We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely interior.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Kasbah des sables

La Kasbah des sables
195 ait kdif, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
00212524885428
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 48 Restaurants in Ouarzazate
Price range: $23 - $29
Cuisines: Moroccan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely interior.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Located down a dark alleyway, this restaurant has a lovely interior. As the only diners we had the pick of the tables so sat beside the pool. It's certainly a very unusual interior and nice and clean. The food was quite good but not good enough to make us return.
Check out the toilets before you leave !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    30
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Ouarzazate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a beautiful place to spend an evening ! Hassan showed us around each of the rooms which are decorated with exquisite Berber collection of artifacts and paintings. Dining was at pool side, quiet and romantic. The French Moroccan food was excellent, best we had in Morocco. This is definitely the restaurant to go for the "experience". The restaurant is 5 km from town and we took a cab from the hotel. It would not be easy to walk there at night as it's in a residential area, on a side street off the main road.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food and stunning place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The food and the decor were both very special .... This is an art gallery type setting with inventive food and a wonderful break from the moroccan staples! We loved it

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Charming Food & Beautiful Berber Restaurant in Ouarzazate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My family and I visited La Kasbah des Sables during our family visit to Ouarzazate n our Morocco tour this past September. We found the atmosphere to be stunning and the food just lovely. This beautiful Berber restaurant is decorated with local art from Ouarzazate and the French owner and Manager Hassan were nothing less then hospitable, warm and charming. I recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking to dine in a restored Kasbah with original decor and food to match.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northcliff, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best tajine I've had in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Besides the amazing decor, this was the best food I have had in Morocco. The interior is very cosy and romantic with an indoor pool. The staff was very friendly, switching off the restaurant lights after our meal, creating an even cosier atmosphere. They even let you get into the pool. This was the best restaurant I visited in Morocco. Definite must. The almond, apple and lamb tajine is mouth watering!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Kasbah des sables also viewed

Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 
Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
Ouarzazate, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 

Been to La Kasbah des sables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Kasbah des sables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.