We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great oasis... in every sense of the word” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge La Terrasse des Delices

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Auberge La Terrasse des Delices to your Saves list
Auberge La Terrasse des Delices
Oasis de Fint | Douar Taharbilte, Ouarzazate, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great oasis... in every sense of the word”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We stayed at La Terrasse des Delices only one night…. and we wish our stay had been longer!

This place was great! The Oasis of Fint is a truly hidden Moroccan gem and this hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the oasis with a great view from the ample terrace. They even organized a private walking tour of the oasis for the two of us. We meandered through the oasis, ate fresh dates off of the palm trees, watched the local women making bread (and even got to sample some hot bread), saw the gardens, and took photos of frogs as we waded through the streams. Really great!

The food at the hotel was good and we had a lovely chat with the hotel owner (a genuinely nice man) by candle light underneath the stars after dinner and then were even treated to some live traditional music. A real nice experience!

The room was simple, but got the job done. When we stayed there in August, there was a lot of renovation going on, so I expect that the hotel will be even nicer than before.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    48
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
72
83
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nannup, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

after a hectic bustrip over numerous mountainranges and 6 hour bus delay it was a relief to find our host Rachid waiting patiently at the busstop to take us to our home away from home for the next few days. A real oasis that offered peace,tranquility and authenticity,opportunity for long walks and explorations along the riverbed,and homely atmosphere from our genorous host and his family. the food we had was one of the best in morocco, beautiful omelettes and pancakes in the morning, delicious tagines and couscous at night, followed by drumming sessions on the beautiful verandah each night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

From the moment we arrived for our 4 day stay at the Auberge, Rachid went out of his way to make us comfortable and respond to our every need!. This, even though he was busy all day overseeing the almost total renovation of the Auberge. Our room was large and in a quite little courtyard. It was comfortable except it did not have a closet or place to unpack and hang up clothes. This was fairly common in Morocco. However, we asked and he got a clothes rack, and put a small table in the room on which to lay out our clothes.
While we were there the new and elegant outdoor covered restaurant, with it's wonderful views of Fint Oasis and the mountains was completed. As well he was installing A/C and new bathrooms in all the rooms. Though the new restaurant was completed, at our request Rachid put a table with candles out on the uncovered terrace for us to dine under the stars and almost full moon, each night. In the background the music of drumming from one of his family/staff. We had arranged to have cooking lessons before we came and indeed his mother and sister who do the cooking taught us all about how to cook tagines, and several kinds of Berber omelets. Though Rachid speaks English very well, his family members do not. We do not speak Berber nor French, but we were able to learn from his family by being shown, and sitting with them and chopping and slicing, stirring, and spicing. Though Rachid took us at our request, to shop in the out door food market in Ouarzazate to buy the spices to take home, when we left he gifted us with many of the spices and little dishes in which they are served. Another example of the hospitality and generosity that characterizes a stay with Rachid and his family- or even just dropping in for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

After crossing several small streams and beautiful paysage, we arrived in La Terrase des Délices. The view was WOW, Rachid and his family know how to make us feel welcome and comfortable. We had our dinner during with Rachid and we tasted the best couscous in Morrocco , and a beautiful evening chatting and counting stars. Rooms are basics but Rachid is putting in air-conditioner in rooms. I would recommend this place to anyone seeking authentic side of Morrocco.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

After driving across the rocky desert then down into the tree lined oasis of Fint it is magical. I was greeted warmly by Rachid and staff, They made me feel like family. Walking along the river under the palm trees after dinner is romantic and soothing. Dawns and sunsets are spectacular,at night the air is so clear that you feel that you can touch the multitude of stars.
It was painful to watch the young boys playing soccer barefoot in the dry river bed. But they were joyous in their play.
The typical food was wonderful and the staff attentive. My stay at Auberge La Terrasse des Delices was the most memorable part of my trips to Morocco. Traveling alone in Morocco is safe.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed there in April and I have been meaning to write this review for a long time. Rachid is an undoubtedly brilliant host and he will do basically anything for you that he possibly can. He totally went out of his way to help us with numerous things which without his help we would have never ever got sorted ourselves. And the whole family are genuinely nice, warm and welcoming people. I don't speak any French apart from a few words and Rachid's dad doesn't speak English but we spent an hour talking and joking on the terrace.... I don't know how but we did!!! They are the nicest people you could wish to meet on your travels and you can't put a price on the experience and memories you will be leaving with. They seem to be constantly improving the facilities as well as you can probably tell from the photos. I am not posting any on purpose. I think it is better to go there and discover the place for yourself, it is very special and you will never forget it. And you most definitely won't regret staying there. I simply cannot recommend it highly enough!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Auberge La Terrasse des Delices and we cannot speak highly enough about it. We drove to Fint after staying in Marrakech for a couple of days and it is such a difference! It is truly a paradise - so calm and beautiful.

Rachid and his team were so helpful and friendly - we spent a lot of time sitting on the terrace trying to improve our French and drinking mint tea and they gave us advice about where we should visit. They are a group of genuinely nice people who wanted to get to know us and talk to us.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean and set around a beautiful courtyard. There is an amazing large dining room where you have delicious dinners and the boys play drums and sing late into the evening. The terrace was a lovely place to sit and have breakfast or mint tea as the sun went down.

Rachid went out of his way to help us in so many ways and it really made our holiday a totally enjoyable experience.

The oasis in front of the hotel is so beautiful - I've never been anywhere like it. We sat on the sand for hours listening to the frogs and watching the stream. It is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been.

We were only supposed to stay there for 2 nights but we ended up staying an extra night. We would have stayed longer if we hadn't had other accomodation booked and we would LOVE to go again and would recommend that anyone who goes to Morocco should go there!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge La Terrasse des Delices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Terrasse des Delices

Address: Oasis de Fint | Douar Taharbilte, Ouarzazate, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in our beautiful hotel situated in the mountains overlooking the Oasis of Fint,a magnificent landscape!. You will be able to escape from the city life to spend time surrounded by nature, being only 15 kilometers from Ouarzazate. The Terrasse des Délices is a family hotel with 13 rooms all equipped with reversible air conditioning, individuals bathroom and toilets. Hotel endowed with a swimming pool.Spending time with us, you will enjoy calm, serenity, and live music at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge La Terrasse des Delices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge La Terrasse des Delices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.