definitely recommend the hotel very much, for everyone who is planning to visit Ouarzazate. You will have the opportunity to visit the film sets next to the hotel and feel like in Hollywood.

Food and the approach of the whole personnel is specially very good. All rooms are well airconditioned and the free wi-fi is available everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarlo, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Next door to the interesting Atlasstudio`s (first visit at 08.30 hrs; half hour visit). It is really not a B&B but a normal but good hotel, good breakfast, perfect rooms but without personal touch of course.
Good value for its money, and practically to arrive late and leave early. From here we visited first the studio`s, take a dive in the pool, than the city castle of ourzazate, ait ben haddou, the nice road to telouet, the T&Tpass, trough Marrakech to arrive at about 22 hrs at Essaouira. And without hurry.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here for one night on the way back from an Erg Chebbi desert trek.

The hotel is a bit surreal in that it's the grounds of a deserted desert film studio and has mummies and Egyptian paraphernalia everywhere. I think we stayed at a particularly quiet time - there were 6 other guests at most - so perhaps some of the faded Hollywood glamour and mystique was missing!

Our room was quite large with an ensuite as well as a separate washbasin behind the door. It
was clean and comfortable, but our clothes did reek a bit of mothballs for a few days afterwards. There is a swimming pool for cooling off, with some loungers and chairs dotted around it.

The waiting staff were excellent - very efficient, friendly and they made sure they catered to some allergy-related dietary requirements we had. The food was good and fresh - it was a set menu with no choice - but I think they cooked us some extra dishes from scratch to accommodate us (me) and my allergy.

There are Gladiator pictures everywhere - so if you're a fan, this is probably the hotel for you!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oscar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Hotel

Address: KM 5 Route De Marrakech, Ouarzazate, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niché au cœur des fameux studios de cinéma Atlas, aux portes de Ouarzazate, OSCAR HOTEL vous offre un havre de paix et vous prépare en douceur aux sensations extrêmes du désert. Magique, cet hôtel de charme vous accueille dans une ambiance chaleureuse, en une atmosphère qui bascule entre passé et présent et où le cinéma s’invite dans tous les recoins. Vous apprécierez les magnifiques statues immortalisant les visages familiers de l’histoire du cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Oscar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.