We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Touz Azi el Bide., Merzouga, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in Merzouga
Ceargwrle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel was a very tradtional,nicely laid out,straight out onto sand,camels and swimming pool :-) The main man tended to all our needs at all time.In fact we think he single handedly run the hotel to a high A1 standard,nothing was to much trouble for him ;-) the hotel was like walking back a 100 years but with all the modern things you need..Yeah just follow the signs out of the last town/village for Merzouga and the Sahara and keep you eyes open for the hotel sign,then turn left off the road and drive into the desert and it's a mile or two in front of you :-))

Room Tip: Get a corner room facing the desert and the pool,camel trains out there to look at
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    35
    18
    19
    15
See reviews for
38
71
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Quisco, Chile
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This property lies literally on the edge of the Sahara Desert, in a small village - as such one needs to manage their expectations. Specifically, this property has issues ventilating their sewage, so many of our rooms were rather whiffy. Likewise, the camels are parked nearby, so one can get a blast of camel smell from time to time. The rooms have lots of open windows to the desert, so expect lots of dust/grit. The bathroom tiling is showing some age, so it wasn't the cleanest of bathrooms. There are feral cats living in the property, and some of the fabrics in the dining area smell of cat. There is a swimming pool, but it has lots of sand that has blown into it (to be expected). All that said - the views of the desert from the hotel and the friendly staff make you forget many of these downfalls.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the 'turret' rooms on the top floor - the room had a nice view, but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have been in Kanz Erremal this summer during our trip to southern Morocco and we have to say that we have moved the site, the location of the hotel and pool playing desert dunes, terraces, rooms, staff's attentions have been very good. A ten for the traditional food of the area. We spent one night in the middle of the dunes under the stars, camping with Berber tents is incleible. Finally a place highly recommended. A visit to Kanz Erremal is required if you make a trip in the south of Morocco.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Kanz Erremal is a beautilful hotel. By the edge of the dunes, can't'get much better. It has a nice swimming pool and a varanda facing the dunes. The room is comfortable, with air conditioning and nice hot shower.

The problem with Kanz Erremal is the staff. We arrived in Merzouga in the 6am Supratours bus, the manager said he day before (email) that they would pick us up there. Nobody was there waiting and it was freezing cold. We had to ask for a man that worked for another hotel to call Kanz Erremal and wake them up, so tey would come to Merzouga to pick us up. It took 30 mins for the driver to arrive. Meanwhile we were watching the sunrise in a nearly negative temperature. and because everyone was asleep we did not get any breakfast. Once there the staff is not very helpful either informative. They'll just talk to you to sell something....camel rides, crafts...a bottle of whatever to drink. The food is also bad. One night we felt like we where eating leftovers, they served some macaroni with some vegetables...terrible.

In the end I would not recommend Kanz Erremal. Their location and their structure is great, but you don't feel good there. for the price they charge should be way much better.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

First of all this was my 5th trip travelling in Morroco - Just come back from New Years at the Kanz Erremal 'Hotel'. As all the reviews say the location is impressive but to be honest so do ALL the other Hotels/Rihads along the edge of the Sahara. This basic Hostel (this was no way a Hotel of any sort) turned out to a nightmare. We travelled with 44 people, the staff and Manager (the husband of the Spanish owner) were rude,aggressive, 'smoking' and drinking throughout the night, second rate wine, poor service. Staff arguing all night etc etc, the only good point was the evening music/show but again was spoiled by the off-duty waiters and staff enjoying themselves rather than looking after their guests, not to mention the car park being used as a 'hang-out' all night which was a bit of a pain as we had a 6am start for a Camel trip.
Unfortunately The 'manager' decided to double the price agreed for the organised camel trip into the dunes as there were none available........ yet a bus load of Japanese tourists managed to find some at the hostel when they turned up (perhaps happier to pay more than our organised fee). A quick phone call to a near by Rihad was made (by our guide not the manager) and camels were organised which the Manager then refused to allow on the premises so we ended up walking into the Dunes for an hour.
After the Dunes we had to wait ages for the breakfast which was extremely poor, there wasn't even bread until we had finished our boiled eggs and tea - our guide tried his best to animate us all but we were not impressed.
We ended up at a neighbouring Rihad The Ksar Tin Hinan where the Camels were and the staff much more friendlier. Save your money for a Rihad who deserves it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hengelo (ov)
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed in Kanz Erremal for 2 days. The host at the riad we stayed the night before recommended it to us, we had a look at the website and called the hotel. We booked a desert-trip for the first night and a room for the second night. We had to get used to the people in the hotel at first. They were not as open and friendly as we had experienced before, but that was just in the beginning. When we arrived we wanted to order some food, but they didn't have a menu, which was a little strange. The cameltrip was amazing. The group was small, just 4 people plus the guide and it was well taken care of. The food was nice, the beds were amazing, everything was better than expected. The hotel itself is great too. We booked a normal room but got a towerroom, really big and very clean. The breakfast was very good, bread, olives, jam, honey, omelet, fresh juice ... Just writing this down makes me want to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel at the end of ramaddan season. There were not a lot of turists and everything was empty, so we were able to negociate a very good price for the hotel. The situation of the hotel is fantastic, and the swimming pool is incredible. It could be a very good hotel if the staff were more friendly and concerned about the maintenance of the hotel, but they are not. The sink was broken, the swimmng pool chairs had not been washed in ages and they were full of bird "poo", the "restaurant" bathrooms were worse than in a petrol station... and the staff is not very friendly, seems like they do not like their job at all.... I really do not think the hotel is worth its price (if you are not able to negociate)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal

Address: Touz Azi el Bide., Merzouga, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanz Erremal is located in the heart of the desert itself, immersed in the fascinating landscape of the dunes of Erg Chebbi, in the south-east of Morocco.The 14 traditional rooms and suites of the Kanz Erremal hotel are comfortable and have a typical and artisanal decoration. The hotel is located in a privileged spot, at short distance from the dunes with fantastic views. The dunes reach a height of 200 metres. In this extraordinary environment, the traveller will discover the silhouette of Kanz Erremal.At the foot of the dunes of Erg Chebbi and the wilderness with unsurpassed views from every room.. Excursion on camels to the Erg Chebbi dune camp, to watch the sunset or to watch the sunrise.· Outdoor pool where bathing simulates swimming in the dunes nearby.· Traditional Moroccan building with all the facilities to make your stay a pleasant one.· Haim near the hotel where you can spend a night under the light of the stars and all the facilitiesThere is a Berber tent camp near the hotel. This camp allows you to experience life in thedesert close up, and enjoy the adventure and contact with nature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanz Erremal Merzouga
Kanz Erremal Hotel Merzouga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.