We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kasbah Mohayut

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kasbah Mohayut to your Saves list
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   MERZOUGA , Province errachidia sud maroccco | MERZOUGA , Province errachidia sud maroccco, Merzouga, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Merzouga
Blacko, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Made at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My son and I have spent 3 days in the Merzouga Dunes at the Kasbah Kohayt, and we loved it.
They happily made a birthday cake with candles for my son's bday on the 24 December. The rooms are nice and spacious and everything is made for us to enjoy our stay.
The food was delicious and their roast chicken is unforgettable!
The camel ride was great too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    86
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
63
165
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I just loved this hotel,I could have stayed longer if we had more time.The hotel is well located and the staff is great ,I loved the food ,The night that we spent in the tent was great .I'll definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel, El Salvador
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by all features of this hotel.The staff were very helpful,from start to end.The food and service in the restaurant was top notch and the wine list was quite good.The waiter "Yidir" was very open to making a few small changes to the menu.As a vegetarian.I find this extremely helpful.
We definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Kasbah style hotel with beautiful courtyard and a roof with a view to the dunes.
They serve Breakfast Buffet with a lot of food (many kind of jam, Cereals, fruits...) but the bread is not so good.
In the room there was electric kettle and small refrigerator. there was no wi-fi connection in the room only in the lounge.
It is also recommended to take mosquito repellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Even though you have the option of coming back to the kasbah to spend the night instead of sleeping in a Berber tent (or out under the stars) in the Sahara... don't do it! The kasbah is charming and the staff are plenty helpful and friendly (I left a t-shirt in the desert tent and they fetched it back for me without a grumble as I was departing).

The property is a bit old but comfortable enough for a dip in the pool, a nap, a shower, and a change as you prepare to go into the desert and to freshen up as you come back for breakfast in the morning and prepare to head back to civilization. The real highlight is the trek into the desert on camel back. The guide we had was superb! He didn't speak much English or French, and I speak so-so French but we had a great time exchanging facts about ourselves, hiking up the dunes in the moonlight, sipping mint tea under the stars, and just enjoying the stillness of the desert.

For those of you worried about "camping" - fear not. There is a fully functional flush toilet and sink with running water at the camp. You'll be more than fine :) The food is tasty, there are no scary animals in the desert, and it's beautiful to sleep under the stars. Just ask your guide to bring the beds out of the tents.

On our trek back in the morning, our guide stopped often to point out animal tracks and he even managed to catch a beautifully colored sand fish (lizard). I had so much fun!

Last tip though: I wouldn't spend more than 1 night out in the desert.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in September because it is nearly the end of the road. The rooms was comfortable and the food was great. I liked the swimming pool which seemed to double up as a watering hole for the local birds. The staff were very pleasant. If you want to see the sand dunes and stars then this is a good place to stay.
Remember to bring a torch. We even had rain.............you come all this way from England and the rain follows you. To my amazement some of the locals had umbrellas!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahim89, Manager at Hotel Kasbah Mohayut, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Than you for this nice review.We are very pleased that you did enjoy your stay at the kasbah Hotel Mohayut.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Had an absolutely amazing experience with this property. Friendly and polite staff, great food, lovely rooms. Right at the edge of the dunes, this place is clean and very efficiently run. And run by a bunch of kind hearted people, who let us keep the room for a day, at no extra charge, when my husband fell sick because of the desert heat and needed to sleep in.
And words fall short of the desert safari experience. We booked their private deep camp through Ali Oussou/ Camel Safaries and it was just us and another like minded couple, with our funny guide, Hassan - in that emptiness. Sleeping under a canopy of zillion stars and watching the sky turn a deep shade of orange with the sunrise are experiences I will treasure forever.
Anyone headed for Morocco should obviously visit Erg Chebbi and if you are there, must stay in this Kasbah. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kasbah Mohayut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasbah Mohayut

Address: MERZOUGA , Province errachidia sud maroccco | MERZOUGA , Province errachidia sud maroccco, Merzouga, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merzouga
#1 Romantic Hotel in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kasbah Mohayut 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury tents in the dunes with a great view to the highest dune . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kasbah Mohayut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Mohayut Merzouga
Kasbah Mohayut Hotel Merzouga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kasbah Mohayut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.