We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect base for a desert adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Merzouga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guest House Merzouga to your Saves list
Guest House Merzouga
| Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 61 Merzouga B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The perfect base for a desert adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We arrived late after a very long journey to the edge of Erg Chebbi. Ali and his excellent staff could not have been more welcoming. We felt like extended family. An excellent dinner was waiting in the garden and music was played. We had tea near the beautiful pool as we planned our 4x4 excursion for the following morning and also received more information about our planned overnight adventure to the berber tent camp in the dunes. Mohammed was a fantastic guide the following morning and we highly recommend taking the excursion to see flamingos, the black desert and even a stop for tea with a nomad. We then returned to the guest house for lunch and to prepare for our overnight. If you are at all worried about doing an overnight camp into the dunes, this is the place you'll want to do it with. Ali made sure we were comfortable and even stayed with us until we were securely up on our camels and ready for the 90 minute ride to the dunes to catch sunset. the whole experience was definitely an adventure - this is a true tent camp with limited amenities - but it's an experience we won't forget. Dinner was great and sunrise over the dunes made it very much worth it. We returned the next morning for a shower and breakfast before saying goodbye to Ali and his beautiful twin boys! We highly recommend this guesthouse as part of a great Moroccan holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    38
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
135
227
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We came here after spending a night in a Berber tent riding camels in and out of the dunes, on arrival we were settled in with some mint tea and immediately could see it was the perfect choice for some desert relaxation. Right from the start the staff are friendly and helpful and this theme continued throughout our stay. We only had one night to spare but we could easily have spent much longer here. I would reccomend this place without any reservations and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Maison Merzouga Guesthouse was an unexpected surprise. The hotel is outstanding: located 3 minutes walk from the desert, built according to the local taste and customes, serving the best dinner and breakfast we had during the whole 3-week trip across Morocco and offering great services to visit and experience the desert.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fantastic welcome from Ali who came and searched us after a 6h ride from Ouarzazate with 3 kids aged 8, 7 and 2.5 years old. He offered tea for all of us and showed us our room previously heated for our confort, we agreed on what the program could be the next day which was going out as a family for a day in the desert. We had a lovely supper in front of fireplace and Ali had a chat with us on his family, all his children matched our children's ages. The day in the desert was just great, we kicked off in the morning with an 1H30 ride on the camels and arrived to the tents where Youssef our guide prepared a berber pizza for us. The kids thoroughly enjoyed the freedom and we the silence and calmness only broken by our children's laughs. Youssef was very discreet and kind to all of us including having to tighten the cover in which I tied my little girl to myself when she fall asleep during our walk back.
Came back at the end of the day and watched the sunset from the dunes and walked the final part without our shoes on the sand letting go any tension to the earth. Supper again in front of the fireplace with a windy and chilly night for the desert. :-)
Breakfast next day was better than the day before with more moroccan crepes and figue marmalade.
Off we went after thanking Ali for his hospitality to Azrou.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We arrived by bus, at 6 a.m., an hour earlier than scheduled, but Ali stil had two cars waiting for us in the cold pitch black. We were disoriented and tired, unable to communicate w ith our drivers because we don't speak French, Arabic or Berber, but we were whisked off to the Guesthouse, where Ali was waiting. Breakfast was already laid in front of the fire. Rooms were waiting with the heaters going. That afternoon we took the cameltrek out to the tents, spending the night there and then coming back in the morning. It seemed as though every time we turned around we were being fed. The courtesy of the entire family was exceptional. The little touches delightful. Our last morning, Ali and his brother drove us back to the bus station. They had taken care of getting tickets for the next leg of our trip. This was definitely, the most touristy thing we did in Morocco and because of that it was also the most expensive by comparison, but still fabulous value. We were all amazed at the level of service, the quality of the food, and Ali's entrepenurial zeal. I arranged everything by email and Ali was always responsive. I would definitely recommend the whole experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

after a long day drive, we arrived Merzouga in the late night. Ali (the owner) come to pick us up and bring us to our warm room (he switched on the heating 2 hours ago to get prepared). I only mentioned once on the phone we may need camel ride to see the sunrise. And it is all have arranged when we arrived the hotel. Dinner is super good and warm. Oh, winter in Sahara is really cold, and the shower is so hot and with plenty of hot water. I am so happy to take a hot shower after the freezing sunrise camel ride. It is freezing, but the view is fantastic, really an amazing experience. Surprisingly almost all staff in this guest house can speak some English. It is not usual in Morocco. The service is really superior, even his price is not very cheap, but we are all happy with his efficiency and super good arrangement. Thanks so much, Ali.
What a pity we only stayed one night, they even have a nice pool. In the middle of the desert, lol. The view on the rooftop is also quite nice. We really hope we could stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

One word to sum it all up: Abundance! We stayed in the guesthouse for 1 night and in the desert tent for New Years Eve. The dinner was delicious and so big we couldn't finish it! A very special mention goes to the abundant and tasty breakfasts, 100% the best breakfasts we had out of all the hotels we stayed at in Morocco. The room we stayed in was excellent, beautiful, spacious and very comfortable and we appreciated the amazing shower and having excellent heating which was already on before we arrived to heat up the room, nice touch. We really felt at home here and all the staff really looked after us, the amount of staff serving us was impressive and made us feel like royalty... All this attention is very nice every now and then! We were never short of a bottle of water or glass of tea as they always had one ready for us. Ali is a good businessman and very hospitable. He was always CLEAR before about the prices of tours and never pushing us. The only thing keeping me from giving it 5 stars is that when we went in the tent in the desert for New Years Eve it would have been nice to have the same wonderful spirit of the guesthouse here, as a little bit more Entertainment would have been nice to celebrate the end of the year. But maybe this was the point, to have a peaceful experience. Anyway, I would definetely recommend this guesthouse to all friends going to the desert!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guest House Merzouga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Merzouga

Address: | Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tout au milieu du désert au pied des dunes d'or d'Erg Chebbi se trouve une auberge pas comme les autres,la maison d'hôte de la famille SEGGAOUI.Ici, vous aurez toutes les chances de découvrir l'hospitalité berbère authentique, dans un climat familial chaleureux.Ali et sa famille vous accueillent à Merzouga, site grandiose du Désert Marocain, au pied des dunes de l'Erg Chebbi, de véritables sculpture mouvantes en forme de draperies, qui culminent à 150 mètres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guest House Merzouga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Merzouga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.