We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is for people who don't read Tripadvisor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de Ouarzazate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Les Jardins de Ouarzazate to your Saves list
Les Jardins de Ouarzazate
Km 1, Route de Zagora, Tabounte, Ouarzazate, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“This hotel is for people who don't read Tripadvisor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Normally I'm so good about checking Tripadvisor before I book a hotel. But our plans changed at the last minute, and we were just tired so we checked into Les Jardins. Mistake. There isn't any one thing that is wrong with this hotel, it is just that it seems like everything is just slightly wrong. Threadbare towels, dark rooms, average food... For us, the thing that prompted the negative review was the staff. In our three weeks in Morocco we met so many friendly, engaging, helpful workers in the hotels and restaurants. It was a highlight of our trip. But at this hotel, no one seemed very sincere. They either didn't care to engage with us or when they did it was in that way that made you wonder if they were about to try to sell you a camel trip. You can definitely do better elsewhere. We moved to Dar Barbara and were much happier there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    68
    26
    27
    15
See reviews for
44
62
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Good facilities including pool. Excellent service. Good value

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night as part of a trek around Morocco. We did not choose the hotel ourselves and so I don't know how much our tour company paid to put us up there but it was too much however much they paid!

The staff on the front desk were very unfriendly. Our room had a "view" of the gardens which in reality meant that we could see (and hear) the very busy main road and were directly above the hotel's outdoor bar which was very noisy indeed. The room itself was unclean - the rugs clearly hadn't been hoovered or bashed out in quite some time. The bathroom was ok. The door to the room had a bizarre padlock and huge bolt on the outside which was not exactly reassuring - a prankster (or maniac) could quite easily padlock and bolt you in your room and you wouldn't be able to do anything about it.

It felt as though the staff were all "in" on some joke that they shared amongst themselves, particularly at breakfast where two waiters kept saying "bon appetit!" in an overzealous and sarcastic manner which led us to believe that something odd was going on with the food. It did look as though the pancakes and pastries had been hanging around for quite some time. The milk was also off.

The best thing about our stay was the free WiFi in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We booked in advance. Booking was OK and no problems. Instead of a familyroom they offered us to rooms. We were with 5 and had a room for three and one for four people...enough space. The swimmingpool is great when you have good weather.
Rooms are OK. There came some groups.

The service was OK. The waiters where very nice and funny. They learned us some Arabic words we never forget. I woke up at 7 am by some traffic. Some rooms are near the road.

Room Tip: the rooms in the garden are even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincentia Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

This was a stopover for one night on the way to Marrakesh and after a very long day was nice to have full board, a clean, big family room and a television to catch up on what had been happening in the world.

The best about the hotel is the pool and gardens (too cold for us to enjoy them but I imagine very welcome in the summer). The entrance foyer is impressive, the rooms less so. Although roomy the towels have seen better days and the pillow cases are grey. In the evening the water was hot but in the morning NOT. Luke warm would be a generous word.

If you stay here you should ask for a room that does not front onto the main road. The hotel is already noisy ^but after staying in riads you get a little used to general noise. The street noise is just too much on top of the rest, the least being what comes from the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed at Les Jardins de Ouarzazate for two nights. The garden is very nice, but the rooms that we stayed in were quite bad. It seems like the hotel has seen better days, but it's pretty run down now. The first night we stayed in a corner room on the first floor. The window looked on to the street and the air conditioner didn't work. We asked for a better room for the second night and got one of the rooms in the garden close to the pool. It was much bigger than the other room and had two beds (one double and one single). It was really dark though and there was still somebody else's food in the little fridge...not all the lights in the room were working.

The staff was very cold or even unfriendly (except the elder barman at the garden bar). The tableware at breakfast seemed dirty, and it just all seemed so dingy. We did not feel comfortoble at Les Jardins de Ouarzazate, so if you know a better place to sleep at, I recommend you go there instead.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

A rather unfriendly welcome in what might have been a grand hotel that has somehow lost its charm. The food wasn't good at all despite the waiters trying hard to please. It was all a bit tired.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Jardins de Ouarzazate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de Ouarzazate

Address: Km 1, Route de Zagora, Tabounte, Ouarzazate, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Les Jardins de Ouarzazate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de Ouarzazate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.