We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better than this for Berber hospitality and guesthouses in Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Merzouga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guest House Merzouga to your Saves list
Guest House Merzouga
| Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 78 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than this for Berber hospitality and guesthouses in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We traveled around a lot of Morocco this summer but our stay at Merzouga house were by far our best few nights in the country.

The Berber style guest house is absolute beautiful, it looks and smells like an oasis. We sat by the pool at night looked at the stars and drank some Moroccan tea. During the day we sun bathed and swam in the pool.

Lassan and his family are absolutely amazing, they not only arranged everything for us but were kind and interested in how are stay with them was. We arrived very late and they went out of their way to make us dinner and bring us tea. Lassan even sat with us and chatted about Morocco - since we really enjoy speaking to people on our travels this was an absolute treat. We took a walk around the village with Said, I would highly recommend this. Said is very knowledgable in Berber culture because he is studying it in Fez. It was really interesting to hear from him about the village, the culture, and the about the dessert.

If you do end up going to this area of the Morocco my two suggestions would be (i) go dessert camping (ii) figure out your way there and back before hand because it's tricky. Either take a bus or rent a car but don't use a taxi driver our experience was that our taxi driver got lost quite a bit. Morocco is fairly easy to get around with a map so, if you don't want to take the busses, just save some money and rent a car!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    41
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
144
246
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Seggaoul family has it right. Their guesthouse has got to be the best in the area. I traveled with my mother, our first time to Morocco, and went on a road trip. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by Ali, our host. The place was inviting, comfortable, and showcased the most of Moroccan crafts and textiles, especially their large collection of Berber carpets. It had spacious public areas, pool, terrace, dining, gathering, and the design of the place (by themselves) and built themselves, commanded respect and admiration. These guys aren't phonies and I can see why they won a 2012 Trip Advisor award. I hope to revisit this wonderful place on the edge of the sand and wish them continued success.

Room Tip: As I've only been there once, from the looks of things, all of them have their own charm and qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in Merzouga Guestahouse for a couple of days and we were received by the friendly and welcoming owner Ali. He and his family are kind persons and always ready to be helpful. The first day we simply relaxed in the guest house. We used the small but beautiful and clean swimming pool and relaxed in the peaceful and pleasant common area. The second day Ali arranged for us a trip to the desert, riding dromedaries and sleeping there in the night. The Berber who drove us there, Omar, was such a nice person and I will always remember his friendly smile.
The room where we stayed was very simple, clean, decorated with local decorations (the only problem was a little bit noisy air conditioning). We had 3 meals in the guesthouse, all of them very good and tasty.
The morning we came back from the desert it was my birthday and they made me a big surprise, they organized a little party with a delicious b day cake and they played some music and dances for celebration. It was really un unforgettable day! Thanks again Ali and your family for such a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

If you are searching for the desert experience and nice place to stay not far away from dunes, this hotel could be your ideal choice. Very friendly and helpful people, spacious rooms, traditional great marrocan cuisine. Don't miss fantastic camel trip to the desert.
P.S. Please note that this hotel is alcohol free and does not accept credit cards.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

In terms of genuine hospitality, it doesn't get any better than this. Ali and all the other guys from the house had a great blend of friendliness and straightforwardness that made us confortable and trusting of everything they recommended/proposed.

The accomodation itself is also very good, the room was spacious, with all needed amenities, aircon, etc. the multiple open area rooms have lots if places to chill out, whether in shade or in sun. We didn't use the pool, but it looked sparkling clean, and have seen the staff working in its maintenance and cleaning every evening,

The food was excellent, and - as with all other requests - they were quick to accomodate my wife's vegetarian needs.

All in all, a highlight of the Moroccan trip and a place where i wouldn't hesitate for a second to return to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spent the night here and it was really the highlight of our trip to Morocco! The hosts are wonderful and very hospitable, not to mention excellent!!
We took the camels out on the dunes the following morning and had our morning coffee watching the sun come up. Can't wait to return this year!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Not much to add to what the other reviewers have said. This was a bit of a splurge for us but well worth it. We had only intended to stay one day, but spent an extra one there to relax and recharge for our last two weeks in Morocco. When it was time to check out and we discovered a flat tire (our spare was also flat), they helped us deal with the rental company for us and gave us a ride to Merzouga so we could get the tires patched.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Guest House Merzouga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Merzouga

Address: | Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tout au milieu du désert au pied des dunes d'or d'Erg Chebbi se trouve une auberge pas comme les autres,la maison d'hôte de la famille SEGGAOUI.Ici, vous aurez toutes les chances de découvrir l'hospitalité berbère authentique, dans un climat familial chaleureux.Ali et sa famille vous accueillent à Merzouga, site grandiose du Désert Marocain, au pied des dunes de l'Erg Chebbi, de véritables sculpture mouvantes en forme de draperies, qui culminent à 150 mètres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guest House Merzouga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Merzouga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.