We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal to your Saves list
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Touz Azi El Bide, Merzouga, Merzouga, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Merzouga
Ceargwrle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel was a very tradtional,nicely laid out,straight out onto sand,camels and swimming pool :-) The main man tended to all our needs at all time.In fact we think he single handedly run the hotel to a high A1 standard,nothing was to much trouble for him ;-) the hotel was like walking back a 100 years but with all the modern things you need..Yeah just follow the signs out of the last town/village for Merzouga and the Sahara and keep you eyes open for the hotel sign,then turn left off the road and drive into the desert and it's a mile or two in front of you :-))

Room Tip: Get a corner room facing the desert and the pool,camel trains out there to look at
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    40
    21
    22
    17
See reviews for
39
84
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Quisco, Chile
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This property lies literally on the edge of the Sahara Desert, in a small village - as such one needs to manage their expectations. Specifically, this property has issues ventilating their sewage, so many of our rooms were rather whiffy. Likewise, the camels are parked nearby, so one can get a blast of camel smell from time to time. The rooms have lots of open windows to the desert, so expect lots of dust/grit. The bathroom tiling is showing some age, so it wasn't the cleanest of bathrooms. There are feral cats living in the property, and some of the fabrics in the dining area smell of cat. There is a swimming pool, but it has lots of sand that has blown into it (to be expected). All that said - the views of the desert from the hotel and the friendly staff make you forget many of these downfalls.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the 'turret' rooms on the top floor - the room had a nice view, but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have been in Kanz Erremal this summer during our trip to southern Morocco and we have to say that we have moved the site, the location of the hotel and pool playing desert dunes, terraces, rooms, staff's attentions have been very good. A ten for the traditional food of the area. We spent one night in the middle of the dunes under the stars, camping with Berber tents is incleible. Finally a place highly recommended. A visit to Kanz Erremal is required if you make a trip in the south of Morocco.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Kanz Erremal is a beautilful hotel. By the edge of the dunes, can't'get much better. It has a nice swimming pool and a varanda facing the dunes. The room is comfortable, with air conditioning and nice hot shower.

The problem with Kanz Erremal is the staff. We arrived in Merzouga in the 6am Supratours bus, the manager said he day before (email) that they would pick us up there. Nobody was there waiting and it was freezing cold. We had to ask for a man that worked for another hotel to call Kanz Erremal and wake them up, so tey would come to Merzouga to pick us up. It took 30 mins for the driver to arrive. Meanwhile we were watching the sunrise in a nearly negative temperature. and because everyone was asleep we did not get any breakfast. Once there the staff is not very helpful either informative. They'll just talk to you to sell something....camel rides, crafts...a bottle of whatever to drink. The food is also bad. One night we felt like we where eating leftovers, they served some macaroni with some vegetables...terrible.

In the end I would not recommend Kanz Erremal. Their location and their structure is great, but you don't feel good there. for the price they charge should be way much better.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

First of all this was my 5th trip travelling in Morroco - Just come back from New Years at the Kanz Erremal 'Hotel'. As all the reviews say the location is impressive but to be honest so do ALL the other Hotels/Rihads along the edge of the Sahara. This basic Hostel (this was no way a Hotel of any sort) turned out to a nightmare. We travelled with 44 people, the staff and Manager (the husband of the Spanish owner) were rude,aggressive, 'smoking' and drinking throughout the night, second rate wine, poor service. Staff arguing all night etc etc, the only good point was the evening music/show but again was spoiled by the off-duty waiters and staff enjoying themselves rather than looking after their guests, not to mention the car park being used as a 'hang-out' all night which was a bit of a pain as we had a 6am start for a Camel trip.
Unfortunately The 'manager' decided to double the price agreed for the organised camel trip into the dunes as there were none available........ yet a bus load of Japanese tourists managed to find some at the hostel when they turned up (perhaps happier to pay more than our organised fee). A quick phone call to a near by Rihad was made (by our guide not the manager) and camels were organised which the Manager then refused to allow on the premises so we ended up walking into the Dunes for an hour.
After the Dunes we had to wait ages for the breakfast which was extremely poor, there wasn't even bread until we had finished our boiled eggs and tea - our guide tried his best to animate us all but we were not impressed.
We ended up at a neighbouring Rihad The Ksar Tin Hinan where the Camels were and the staff much more friendlier. Save your money for a Rihad who deserves it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hengelo (ov)
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed in Kanz Erremal for 2 days. The host at the riad we stayed the night before recommended it to us, we had a look at the website and called the hotel. We booked a desert-trip for the first night and a room for the second night. We had to get used to the people in the hotel at first. They were not as open and friendly as we had experienced before, but that was just in the beginning. When we arrived we wanted to order some food, but they didn't have a menu, which was a little strange. The cameltrip was amazing. The group was small, just 4 people plus the guide and it was well taken care of. The food was nice, the beds were amazing, everything was better than expected. The hotel itself is great too. We booked a normal room but got a towerroom, really big and very clean. The breakfast was very good, bread, olives, jam, honey, omelet, fresh juice ... Just writing this down makes me want to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel at the end of ramaddan season. There were not a lot of turists and everything was empty, so we were able to negociate a very good price for the hotel. The situation of the hotel is fantastic, and the swimming pool is incredible. It could be a very good hotel if the staff were more friendly and concerned about the maintenance of the hotel, but they are not. The sink was broken, the swimmng pool chairs had not been washed in ages and they were full of bird "poo", the "restaurant" bathrooms were worse than in a petrol station... and the staff is not very friendly, seems like they do not like their job at all.... I really do not think the hotel is worth its price (if you are not able to negociate)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal

Address: Touz Azi El Bide, Merzouga, Merzouga, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanz Erremal is located at the base of the desert dunes, surrounded by the fascinating landscape of Erg Chebbi, in the southeast of Morocco. It is located 36 kilometres from Rissani, a 7-minute drive from the centre of Merzouga (free shuttle between Merzouga-hotel) and only a stone's throw away of the famous dunes of Erg Chebbi. Kanz Erremal has a haimas camp and also organizes a ridding a camel trip in order to spend a night in the desert. Furthermore, it organizes seven-road trips to explore the spectacular places that the landscape offers. The Hotel has the structure of a typical kasbah: it is made of adobe mud and hay. The rooms have a traditional decoration, typical from the region. They have air conditioning, free wifi access, bathroom and great external views, most of them to the dunes. The pool is located in front of the dunes, so swimmers have the impression to swim in the middle of the desert. The hotel offers a good example of traditional Moroccan cuisine based on natural ingredients: hariras (soups), vegetable tagins, chicken, beef, lamb, varied couscous, raw and cooked salads, skewers, Berber pizza... In short, Kanz Erremal is a place of peace and authenticity and a good site in order to discover the spectacular golden sand of the Sahara dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanz Erremal Merzouga
Kanz Erremal Hotel Merzouga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.