We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Sahara hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Merzouga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guest House Merzouga to your Saves list
Guest House Merzouga
| Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 77 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington State
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gracious Sahara hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Ali Seggaoui, one of the brothers who own the Guest House Merzouga, greeted us and kept in touch throughout our stay to make certain that our needs were met. He also suggested other sights we might want to visit. Ali is from a nomad family who settled in Merzouga when he was a boy. Having said that, he is a gracious and worldly guy.

We, two 60'ish women, wanted an overnight camel trip to the desert. Ali arranged that with a guide named Omar. It was fabulous. Omar led us to the camp deep into the dunes, served tea and cooked a tajine. We had such fun learning about his life as well as watching the moon and stars in the oh-so-still night.

The guest house has an authentic, smart desert sensibility Vs a tourist hotel. The guest rooms are spacious. At times I had to pinch myself just to know it was all real and not a dream.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    40
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
142
241
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

really enjoyed our stay here on the edge of the desert. The breakfast was fabulous, and the rooms were comfortable, and dinner was excellent.
Larson (sp!) is a very genial host. deserves to be the top B&B in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We traveled around a lot of Morocco this summer but our stay at Merzouga house were by far our best few nights in the country.

The Berber style guest house is absolute beautiful, it looks and smells like an oasis. We sat by the pool at night looked at the stars and drank some Moroccan tea. During the day we sun bathed and swam in the pool.

Lassan and his family are absolutely amazing, they not only arranged everything for us but were kind and interested in how are stay with them was. We arrived very late and they went out of their way to make us dinner and bring us tea. Lassan even sat with us and chatted about Morocco - since we really enjoy speaking to people on our travels this was an absolute treat. We took a walk around the village with Said, I would highly recommend this. Said is very knowledgable in Berber culture because he is studying it in Fez. It was really interesting to hear from him about the village, the culture, and the about the dessert.

If you do end up going to this area of the Morocco my two suggestions would be (i) go dessert camping (ii) figure out your way there and back before hand because it's tricky. Either take a bus or rent a car but don't use a taxi driver our experience was that our taxi driver got lost quite a bit. Morocco is fairly easy to get around with a map so, if you don't want to take the busses, just save some money and rent a car!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Seggaoul family has it right. Their guesthouse has got to be the best in the area. I traveled with my mother, our first time to Morocco, and went on a road trip. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by Ali, our host. The place was inviting, comfortable, and showcased the most of Moroccan crafts and textiles, especially their large collection of Berber carpets. It had spacious public areas, pool, terrace, dining, gathering, and the design of the place (by themselves) and built themselves, commanded respect and admiration. These guys aren't phonies and I can see why they won a 2012 Trip Advisor award. I hope to revisit this wonderful place on the edge of the sand and wish them continued success.

Room Tip: As I've only been there once, from the looks of things, all of them have their own charm and qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in Merzouga Guestahouse for a couple of days and we were received by the friendly and welcoming owner Ali. He and his family are kind persons and always ready to be helpful. The first day we simply relaxed in the guest house. We used the small but beautiful and clean swimming pool and relaxed in the peaceful and pleasant common area. The second day Ali arranged for us a trip to the desert, riding dromedaries and sleeping there in the night. The Berber who drove us there, Omar, was such a nice person and I will always remember his friendly smile.
The room where we stayed was very simple, clean, decorated with local decorations (the only problem was a little bit noisy air conditioning). We had 3 meals in the guesthouse, all of them very good and tasty.
The morning we came back from the desert it was my birthday and they made me a big surprise, they organized a little party with a delicious b day cake and they played some music and dances for celebration. It was really un unforgettable day! Thanks again Ali and your family for such a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

If you are searching for the desert experience and nice place to stay not far away from dunes, this hotel could be your ideal choice. Very friendly and helpful people, spacious rooms, traditional great marrocan cuisine. Don't miss fantastic camel trip to the desert.
P.S. Please note that this hotel is alcohol free and does not accept credit cards.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

In terms of genuine hospitality, it doesn't get any better than this. Ali and all the other guys from the house had a great blend of friendliness and straightforwardness that made us confortable and trusting of everything they recommended/proposed.

The accomodation itself is also very good, the room was spacious, with all needed amenities, aircon, etc. the multiple open area rooms have lots if places to chill out, whether in shade or in sun. We didn't use the pool, but it looked sparkling clean, and have seen the staff working in its maintenance and cleaning every evening,

The food was excellent, and - as with all other requests - they were quick to accomodate my wife's vegetarian needs.

All in all, a highlight of the Moroccan trip and a place where i wouldn't hesitate for a second to return to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guest House Merzouga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Merzouga

Address: | Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tout au milieu du désert au pied des dunes d'or d'Erg Chebbi se trouve une auberge pas comme les autres,la maison d'hôte de la famille SEGGAOUI.Ici, vous aurez toutes les chances de découvrir l'hospitalité berbère authentique, dans un climat familial chaleureux.Ali et sa famille vous accueillent à Merzouga, site grandiose du Désert Marocain, au pied des dunes de l'Erg Chebbi, de véritables sculpture mouvantes en forme de draperies, qui culminent à 150 mètres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guest House Merzouga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Merzouga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.