We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home in the desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Merzouga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guest House Merzouga to your Saves list
Guest House Merzouga
| Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 80 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Italy
1 review
“Feeling at home in the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We greatly appreciated the warm hospitality of the family Seggaoui in the excellent Guest House Merzourga, enjoying the swimming pool, the good food and the friendly conversations with Mr. Lahcen. It was really hard to leave it for continuing the travel!

Room Tip: We enjoyed one of the rooms at ground floor, close to the swimming poll.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent two nights last week at the Guest House - one night at the House and the other night in the dunes. Ali and his brother are wonderful hosts. They have created a beautiful, welcoming, and enjoyable place for their guests. The camel trek into the dunes and overnight under the stars was magical. This place was truly a highlight of our Moroccan travels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This guesthouse is top! Very clean, beautiful large rooms and the best Moroccan food ever.
The swimming pool is not too big and not too small, just perfect. The breakfast is nice and the location can't be better. Just 10min walking from the dunes.
Ali, the host, is the best!! Thank you Ali for all the information, for your patience and your hospitality. We will recommend this address to everybody. You can't visit the dunes without staying at your place. Thanks again and we hope to see you again one day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emahauden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We arrived around 11pm in the center of Merzouga by car. We made the mistake of pulling out a map and the faux guides were on our car like hyenas! Avoid these faux guides at all costs, they will say ANYTHING to get you to follow them - stay strong!! We went about 5KM back to the gas station on the main road that leads to Merzouga and made a right onto the only other "paved road" which led us directly to Guest House Merzouga. The faux guides claimed this guest house could only be reached 1) by following them and 2) only if you had a 4x4 - neither is true. We had a tiny rental car and had no issues!

Ali, is the operator of Guest House Merzouga and he could not have been more warm and welcoming to us at close to midnight. He set us up with a room and made us a nice meal as well. In the morning he arranged for us to have an ATV tour of the desert. The guest house is beautiful, clean, well maintained and the pool is a very nice bonus in the heat! Ali and his family run a great business and this is a FANTASTIC place to stay when you are in Merzouga!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNHUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Ali is a great host, we arrived very late for one night only, and as we did not want to miss the night in the desert, Ali managed to get us camels straight away to head to the desert.
An amazing stay in a lovely place, the pool is great and the staff is so kind !

Thank you, we'll come back !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our family of 4 adults spent a wonderful 2 nights and 3 days here. Ali was a terrific host and the entire staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. We were very comfortable in some of the larger rooms off the main courtyard and enjoyed relaxing in the pool and in the many corner sofa areas. The views of the dunes from the roof are spectacular. The Moroccan food is delicious and plentiful and was served by a charming young man who spoke at least 7 different languages. I especially enjoyed a long conversation with Ali one afternoon as his twin boys sat on his lap. We were lucky to be there when there were few other guests!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureloverSanLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Ali runs a high quality, great value for money, impeccably clean hotel with a bespoke approach. This was third stop on the Jebel Toubkal/Valle de Rose/Desert road trip. From the first minute we felt welcome and relaxed. After 10 minutes discussing and had a great programme featuring an overnight camel trek, off-road driving and a chill out day. Thanks to Hassan for great 4WD instruction, to Omar for the desert trek and to Ali for everything. Special note: the family supports a project to keep the desert clean and you get a feeling that a share of the money you spend is shared in the community.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#3 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#15 of 22 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
2.9 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#2 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Nasser Palace
Nasser Palace
#3 of 5 in Hassilabied
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Les Roches
Auberge Les Roches
#4 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
3.3 mi away
Camels House
Camels House
#1 of 80 in Merzouga
5.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Merzouga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Merzouga

Address: | Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tout au milieu du désert au pied des dunes d'or d'Erg Chebbi se trouve une auberge pas comme les autres,la maison d'hôte de la famille SEGGAOUI.Ici, vous aurez toutes les chances de découvrir l'hospitalité berbère authentique, dans un climat familial chaleureux.Ali et sa famille vous accueillent à Merzouga, site grandiose du Désert Marocain, au pied des dunes de l'Erg Chebbi, de véritables sculpture mouvantes en forme de draperies, qui culminent à 150 mètres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Guest House Merzouga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing