We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a dream at the entrance of the desert!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Merzouga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guest House Merzouga to your Saves list
Guest House Merzouga
| Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 62 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Like a dream at the entrance of the desert!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Amazing terrace view to the Sahara high dunes, incredible hospitality (the owner and his staff are the nicest and warmest people), great food, beautiful decoration and bedroom, everything just impeccable. We wished we could have stayed longer, and will certainly come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    38
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
136
229
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

everyone in the guest house was extremely friendly and polite, and regularly enquired about any needs we might have.

they truly treated us like family, taking time to sit down to have tea and a chat with us about anything.

the rooms were very big and traditional, and facilities were extremely adequate. rooftop terrace provided an extremely scenic view of the sand dunes, especially during sunrise and sunset.

dinner there was also one of the best we had in morocco.

would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a room in merzouga!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Maison Merzouga was our peak experience in Morocco! From the time we arrived to the time we departed we were treated to the finest hospitality. First of all the desert tour they arranged was magical. It was the perfect place to spend the day after the tour relaxing and enjoying the luxurious surroundings. The staff were intelligent, professional, funny and talented. We looked forward to all of our meals because the food was prepared to perfection. If there is any place that we could spend more time it would be here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My friends and I stopped at the Guest House Merzouga both before and after we headed to an overnight adventure via camel to the desert. The staff, particularly our host, Lahazzan, took amazing care of us - making sure we got to the take off point on time and in comfort, and on our return provided a wonderful, welcoming place to relax and refresh after our overnight trek. We had a delicious breakfast with all sorts of breads and jams, and wonderful omelets in the covered courtyard that looked out on the pool. We wished we could have stayed the night to take a drive around the desert the following day to cover a little more ground than we had via camel and check out the open market. Hopefully next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you are visiting Merzouga then I can only recommend you stay at the Guest House Merzouga. We had a wonderful experience, the rooms are large and comfortable with aircon but still retain a unique, authentic and traditional style. The food was excellent and plentiful. The key selling point is the warm and welcoming family that run this guesthouse. We had a very enjoyable 4x4 tour of the area with Omar on our brief visit, only wish we could have stayed for longer and camped in the desert.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mies, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We recently stayed at "La Maison Merzouga", during a trip in the South of Morocco. As a matter of fact, we spent the night outside in the desert, but la Maison Merzouga offered us all the confort before and after our night out. We enjoyed the warm welcome by the staff, and the room they provided tom us to freshen up before and after our camel trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

During our short stay at the Guest House Merzouga we encountered some of the friendliest service of any hotel/ guest house we have ever visited. The owner couldn't do enough for us, including arranging for a new car battery to be delivered from the nearest mechanics. Rooms were clean and traditional and food was good and plentiful, but the friendly service is the thing that makes this place stand out. Our only regret is not being able to stay longer.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guest House Merzouga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Merzouga

Address: | Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tout au milieu du désert au pied des dunes d'or d'Erg Chebbi se trouve une auberge pas comme les autres,la maison d'hôte de la famille SEGGAOUI.Ici, vous aurez toutes les chances de découvrir l'hospitalité berbère authentique, dans un climat familial chaleureux.Ali et sa famille vous accueillent à Merzouga, site grandiose du Désert Marocain, au pied des dunes de l'Erg Chebbi, de véritables sculpture mouvantes en forme de draperies, qui culminent à 150 mètres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guest House Merzouga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Merzouga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.