We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people, great guesthouse, AWESOME desert experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Amazir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Auberge Amazir to your Saves list
Auberge Amazir
Moh Ait Bahadou BP 9, Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 77 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Merida, Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Friendly people, great guesthouse, AWESOME desert experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is a great deal for the money, 600 Dirhams for 2 people including standard Moroccan breakfast, dinner; bottled water and mint tea. The staff are extremely helpful, especially my man Moha, and can organize any type of excursions for very reasonable prices. The best part however was the camel trip (800 Dir for 2) into the dunes and the nights in a Berber tent at Mustafas at Merzouga Oasis. I was worried that there would be a lot of people and noisy but it was PERFECT. The food was delicious, the tent was very comfortable, the music was hypnotic, our host Mustafa was so generous, there was just two other travellers there so quiet and very chill. Come to Amazir, talk to Moha and plan your desert excursions from there, no need for overpriced, crowded tours with Amazir at your hands.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I have travelled a lot and i really do not like write such reviews about any hotel but this hotel has spoiled our trip in morocco.
We did travel by ourself and found that this hotel has very good comments on lonelyplanet but since when we got there , we found no one in the reception so no help at all.we had to wait at least 15 mn timm someones appears.The hotel is in a very good situation but there was alot of noise by the music that they played all the night and the food was the worst we had during our trip.In the morning ,do not expect to have breakfast everyone is laying down in the restaurant after the everydays parties they have.i would suggest you to stay in another hotel like kanz erremal where we satyed after and was much more better .I would not recommend riad amazir which has no chrachter of a real riad to anyone.

Room Tip: merzouga is a good place to spend a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at Auberge Amazir. We felt like staying at a Family house, Larbi & Ali the host were very friendly. We really appreciated that Larbi asked us to share the lunch with them, it was delicious!
We booked 1 night in the desert and it was exactly as Larbi told us, not in the tourist crowd, just simple, and authentic.
We definitely recommend this family Berber place. We will come back!
Karen

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Me and my girlfriend had a wonderful stay and happy days in Auberge Amazir. We were not just satisfied but really really happy with our stay there. The hotel is right at the beginning of the dunes. The room was really beautiful and really clean. The food of our half pension was more then good and the common rooms really relaxing.
The view from the roof terrace was just extraordinary.
Best thing in Amazir was the staff. Everybody was really really friendly and helping us with everything. We felt free do to whatever we wanted. That was the most amazing thing, that they gave us the feeling that we were really, really welcome. Thank you for that!!!
I recommend this hotel very very much!!! Can't do anything wrong with it!
Cheers,
Sebastian and Julia from Germany

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Amazir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Amazir

Address: Moh Ait Bahadou BP 9, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge Amazir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Amazir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.