We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ksar Sania - friendly people next to the dunes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Ksar Sania

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merzouga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Ksar Sania
Save
You added Auberge Ksar Sania to your Saves list
BP4, Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 77 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ksar Sania - friendly people next to the dunes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This beautiful place is close to Merzouga, but just the right distance away to give you some rest next to the dunes. I ended up here by accident, and Mustapha and the rest of the friendly staff gave me a very warm welcome. As a solotraveller I were invited to eat and hang out with the staff. All the information you need about the area you can get here, and there is plenty of contacts if you want to arrange trips. You can adjust to the temperature by the pool or walk straight into the dunes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    14
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

If your looking for a unvonventional place to stay next to the mainstream of the maroccan tourist industry you are 100% in the right Place at Ksar Sania. The friendly and caring employees as well as the local kitchen and exiting trips to the desert are all exceeding the common standard by far snd I am more than happy to have chosen this hotel when I came to Merzouga.

100% recommrndation for quality, friendliness and value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merzouga, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We have stayed here for one night and have had such a lovely welcome. Mustapha has been so helpful and freindly. KsarSania is positioned just below some dunes and perfect for getting excellent photographs. We found this auberge recommended in Lonely Planet and it lives up to the very good description. We are not able to take advantage of the trips etc that can be organised but if our brief experience is anything to go by then Mustapha will make sure that everyone is very well looked after.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We needed some down time from our travels and after a very friendly welcome from Mustapha we decided to stop here!! They organized a great trip into the desert which we loved! The rest of the time we spent relaxing in the pool and eating great food. Mustapha really is a great guy who will do anything to make you comfortable here and help you on your way with advice, maps, whatever you might need.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is a beautiful, eco-friendly retreat in the desert. Very glad for my Lonely Planet recommendation. I stayed in one of the huts and loved it. Perfect for one or two people. May be a bit crowded with three but doable. Shower facilities were clean with hot water. Beautiful pool and views. Friendly, helpful staff. Charismatic owner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our friends found this place and we arrived a bit disoriented and starved after a long drive from Fez. It was a GREAT spot to spend the night - delicious dinner and then cozy - if short - night's stay (in the freezing desert winter) before a 5:30 am camel ride to see sun rise over the dunes. A FREEzing experience, but I thought worth it - just bundle up and know that breakfast will be delicious after.

We had them get us a guide the next am, which wasn't ideal - make sure they find someone who speaks good English (or your language) and has a clear idea of your expectations for activity on the tour.

Overall, a GREAT spot!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Before reviewing this beautiful place I would like to say something about the trip from Timahdite to Merzouga: the landscapes are just amazing! This is morocco at it's most beautiful, it's breathtaking! Ksar Sania just fits perfectly in this scenario. French hospitality, excellent food, very nice rooms, swimming pool, feet in sand, cosy, truly an oasis in the desert.

Almost forgot to mention: please get rid of the cockroaches! I know they won't do any harm, it just doesn't look too good in a bedroom..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Ksar Sania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Ksar Sania

Address: BP4, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecolodge Merzouga - MOROCCOIn a small oasis at the foot of the big dune of Merzouga, which rises 150 meters above the valley of Ziz, and on the ancient Tuareg caravan's way linking Sijilmassa to Timbuktu, Hotel Ksar Sania awaits you for of the Saharan adventure.In the charm of an inn built in a neo-traditional architecture, straw and mud to blend into the natural scenery of the desert site, Francoise welcome you in a beautiful place where comfortis not opposed to the charm a traditional atmosphere. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Ksar Sania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.