We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal, comfortable, excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Azoul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Azoul to your Saves list
Hotel Azoul
Mohammed 5, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 57 Ouarzazate B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Personal, comfortable, excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed a couple of days in this small and comfortable hotel. Service was great, staff very friendly and accommodating and the rooms were clean and cosy. The roof top terrace provided a nice terrace and small restaurant for a lavish breakfast and drinks. Excellent place for a couple of relaxing days and well located to discover the treasures of this wonderful area in southern morocco!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    34
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
40
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Had all the amenities we needed for our 2 stops in Ouarzazate to get organized - in-room heat and wifi, breakfast, TV, nice rooftop terrace. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good dinner, also, even though we only had half-board one of our 2 stays. I suppose it could be closer to the centre (5-10 minute walk) but we didn't mind at all. About halfway to the bus station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed one night. We have been sent there by the owner of another riad (we were looking for a place with heating because night is cold in December in Ouarzazate even if it's sunny). It was a good choice. The place is clean and nice (despite the flags at the entrance). Our room was nice and decorated, a lot of rose petals everywhere; the bed was huge (triple)!! and there is heating and TV. The price was very good for the service, only 42 euros for a double room. Breakfast was good (standard Moroccan) but was on the roof terrace! If you find a place at the sun it's not too cold but having breakfast in a cold place is a bit annoying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The room space was pretty tight, but comfortable for it's intended purpose (sleep and leave). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the balcony was pleasant. WI-FI was sporadic. Not a lot of options in Ouarzazate and this would not be my first, but a pleasant enough place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We made a last minute booking for this place as we decided to spend a night in Ouarzazate. We had the 'folklore'-room. Nicely decorated and very comfortable (rain shower,flatscreen tv, ...) Beware as it can get cold in winter time and this room didn't have any heating - luckily the owners provided us with some extra blankets...

Reception was very friendly, hotel and room very clean and the breakfast on the lovely roof terrace was definitely okay.

Definitely recommendable!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

This is a mediocre small hotel.
The room was reasonable, and so was the bathroom and breakfast.
Although the hotel advertised wi-fi connection in all rooms, the only place where it was available was the lobby, which can seat only 3... The staff did not even attempt to solve the problem.
The hotel is inexpensive, so it is ok for those who are looking for a place to sleep and move on.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

It is on the main road in Ouarzazate, just opposite the married quarters of the gendamerie barracks. Our room was a little spartan, but spotlessly clean and comfortable. The en suite bathroom sported a terrific shower, which is essential in that hot and dusty climate. The air conditioning was very efficient.
Meals are served on the rooftop terrace, which gives terrific views of the town and surrounding countryside. Breakfasts are substantial. We opted to have our evening meals in the hotel (most residents choose to eat out), and the dinners are substantial, well cooked and well presented. We were asked to choose our options from the menu in advance, which was not a problem for us.
Wifi is available in reception only. The staff are efficient, friendly and hospitable. However, most speak Arabic and French only. Guests who do not speak reasonable French will struggle.
The hotel is about 15 mins stroll from the centre of town. There is a bank with a cash machine about 4 doors down from the hotel. There are plenty of car rental outlets within easy reach. Offroad car parking is easily available in the alley next to the hotel.
The main road is busy, round the clock. Rooms which face onto the road are not advisable for light sleepers. On the plus side, it is not near a mosque, so there's no early morning wakeup call from the muezzin! The hotel is on four floors, but there is no lift - this is not the hotel for those with impaired mobility.
The hotel is geared for people who spend just one or two nights in Ouarzazate before moving on. So don't expect a huge, Michelin-starred menu to choose from, or much in the way of entertainment. One final point: the water is heated by solar heating - so evening showers will tend to be much hotter than early morning showers!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Azoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azoul

Address: Mohammed 5, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Azoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Azoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.