We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Merzouga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guest House Merzouga to your Saves list
Guest House Merzouga
| Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 62 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Ali is a great host, we arrived very late for one night only, and as we did not want to miss the night in the desert, Ali managed to get us camels straight away to head to the desert.
An amazing stay in a lovely place, the pool is great and the staff is so kind !

Thank you, we'll come back !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    38
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
136
229
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our family of 4 adults spent a wonderful 2 nights and 3 days here. Ali was a terrific host and the entire staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. We were very comfortable in some of the larger rooms off the main courtyard and enjoyed relaxing in the pool and in the many corner sofa areas. The views of the dunes from the roof are spectacular. The Moroccan food is delicious and plentiful and was served by a charming young man who spoke at least 7 different languages. I especially enjoyed a long conversation with Ali one afternoon as his twin boys sat on his lap. We were lucky to be there when there were few other guests!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Ali runs a high quality, great value for money, impeccably clean hotel with a bespoke approach. This was third stop on the Jebel Toubkal/Valle de Rose/Desert road trip. From the first minute we felt welcome and relaxed. After 10 minutes discussing and had a great programme featuring an overnight camel trek, off-road driving and a chill out day. Thanks to Hassan for great 4WD instruction, to Omar for the desert trek and to Ali for everything. Special note: the family supports a project to keep the desert clean and you get a feeling that a share of the money you spend is shared in the community.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We organized the trip to Merzouga following an advise from friends who had already been there. They were talking about merzouga and "Maison merzouga" as they had lived a dream. They weren't wrong. We had the best time: perfect accomodation with really nice and tidy rooms provided with every comfort, excellent service, exquisit cooking and the owner Hassan (Lahcen) is a wonderful host. We suggest everyone to pick the desert trip on camels with the night to be spent in tent, with music show performed by the berber friends who accompanied us. But Lahcen wasn't only a perfect desert guide, he brought us to the market the day after, lettin' us breath and feel the berber atmosphere. during all our staying he has been a wonderful companion. We surely hope to come back sooner or later, Insch'Allah. Mercì beaucoup, Lahcen! yours, Flavia "gazzella" & Tommaso "gazzello"

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The staff of the Guest House were absolutely lovely throughout our stay and offered us the most charming welcome that we'd had in our entire trip to Morocco. We felt extremely well cared for by them and for lack of a better word, were enchanted by the entire family. The location of the Guest House is fantastic and it offers stunning views of the Dunes from the rooftop. The food onsite, especially the breakfasts, were some of the best we had during our very long trip around the country. Finally, the house itself is pretty magical and beautifully decorated. I'd absolutely recommend this place to anyone traveling in the area and thank everyone at the guest house for a fantastic experience. I hope to be back again in the future.

The only reminder I'd offer is that you are traveling in an adventurous area and that the property is somewhat open to the natural wildlife there. Also, if you are going on the overnight excursion into the dunes, again remember that you are camping and should have a flash-light, etc. with you. In my opinion, the benefits of staying at the guest house far outweigh any concerns.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We arrived late after a very long journey to the edge of Erg Chebbi. Ali and his excellent staff could not have been more welcoming. We felt like extended family. An excellent dinner was waiting in the garden and music was played. We had tea near the beautiful pool as we planned our 4x4 excursion for the following morning and also received more information about our planned overnight adventure to the berber tent camp in the dunes. Mohammed was a fantastic guide the following morning and we highly recommend taking the excursion to see flamingos, the black desert and even a stop for tea with a nomad. We then returned to the guest house for lunch and to prepare for our overnight. If you are at all worried about doing an overnight camp into the dunes, this is the place you'll want to do it with. Ali made sure we were comfortable and even stayed with us until we were securely up on our camels and ready for the 90 minute ride to the dunes to catch sunset. the whole experience was definitely an adventure - this is a true tent camp with limited amenities - but it's an experience we won't forget. Dinner was great and sunrise over the dunes made it very much worth it. We returned the next morning for a shower and breakfast before saying goodbye to Ali and his beautiful twin boys! We highly recommend this guesthouse as part of a great Moroccan holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We came here after spending a night in a Berber tent riding camels in and out of the dunes, on arrival we were settled in with some mint tea and immediately could see it was the perfect choice for some desert relaxation. Right from the start the staff are friendly and helpful and this theme continued throughout our stay. We only had one night to spare but we could easily have spent much longer here. I would reccomend this place without any reservations and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guest House Merzouga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Merzouga

Address: | Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tout au milieu du désert au pied des dunes d'or d'Erg Chebbi se trouve une auberge pas comme les autres,la maison d'hôte de la famille SEGGAOUI.Ici, vous aurez toutes les chances de découvrir l'hospitalité berbère authentique, dans un climat familial chaleureux.Ali et sa famille vous accueillent à Merzouga, site grandiose du Désert Marocain, au pied des dunes de l'Erg Chebbi, de véritables sculpture mouvantes en forme de draperies, qui culminent à 150 mètres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guest House Merzouga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Merzouga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.