We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & service, beautiful pool, average rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ksar Bicha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ksar Bicha to your Saves list
Ksar Bicha
Merzouga | Merzouga Erg Chebbi Desert, Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Merzouga
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food & service, beautiful pool, average rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here one night during the summer and Ramadan, so I was the only guest in the place. But even still the food and the service was excellent and I was well taken care of. The property and especially the pool are beautiful, not to mention the location with the dunes in clear sight. The rooms are average and relatively nondescript but the other amenities make up for it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    57
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
72
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Ksar Bisha is an excellent place for visiting Erg Cheggi. Only about a kilometer from the dunes, it offers large comfortable rooms (ours had a king size bed and two single beds plus a sitting area with room to spare and a balcony terrace with a view of the dunes). Ali the manager was away the three days we were there, but his staff looked after us very well. The hotel has its own desert camp on the other side of the dunes, albeit we did not overnight there, instead taking a day trip which involved a 1'45" camel ride and a nice lunch at the camp before returning in the afternoon. We prefer camel rides that are around an hour since longer ones seem to leave their impressions for several days!!!
The hotel has a pleasant pool area, although in November it was too cold to enjoy the pool.
The food was good, but not exceptional, but fair value for money. If you get an urge for a beer or wine, there is a bar in the hotel next to the Auberge Rose de Sable on the road south out of Merzouga.
We would certainly use Ksar Bisha again were we to return to Merzouga.

Room Tip: Room 20 in the entrance tower is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I had a pleasant stay at Ksar Bicha. We didn't actually spend a night there, but used a room for two days before and after our overnight in the desert. Having access to the nice pool was fantastic! The owner is quite nice and helpful. We also really liked the African cook....his food was yummy and he had a great smile. No complaints about the room either...was cool and relatively comfortable, though you had to go close to reception to get wifi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Excellent hotel. We stayed 2 days and we loved the form that we were received and treated.
We felt like kings in our castle. The bedrooms were very nice, cleans, with typical decoration, and the food was wonderful.
The Manager Ali is a extraordinary person by the nice and extraordinary form how he treated us.
It´s my choice definitely in the next trip.
Merci Ali pour tout.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The resort is beautifully built, with a swimming pool. The host, Mohammed is a very friendly guy. He personally makes sure all his guests are well looked after. He spends time with you in the ante room and some evenings other staff along with him break out in to traditional Berber music to entertain the guests. They have a pretty good camel trek in to the desert to a tent which is their own and separate from other resorts tents, so there is some privacy there too. Again in the desert camp, the hosts entertained us with some very nice music over a campfire. The food was plenty, but not as tasty and fresh as you would find in the cities, but I guess we can ignore that considering we aren't in one. I would not recommend taking a 4x4 tour around the desert. It is a waste of time and money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I've been to Merzouga twice (in 2004 and again in Jan. 2012). I stayed in Ksar Bicha for several nights both times. It's a great location (only a short walk to the dunes and about 10-15 minute walk from the village center) and it's particularly nice to be removed from the packed touristy row of auberges on the other side of town. The recent renovations have improved what was already a very charming auberge (rooms are very clean, simple yet nicely decorated, spacious, and some have a view of the dunes, plenty of hot water, and the thick walls keep the rooms cool on hot days). The addition of a lovely pool and palm tree-lined tiled patio make Ksar Bicha an ideal place to relax and enjoy the tranquility of the desert. But the true differentiating factor between Ksar Bicha and the competition is that Ali and his staff are simply top-notch and genuinely welcoming.

Room Tip: Room 20 has a king-sized bed and three twin beds and it still feels very spacious - great for a fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Ali, the host and his team are your friends, not only because you are a tourist and you gonna bring them money, is because it is their style of living.
As a travel guide he gave me all the best tips, the food was the best we got us 3 during the 10 days in Morocco.
The driving in the dunes of erg chebbi, watching the stars and satellites and constellations, sleeping in a ksar such as sleeping in a tent.
Really i don't know what to say this was the highlight of this trip and above all a spiritual feeling.
Thanks Ali and all you people, i will be back for sure, Inch'Alla

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ksar Bicha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ksar Bicha

Address: Merzouga | Merzouga Erg Chebbi Desert, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merzouga
#3 Family Hotel in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the doors of the desert and bordering the highest dunes in Morocco, the Erg Chebbi. Ksar Bicha offers an agreeable stopping place to discover the desert. Organisation off a difrents Tours with Camels and 4x4. Desert camps ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Ksar Bicha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ksar Bicha Merzouga
Ksar Bicha Hotel Merzouga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ksar Bicha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.