We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical: Maison de Merzouga” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Merzouga

Save Saved
You added Guest House Merzouga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guest House Merzouga
| Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 59 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Boechout, Antwerpen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magical: Maison de Merzouga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel and it's location exceeded all our expectations.
We were welcomed by Youssef himself who took his time to explain the hotel facilties, background of the hotel and surrounding areas. He took time to suggest a personal package for our short stay in the hotel.

He offered us a tailored package to tour the surroundings in a 4X4 and take us on the most amazing sunset camel ride. The guides (Hassan, Omar, Moubarak) on both tours did an excellent Job in providing us the necessary side information and to show us all this beautiful region has to offer.

Upon our return from the gorgeous sunset ride, we were greeted to an excellent 'maroccan' dinner of three courses. All of this with the fireplace providing the right atmosphere and warmth. (Winter can get pretty chilly in the desert)

The rooms have a traditional maroccan interior with all the luxury and comfort of some of the best hotels. Giving it all an even more magical feeling. It was beyond our expectations.

The morning breakfast was outstanding and offered a wide selection.


In conclusion:
If this is not paradise, it can't be far away !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    38
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
135
217
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We arrived to this guest house after rainy experience in Fes. Since our warm welcome by Ali till our farewell it was great experience. We've learnt a lot during this stay - got a lesson how-to-do right tea, experienced camel trip with overnight stay in dessert and enjoyed 4WD trip around the Merzouga. Even the pool was open :) we were just not brave enough to test it :)

I definitely recommend to stay here and use local services. They are very competent, enjoying their work and focusing on customer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Ali Seggaoui, one of the brothers who own the Guest House Merzouga, greeted us and kept in touch throughout our stay to make certain that our needs were met. He also suggested other sights we might want to visit. Ali is from a nomad family who settled in Merzouga when he was a boy. Having said that, he is a gracious and worldly guy.

We, two 60'ish women, wanted an overnight camel trip to the desert. Ali arranged that with a guide named Omar. It was fabulous. Omar led us to the camp deep into the dunes, served tea and cooked a tajine. We had such fun learning about his life as well as watching the moon and stars in the oh-so-still night.

The guest house has an authentic, smart desert sensibility Vs a tourist hotel. The guest rooms are spacious. At times I had to pinch myself just to know it was all real and not a dream.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

really enjoyed our stay here on the edge of the desert. The breakfast was fabulous, and the rooms were comfortable, and dinner was excellent.
Larson (sp!) is a very genial host. deserves to be the top B&B in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We traveled around a lot of Morocco this summer but our stay at Merzouga house were by far our best few nights in the country.

The Berber style guest house is absolute beautiful, it looks and smells like an oasis. We sat by the pool at night looked at the stars and drank some Moroccan tea. During the day we sun bathed and swam in the pool.

Lassan and his family are absolutely amazing, they not only arranged everything for us but were kind and interested in how are stay with them was. We arrived very late and they went out of their way to make us dinner and bring us tea. Lassan even sat with us and chatted about Morocco - since we really enjoy speaking to people on our travels this was an absolute treat. We took a walk around the village with Said, I would highly recommend this. Said is very knowledgable in Berber culture because he is studying it in Fez. It was really interesting to hear from him about the village, the culture, and the about the dessert.

If you do end up going to this area of the Morocco my two suggestions would be (i) go dessert camping (ii) figure out your way there and back before hand because it's tricky. Either take a bus or rent a car but don't use a taxi driver our experience was that our taxi driver got lost quite a bit. Morocco is fairly easy to get around with a map so, if you don't want to take the busses, just save some money and rent a car!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Seggaoul family has it right. Their guesthouse has got to be the best in the area. I traveled with my mother, our first time to Morocco, and went on a road trip. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by Ali, our host. The place was inviting, comfortable, and showcased the most of Moroccan crafts and textiles, especially their large collection of Berber carpets. It had spacious public areas, pool, terrace, dining, gathering, and the design of the place (by themselves) and built themselves, commanded respect and admiration. These guys aren't phonies and I can see why they won a 2012 Trip Advisor award. I hope to revisit this wonderful place on the edge of the sand and wish them continued success.

Room Tip: As I've only been there once, from the looks of things, all of them have their own charm and qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in Merzouga Guestahouse for a couple of days and we were received by the friendly and welcoming owner Ali. He and his family are kind persons and always ready to be helpful. The first day we simply relaxed in the guest house. We used the small but beautiful and clean swimming pool and relaxed in the peaceful and pleasant common area. The second day Ali arranged for us a trip to the desert, riding dromedaries and sleeping there in the night. The Berber who drove us there, Omar, was such a nice person and I will always remember his friendly smile.
The room where we stayed was very simple, clean, decorated with local decorations (the only problem was a little bit noisy air conditioning). We had 3 meals in the guesthouse, all of them very good and tasty.
The morning we came back from the desert it was my birthday and they made me a big surprise, they organized a little party with a delicious b day cake and they played some music and dances for celebration. It was really un unforgettable day! Thanks again Ali and your family for such a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guest House Merzouga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Merzouga

Address: | Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tout au milieu du désert au pied des dunes d'or d'Erg Chebbi se trouve une auberge pas comme les autres,la maison d'hôte de la famille SEGGAOUI.Ici, vous aurez toutes les chances de découvrir l'hospitalité berbère authentique, dans un climat familial chaleureux.Ali et sa famille vous accueillent à Merzouga, site grandiose du Désert Marocain, au pied des dunes de l'Erg Chebbi, de véritables sculpture mouvantes en forme de draperies, qui culminent à 150 mètres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guest House Merzouga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Merzouga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.