We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to compliment your desert adventure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Chez Tihri 'Suerte Loca'

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merzouga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Chez Tihri 'Suerte Loca'
Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 57 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to compliment your desert adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you need to find a place to stay in Merzouga, you should consider this place.
The location is not easy to find, like most of other hotels in the area, but they can provide a pick-up service for free from the nearby area.

The hotel has a genuine berber architecture and ambience, with camels roaming around just outside the gate. It has a pool too, which might be enjoyable if you stay a little longer.

Eventhough the staffs mostly speaks Arabic & French, with a little Spanish, they tried to help with anything we ask, like foods or transport arrangement.

All-in-all, you will get more than what you're paying for with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    9
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
10
24
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and I and our neighbours stayed at suerte loca ( chez tihri) for three night the location was excellent, Surprisingly spacious, nicely decorated and immaculate rooms in an extremely convenient central location., and the daily cleaning even tidied up belongings scattered about. The host is a very friendly person and gave us a lot of help during our stay they were very helpful and friendly. They even arranged for a great driver with a 4x4 to bring us to and from Marrakech and visit the desert. We had dinner there three nights and it was delicious! The garden is lovely. Don't expect to find luxury or the amenities and type of service of a large hotel. However, if you look for a friendly, relax and local colored place then this is your hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel suerte loca everything was perfect the room was very clean and the food was very delicious we Will recommend it to all our. Friends

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

The hotel suerte loca was real nice super clean real original structure just like the old time, you really feel like back on time , is just very unique , the stuff were so friendly and nice mostly Ali the owner super helpful and attentive to his customer, he was awesome man. Youssef organize the Camel ride and the night in the dunes, we didn’t have to worry about anything, the food were great, to be honest everything was just beautiful
Thank you Youssef for everything
sousan Wright from london

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

I am writting this article to help any visitor to merzouga to avoid staying in this dirty hotel.
The staff are arrogant.we stayed in the camp in a trip that was organised by a tour operator in marakesch and we did not like anything there.NO GOOD FOOD.WE DID NOT SLEEP WEEL.......

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010 via mobile

Amazing experience , perfect location
I had a gr8 time , came for a day n spent a week here. An unforgettable place near the dunes.
U have to experience it yourself .

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Unfortunately our experience in this incredibly beautiful and amazing part of Morocco was spoiled by the behaviour of the male employees of Chez Tihri.

We stayed at the bivouvac operated by Chez Tihri as part of a 13 person tour group, made up of 12 females aged between 22 - 55 of varying nationalities. We took an amazing camel ride into the dunes which we were told was 1 hour and was really 2 hours meaning that we arrived at the bivouac in the dark, therefore missing out on photo opportunities. Had we known we would have arrived earlier.

The bivouac was unprepared and had absolutely no atmosphere or lighting. In fact it was partially collapsed, untidy and dishevelled and no one gave us any info on the plan for the evening, ablutions etc. After an hour and a half we were given a cup of tea and a further hour later a basic tagine with no cutlery. The male guides were very keen to go for a walk up the dunes and promised a great view from the top.

Assistance by simply holding one's hand was required by most to climb the very steep dunes and most accepted. This however was the start of unwanted attention from the guides who then proceeded to suggest that each female should veer off from the group and pressured them into uncomfotable sexual situations. When one was told no, another would appear and try his luck. Some of us were asked by 4 or 5 of the guides. One girl was even woken from sleep and asked if she wanted a 'massage' while others were followed whilst going to the toilet.

Our only night in the desert was with little sleep due to feeling anxious with these guides. A couple of people complained to the hotel management who did not take it seriously. The long journey to get to the Sahra ended up not being about our experience but about how lucky the guides could get with a western woman.

Do make the trip to the dunes it was wonderful, just don't use the services of Chez Tihri. This disrespectful behaviour should not be encouraged.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge Chez Tihri 'Suerte Loca'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Chez Tihri 'Suerte Loca'

Address: Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Chez Tihri 'Suerte Loca', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Auberge Chez Tihri 'Suerte Loca' to your Saves list