We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is all true” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Merzouga

Save Saved
You added Guest House Merzouga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guest House Merzouga
| Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 57 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It is all true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It is over a year since we stayed at this guest house and I still think it was one of the highlights of our holiday.Did mean to post a review at the time but just never got around to it, but doing it a year on must say something! All the good things said in other reports are all very true. Ali, his brother and nephew are all great hosts. Don't miss the trip to the dunes that they will arrange for you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    461
    38
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
131
215
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We greatly appreciated the warm hospitality of the family Seggaoui in the excellent Guest House Merzourga, enjoying the swimming pool, the good food and the friendly conversations with Mr. Lahcen. It was really hard to leave it for continuing the travel!

Room Tip: We enjoyed one of the rooms at ground floor, close to the swimming poll.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent two nights last week at the Guest House - one night at the House and the other night in the dunes. Ali and his brother are wonderful hosts. They have created a beautiful, welcoming, and enjoyable place for their guests. The camel trek into the dunes and overnight under the stars was magical. This place was truly a highlight of our Moroccan travels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This guesthouse is top! Very clean, beautiful large rooms and the best Moroccan food ever.
The swimming pool is not too big and not too small, just perfect. The breakfast is nice and the location can't be better. Just 10min walking from the dunes.
Ali, the host, is the best!! Thank you Ali for all the information, for your patience and your hospitality. We will recommend this address to everybody. You can't visit the dunes without staying at your place. Thanks again and we hope to see you again one day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We arrived around 11pm in the center of Merzouga by car. We made the mistake of pulling out a map and the faux guides were on our car like hyenas! Avoid these faux guides at all costs, they will say ANYTHING to get you to follow them - stay strong!! We went about 5KM back to the gas station on the main road that leads to Merzouga and made a right onto the only other "paved road" which led us directly to Guest House Merzouga. The faux guides claimed this guest house could only be reached 1) by following them and 2) only if you had a 4x4 - neither is true. We had a tiny rental car and had no issues!

Ali, is the operator of Guest House Merzouga and he could not have been more warm and welcoming to us at close to midnight. He set us up with a room and made us a nice meal as well. In the morning he arranged for us to have an ATV tour of the desert. The guest house is beautiful, clean, well maintained and the pool is a very nice bonus in the heat! Ali and his family run a great business and this is a FANTASTIC place to stay when you are in Merzouga!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Ali is a great host, we arrived very late for one night only, and as we did not want to miss the night in the desert, Ali managed to get us camels straight away to head to the desert.
An amazing stay in a lovely place, the pool is great and the staff is so kind !

Thank you, we'll come back !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our family of 4 adults spent a wonderful 2 nights and 3 days here. Ali was a terrific host and the entire staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. We were very comfortable in some of the larger rooms off the main courtyard and enjoyed relaxing in the pool and in the many corner sofa areas. The views of the dunes from the roof are spectacular. The Moroccan food is delicious and plentiful and was served by a charming young man who spoke at least 7 different languages. I especially enjoyed a long conversation with Ali one afternoon as his twin boys sat on his lap. We were lucky to be there when there were few other guests!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guest House Merzouga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Merzouga

Address: | Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tout au milieu du désert au pied des dunes d'or d'Erg Chebbi se trouve une auberge pas comme les autres,la maison d'hôte de la famille SEGGAOUI.Ici, vous aurez toutes les chances de découvrir l'hospitalité berbère authentique, dans un climat familial chaleureux.Ali et sa famille vous accueillent à Merzouga, site grandiose du Désert Marocain, au pied des dunes de l'Erg Chebbi, de véritables sculpture mouvantes en forme de draperies, qui culminent à 150 mètres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Guest House Merzouga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Merzouga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.